Articles tagged "Victorian mystery"

Thriller Thursday (11/3/16 Edition)

Fall weather is here! Curl up on the couch with a hot drink and one of these excellent mysteries & thrillers:

INHERIT THE BONES by Emily Littlejohn
A Library Journal Fall/Winter Debut Novel Pick! In librarian Emily Littlejohn’s accomplished and poignant debut, police officer Gemma Monroe identifies a murdered clown in a visiting circus as the mayor’s son, presumed dead for the last three years. Six-months pregnant, with a partner she can’t trust and colleagues who know more than they’re saying, Gemma must track a killer who will stop at nothing to keep those secrets buried. “Debut novelist Littlejohn writes with assurance and skill. The story’s plotting is sure-footed, and the characters are well developed and believable. Highly recommended for fans of Susan Dunlap and Tricia Fields.” — Library Journal, starred review & October pick of the month

THE INHERITANCE by Charles Finch
“In the 10th installment of this Victorian-era series, a Member of Parliament–turned–private detective gets the chance to solve a 30-year-old mystery that involves his boyhood friend. Finch impressively raises the stakes of this tale between tea settings, and his character development is top-notch.” — Kirkus Reviews

ASH ISLAND by Barry Maitland
In the second book in a new series from LibraryReads author Maitland, Australian Detective Sergeant Harry Belltree attempts to leave his past behind. His quiet new life is shattered when unfinished business finds him. “This is a worthy contribution to the growing body of Australian hard-boiled fiction.” — Booklist

SAY NO MORE by Hank Phillippi Ryan
In Ryan’s latest Jane Ryland & Jake Brogan thriller, the couple (now semi-secretly engaged and beginning to reveal their relationship to the world) are both on a quest for answers as they try to balance the consequences of the truth. Jane’s just convinced a date rape victim to go public about her assault on camera, but a disturbing anonymous message—SAY NO MORE—has Jane really and truly scared. Meanwhile, Jake is on the hunt for the person who murdered a hot-shot Hollywood screenwriter. “The tension mounts as the action builds to a conclusion that thrills and gratifies.” — Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (10/4/16 Edition)

We’ve got awards & acclaim for today’s #BookBday titles:

WHEN THE MOON WAS OURS by Anna-Marie McLemore
Longlisted for the 2016 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature and three starred reviews! From Morris Award finalist Anna-Marie McLemore comes a second stunning novel tinged with magic, about a girl with roses that grow from her wrist who happens to be hiding the truth, a boy with past secrets who paints moons and hangs them in trees, and four sisters rumored to be witches, who could ruin them both. “With luminous prose infused with Latino folklore and magical realism, this mixes fairy-tale ingredients with the elegance of a love story, with all of it rooted in a deeply real sense of humanity. Lovely, necessary, and true.” — Booklist, starred review

ALL THAT MAN IS by David Szalay
Shortlisted for the 2016 Man Booker International Prize & an October 2016 Indie Next pick! “Szalay delivers a kaleidoscopic portrayal of nine men at various stages in their lives, each in the throes of extraordinary change. Szalay’s riveting prose and his consummate command of structure illuminate the individual while exploring society’s unsettling complexity.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

DAISY IN CHAINS & THE SECRETS OF WISHTIDE are September 2016 LibraryReads Picks

libraryreads logo squareFANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has two books on the September 2016 LibraryReads list!
Coming in at #5 is DAISY IN CHAINS by Sharon Bolton

The new standalone novel from the LibraryReads author of LITTLE BLACK LIES! A criminal defense attorney with a reputation for getting the wrongly convicted exonerated is drawn into the machinations of a serial killer who claims innocence. “No detail should be missed, no nuance overlooked in Bolton’s chilling tale of a master manipulator who leaves nothing to chance.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Available from Minotaur Books on September 20.

Rounding out the list at #10 is THE SECRETS OF WISHTIDE by Kate Saunders

“Combining the strengths of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple and M. C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin, Laetitia Rodd towers over both of these genteel sleuths in wit, tact, and ingenuity. The book is a sheer delight, with its deliciously intricate puzzle and well-drawn characters whom readers are sure to continue to enjoy in volumes to come.” Booklist, starred review

“Readers who relish the puzzle of a well-done Victorian-set mystery with a resourceful female detective will take pleasure in this series launch by a prolific British author and journalist.” Library Journal, starred review

Available from Bloomsbury on September 13; also available in trade paperback.

See the complete September 2016 list at LibraryReads.org.

Oh My (Mystery) Stars!

The *stars* are piling up for these six outstanding mysteries:

BECAUSE I’M WATCHING by Christina Dodd — THREE STARS!
“Dodd continues her flawless pivoting from romance to suspense with the third book in her riveting series set in the small Washington town of Virtue Falls. Scary, sexy, and smartly written, BECAUSE I’M WATCHING is Dodd at the top of her game.”
Booklist, starred review

“Two emotionally damaged characters find hope, self-forgiveness, and love in this exquisitely crafted, modern version of Gaslight that hooks readers and keeps them mesmerized until the end. A chilling and gripping tale, beautifully done. ” — Library Journal, starred review

“Romantic suspense favorite Dodd heads back to Virtue Falls for another smart, dramatic mystery that will keep readers flipping pages until the very end, with unexpected twists, psychological tension, and emotional depth. Another Virtue Falls winner.” Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE WHITE MIRROR by Elsa Hart — THREE STARS!
“Hart seamlessly melds the complex politics of 18th-century Asia with a superior fair-play plot in her second whodunit featuring Chinese librarian Li Du. The isolated and eerie manor setting is reminiscent of a classic golden age puzzle mystery, and Hart populates it with well-rounded characters.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Fans of the first book who wished to know more about the enigmatic Li Du will be well rewarded here. Readers who appreciate historical mysteries, especially the classic ‘Judge Dee’ series by Robert van Gulik, will be enthralled by this fascinating mystery.” — Library Journal, starred review

“Hart is a gifted storyteller… Her writing is intensely detailed, and vivid images range from the bells and bright red plumes of the caravan donkeys to the demon-inspired ornamentation of a mountaintop monastery. Highly recommended for fans of Robert Van Gulik’s venerated Judge Dee stories, and readers lamenting the conclusion of Laura Joh Rowland’s Sano Ichiro series.” — Booklist, starred review

BEHIND CLOSED DOORS by B.A. Paris
An August 2016 LibraryReads & Indie Next pick! “Debut-novelist Paris adroitly toggles between the recent past and the present in building the suspense of Grace’s increasingly unbearable situation, as time becomes critical and her possible solutions narrow. This is one readers won’t be able to put down.” — Booklist, starred review

“Making her smash debut, Paris switches chapters between the present and the recent past, taking us along on Grace’s journey and keeping the suspense level high. In the same vein as GONE GIRL or GIRL ON THE TRAIN, this is a can’t-put-down psychological thriller.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE DRY by Jane Harper
A Library Journal “Summer Promise — Debut Novels” pick!A stunner… It’s a small-town, big-secrets page-turner with a shocker of an ending… Recommend this one to fans of James Lee Burke and Robert Crais, who mix elements of ‘bromance’ into their hard-boiled tales.” — Booklist, starred review

“From the ominous opening paragraphs, all the more chilling for their matter-of-factness, Harper, a journalist who writes for Melbourne’s Herald Sun, spins a suspenseful tale of sound and fury as riveting as it is horrific.” — Publishers Weekly, boxed & starred review
readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: November LibraryReads titles

It’s never too early to start thinking about the next LibraryReads list. Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles now for the November 2014* LibraryReads list!
*Nominations are due October 1

BETRAYED by Lisa Scottoline
In the latest Rosato & Associates thriller, Judy Carrier is pondering her personal and professional future when she learns her aunt is diagnosed with breast cancer and reeling from the sudden death of a friend, who also happened to be an undocumented worker at a local farm. When Judy suspects foul play in her death, she discovers an underground world far more dangerous than she ever imagined.

download review copy edelweiss  Download a copy from Edelweiss


THE LAUGHING MONSTERS
by Denis Johnson
This post-9/11 literary spy thriller about a trio who travel to the Uganda-Congo borderland reveals dark secrets and divided loyalties among the group. “The National Book Award–winning author of TREE OF SMOKE can be expected to deliver literate and insightful suspense….” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

download review copy edelweiss  Download a copy from Edelweiss


THE HEART DOES NOT GROW BACK
by Fred Venturini
This debut novel perfect for fans of Chuck Palahniuk and Joe Hill stars Dale Sampson, a young man with the inexplicable ability to regenerate his organs and limbs. Among the glitz and greed of Hollywood, will Dale use his power to redeem himself and those he loves? “Venturini’s melancholy but fascinating first novel is an invitation to think about altruism, ethics, and the tangled precincts of the human heart.”
Booklist, starred review

download review copy edelweiss  Download a copy from Edelweiss

readmoreremove

css.php