Articles tagged "Vanora Bennett"

New Historical Fiction

Happy Monday, friends! We’re kicking off the week with these two new historical novels:

THE TYPEWRITER’S TALE by Michiel Heyns
A novel told from the perspective of Henry James’s fictional typist, Frieda Wroth, who becomes caught up in the friendships and rivalries at James’s house. “Faithfully re-created real-life individuals mix well with authentically drawn fictitious ones.” — Booklist, starred review

THE WHITE RUSSIAN by Vanora Bennett
An enchanting, suspenseful novel of love, art, music, and family secrets set among the Russian émigré community of Paris in 1937. “Bennett offers an intriguing picture of Russian refugees in Paris in the 1930s and a convincing portrayal of Evie’s evolution from naive girl to confident woman.” — Booklist

Happy Belated #BookBday (1/20/16)

We’re a day late to wish these new releases happy #BookBday, but it’s only to keep the party going!

THE THINGS WE KEEP by Sally Hepworth
A January 2016 LibraryReads pick and a February 2016 Indie Next pick! Librarians across the country are gushing over this novel reminiscent of Nicholas Sparks’s THE NOTEBOOK and Lisa Genova’s STILL ALICE about a 38-year-old woman with early onset Alzheimer’s who falls in love with another care home resident. “Sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up.” — Library Journal, starred review

WHAT BELONGS TO YOU by Garth Greenwell
A Kirkus Reviews’ Most Anticipated Book of 2016! Two stars for this literary debut about an American expat living in Bulgaria and the young gay hustler his life intersects with. “This is a project of rare discernment and beauty, and it is not to be missed. A luminous, searing exploration of desire, alienation, and the powerful tattoo of the past.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review
readmoreremove

css.php