Articles tagged "urban fantasy"

Happy #BookBday (6/13/17 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday!

DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES by Seanan McGuire
A June 2017 LibraryReads pick with three starred reviews! The second urban fantasy book in the Wayward Children series, following EVERY HEART A DOORWAY, explores what happened to Jack and Jill before they tumbled into Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children. “McGuire’s exquisitely written fairy tale is about the choices that can alter the course of a life forever, lost innocence, and what it is to love and be loved.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE CITY ALWAYS WINS by Omar Robert Hamilton
A Library Journal Debut Novels pick, a Barnes & Noble Summer 2017 Discover Great New Writers pick, and one of Buzzfeed’s “Exciting New Books You Need To Read This Summer!” A vivid, powerful portrait of Egypt’s failed revolution in 2011 shown through the eyes of Mariam and Khalil, two young people fighting at the front lines of the revolution in the streets of Cairo and its political underground. “Cofounder of the Palestine Festival of Literature, Hamilton turns in a relentlessly readable work that both informs and humbles.” — Library Journal, starred review

SO MUCH BLUE by Percival Everett
A June 2017 Indie Next pick and one of Buzzfeed’s “Exciting New Books You Need To Read This Summer!” “An artist ponders a painting he wants to keep private along with the back stories that inspired it, the secrets that continue to haunt him. Everett continues to wrestle with issues such as artistic identity and inspiration, the relation between artists and their art, the notions of what a narrator reveals and conceals, but rarely have the results been as engrossing as this.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES makes the June 2017 LibraryReads list!

FANTASTIC NEWS! DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES by Seanan McGuire is the #4 pick on the June 2017 LibraryReads list!

The second book in the Wayward Children series, following the April 2016 LibraryReads pick, EVERY HEART A DOORWAY, explores what happened to Jack and Jill before they tumbled into Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children. Thrust into a world of monsters and mad scientists, the twin girls find something they thought they’d never experience: choice. Suitable for adult and young adult readers of urban fantasy, it also functions as a standalone novel.

“Beautifully crafted and smartly written, this fairy-tale novella is everything that speculative fiction readers look for: fantastical worlds, diverse characters, and prose that hits home with its emotional truths.” — Library Journal, starred review

“McGuire’s exquisitely written fairy tale is about the choices that can alter the course of a life forever, lost innocence, and what it is to love and be loved.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Exquisitely crafted, this is the rare companion novel that can stand alone.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: June 2017 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the June 2017* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due April 20! Click here for the full list of 2017 deadlines.

KNIFE CREEK by Paul Doiron
In this new edge-of-your-seat thriller from Edgar finalist and LibraryReads author Paul Doiron, Mike Bowditch delves into a long buried investigation to uncover a dangerous secret. “Mike Bowditch back stirring things up in KNIFE CREEK. @pauldoiron writes one of the best mystery series around.” — Janet Lockhart, Collection Development Librarian, Wake County Public Library, Raleigh NC

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES by Seanan McGuire
The second book in the Wayward Children series, following the April 2016 LibraryReads pick, EVERY HEART A DOORWAY has three starred reviews! This standalone dark novel suitable for adult and young adult readers of urban fantasy explores what happened to Jack and Jill before they tumbled into Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children. Thrust into a world of monsters and mad scientists, the twin girls find something they thought they’d never experience: choice. “McGuire’s exquisitely written fairy tale is about the choices that can alter the course of a life forever, lost innocence, and what it is to love and be loved.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE FORTUNE TELLER by Gwendolyn Womack
From the award-winning author of THE MEMORY PAINTER comes a sweeping and suspenseful tale of fate and fortune about an antiquities appraiser at a Manhattan auction house who discovers a manuscript written in the time of Cleopatra, that references a priceless tarot deck and a two-thousand-year-old secret. “THE FORTUNE TELLER by Womack filled with brave women, books, libraries, and mystical qualities, easy rec for librarians and readers!” — Andrienne Cruz, Adult Services Librarian, Azusa City Library, Azusa CA

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss readmoreremove

DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES Giveaway

If you loved Seanan McGuire‘s magical, mysterious EVERY HEART A DOORWAY (we know you did—it was an April 2016 LibraryReads pick!), then you’ll definitely want to read the next book in McGuire’s Wayward Children series, DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES.

This standalone dark novel suitable for adult and young adult readers of urban fantasy explores what happened to EVERY HEART A DOORWAY‘s Jack and Jill before they tumbled into Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children. Thrust into a world of monsters and mad scientists, the twin girls find something they thought they’d never experience: choice.

We’re offering free advance readers copies of DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES to any U.S.-based librarian who requests one (limited quantity available).*

To get your copy, email Library@MacmillanUSA.com from your professional/library-issued e-mail address (subject: Down Among the Sticks and Bones) and remember to include your library’s mailing address.

Once you’ve read and loved it, nominate it for LibraryReads (deadline: April 20)!
readmoreremove

More Books for Kitty Fans

I'm guessing that you have a few fans of Carrie Vaughn's bestselling Kitty Norville series lurking around your library. In between Kitty releases, those fans might get understandably antsy, so here's a few more Vaughn stories to keep them satisfied. 

DISCORD'S APPLE (7/2010) is a stand-alone dystopic fusion of mythology, fairy tales, and modern life. 

"Taking a break from the Kitty Norville urban fantasy series, Vaughn melds a near-future world torn by war with the legend of the fall of Troy in this brilliantly structured, beautifully written stand-alone." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

AFTER THE GOLDEN AGE (4/2011) is a very different stand-alone novel following the decidedly average daughter of two famous superheroes (I'm sure you've already heard me singing praises for it).

Kirkus Reviews says, "In this warm homage to and deconstruction of classic comic books, a young woman demonstrates that you don’t need superpowers to be a hero."

And Library Journal specifically notes that this one is "a good bet for most public libraries, especially if they're home to Kitty Norville fans or comic book devotees."

And if your patrons just can't leave Kitty's world, they're in luck! Next month Tor will release KITTY'S GREATEST HITS (8/2011), a series of short stories following some of the other characters in Kitty's life. 

Library Journal says, "This collection should please fans of the series, especially those who want to know more about the side characters, but readers new to the Kittyverse will also find a fine introduction to this richly populated, fascinating paranormal world."

Vaughn is exceptional at pulling the strange, fantastic, and otherworldly into the lives of very real and modern young women. And if you want to get more people hooked on Vaughn's work, it should appeal to fans of Patricia Briggs, Charlaine Harris, and Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunter Series.

readmoreremove

A Plea to Authors of Urban Fantasy

So. I'm reading an urban fantasy novel. Big shift from my usual epic fantasy reading, right? And I've come up with a quibble that struck me once before. I'm not going to point fingers at any manuscripts, that's not the point. What's done is done. But we can be vigilant in the future.

Urban Fantasy tends to have immortal characters that have been around for a very long time. Usually vampires. But in the case of this book I'm reading, it's dragons and dwarves. And sometimes these characters speak with weird affectations and accents. Why? Because they're centuries old? Us mortals manage to adapt or drop accents in the short spans of our lives, why can't immortal (or just long-lived) characters? Especially when it seems pretty important for them to remain inconspicuous.

I don't edit books. At least not between 9 and 5. But it feels weird when your ancient character answers questions with "nay" and "yea" just because that's how he did it when he was young.

Ok rant over. Does anyone else agree, or have I lost it?

css.php