Articles tagged "Tupelo Hassman"

Adult Books for Teens

These titles may have been published for adults, but Booklist has deemed them to be perfect for teens—and we agree!

GODS WITH A LITTLE G by Tupelo Hassman
From the acclaimed author of GIRLCHILD, this gritty, irreverent novel sees a young misfit grow into hope.

“GIRLCHILD won an Alex Award, and this novel is no less likely to inspire and reward literary-minded teens, especially aspiring writers.” —Booklist, YA Interest

THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE by Katherine Center
From the New York Times bestselling author of HOW TO WALK AWAY comes a stunning new novel about courage, hope, and learning to love against all odds.

readmoreremove

Happy #PubDay! (8/13/19)

Teenage misfits + a LibraryReads winner + a debut college parody + Cameroon in WWII + the awesomeness of Tokyo = an epic #pubday!

GODS WITH A LITTLE G by Tupelo Hassman

2 starred reviews!

“Irreverent, wise, heartbreaking, and heart-mending, this is about nothing less than the everyday challenges of love, belief, and existence.”–Booklist, starred review

“Weird and uncomfortable and glorious—just like adolescence.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE by Katherine Center

An August 2019 LibraryReads & Indie Next pick + 2 starred reviews!

“Center gives readers a sharp and witty exploration of love and forgiveness that is at once insightful, entertaining, and thoroughly addictive.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“[A]n appealing (if guarded, in this case) heroine, a compelling love story, a tearjerking twist, and a thoroughly absorbing story. Another winner from Center.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

A Meteor Shower of Stars for Macmillan!

These forthcoming titles all received multiple starred reviews!

Fiction

NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo

“With an aura of both enchantment and authenticity, Bardugo’s compulsively readable novel leaves a portal ajar for equally dazzling sequels.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“This atmospheric contemporary novel steeped in the spirit of a mystical New Haven is part mystery, part story of a young woman finding purpose in a dark world, and is the first in a potential series. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Adults are just as enamored of Bardugo’s YA novels as teens are, and many have been anxiously and curiously awaiting this one.”–Booklist, starred review

MACHINE by Susan Steinberg

“Teenagers spend a hazy summer at the shore. One girl comes to terms with both her emerging independence and the mysterious death of a girl just like her… Heartbreaking, eerie, and acutely observant.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“What makes this tale so thrilling is Steinberg’s artistry with form; she fractures narrative into its fundamental parts. Steinberg writes prose with a poet’s sense of meter and line, and a velocity recalling the novels of Joan Didion. The result is a dizzying work that perfectly evokes the feeling of spinning out of control.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Celebrate Pride Month!

June is Pride Month, and we’re celebrating with these new and forthcoming LGBTQ titles!

OUT OF THE SHADOWS: Reimagining Gay Men’s Lives by Walt Odets
RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston
BIRTHDAY by Meredith Russo
GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
NATURALLY TAN: A Memoir by Tan France
THE BEST BAD THINGS by Katrina Carrasco
WILD IS THE WIND: Poems by Carl Phillips
A WHISPER OF BONES: A Jane Lawless Mystery by Ellen Hart
HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES: Stories by Carmen Maria Machado
FIND ME by André Aciman
SALT SLOW by Julia Armfield
GODS WITH A LITTLE G by Tupelo Hassman
WHEN BROOKLYN WAS QUEER: A History by Hugh Ryan

For Your Consideration: August 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite August 2019 titles for the August 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due July 1!

THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE by Katherine Center

“Center gives readers a sharp and witty exploration of love and forgiveness that is at once insightful, entertaining, and thoroughly addictive.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

CITY OF WINDOWS by Robert Pobi

“The FBI brings in astrophysicist, amputee, and former agent Dr. Lucas Page when a sniper takes aim in the middle of a New York blizzard… Relentless pacing, tight plotting, and a brainy, idiosyncratic new hero make this one a winner.”–Kirkus Reviews

readmoreremove

Booklist’s “Macmillan Spring Fling” Webinar (4/2/19)

We hope you tuned in to today’s Booklist “Macmillan Spring Fling Webinar,” featuring adult and YA titles from Macmillan, Tor, and Bloomsbury, but if not, here are the title list and slides PDF.

The archived webinar is available here.

See something you like? Request to be whitelisted for our e-galleys on Edelweiss!

Booklist’s Best Adult Books for Young Adults 2012

We're very excited to see four of our fine titles on Booklist's 2012 Editors’ Choice list of the best Adult books for a Young Adult audience.

That Adult-to-Teen crossover appeal makes these titles special for us and accessible to all of your patrons. 

Here are the Macmillan titles:

GIRLCHILD by Tupelo Hassman

LITTLE STAR by John Ajvide Lindqvist

THIS IS HOW: Proven to Aid in Overcoming Shyness, Molestation, Fatness, Spinsterhood, Grief, Disease, Lushery, Decrepitude & More, for Young and Old Alike by Augusten Burroughs

RAIDERS!: The Story of the Greatest Fan Film Ever Made by Alan Eisenstock and others

The full list has not been posted online, yet. When I see it, I will update this post. readmoreremove

Tuesday Fun Day! (9/25/2012 Edition)

Happy Tuesday, all!

- Tupelo Hassman's debut GIRLCHILD has been shortlisted for the 2012 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize! This prize, awarded by The Center for Fiction and the American Booksellers Association, is awarded to the best debut novel of the year. The winner will be announced on December 11th, 2012 at the Center for Fiction Annual Benefit & Awards Dinner. See all of the nominees here.

Raisin 20 years banner

- We're celebrating 20 years of small-town Mysteries starring feisty amateur sleuth Agatha Raisin! Reviews for M.C. Beaton's latest (ehem, twenty-third!) Raisin Mystery, HISS AND HERS, praise Beaton for continued quality and fun in her long-running cozy series. 

"Kudos to 20 years of sleuthing for Agatha Raisin, a standard-bearer for the cozy." -Library Journal

"This well-written series is still going strong and will appeal to fans of Sue Ann Jaffarian and Mary Daheim." -Booklist

Sign in to our Mystery community site CriminalElement.com to read an excerpt and enter to win the entire twenty-two volume set of Agatha Raisin Mysteries!

- Looking for the next 50 SHADES OF GREY read-alike? Try ANYTHING HE WANTS from from self-published phenomenon Sara Fawkes! The popular e-series will be available in a single paperback in November from St. Martin's Press. Read about the acquisition.

- There's news on the e-book lending front: "Macmillan Poised to Test Library E-book Model." (via Publishers Weekly)

- And your cat needs one of these:

cat unicorn hat

readmoreremove

Monday Fun Day! (2/27/2012 Edition)

Welcome back, Monday! 

- Library Journal's Douglas Lord strikes again with another round of bada** books for dude-identified readers. He said there has been "mucho good new reading around BFD HQ lately," including two of our books:

On CITY OF BOHANE by Kevin Barry he said, "It’s elegiac, lyrical, rollicking fun that mixes Brian Friel with A CLOCKWORK ORANGE." And he recommends that you try it "if you are tired of the same old crap."

On THE FOREST LAIRD: A Tale of William Wallace by Jack Whyte he said, "There’s brotherhood, patriotism, and political intrigue. And archery."

See all of the good Lord's recommendations in "The Good Guys, the Bad Guys, and the Ugly Guys in Six Suspenseful New Novels."

- Flavorwire took a liking to this year's Debut with the Best Library-Themed Cover (according to us), GIRLCHILD! They said, "The book is an inventive, electric story of youth and survival, as smart, Girl Scout-obsessed Rory, refusing to accept her fate as one of the 'third-generation bastards surely on the road to whoredom,' navigates her world." Earn your literary girl survivalism badge by reading your way through Hassman's book list (link).

Orlando Book- Following up on my #FridayReads: I finished the curious debut SHINE SHINE SHINE this weekend... no thanks to this mischievous feline! Nice try, cat, but you can't sabotage my weekend reading that easily!

- Also check out my paperback book club picks!

- And finally, this week's Macmillan Library Author Crush, er, I mean Profile is... Brad Parks! If you didn't catch the Author Buzz Focus for THE GIRL NEXT DOOR in Shelf Awarenesstake a peek here!

readmoreremove

Monday Fun Day! (2/13/2012 Edition)

Happy Monday, lovely librarians! Let's kick of the week with some great reads.

- For the SHADES OF MILK AND HONEY fans out there, tor.com posted a nice long excerpt from the beginning of the sequel, GLAMOUR IN GLASS. It begins,

"There are few things in this world that can at once delight and dismay to the same extent as a formal dinner party."

Read the full excerpt here.

- Shelf Awareness reviewed Esi Edugyan's Scotiabank Giller-winning novel, HALF-BLOOD BLUES. They said,

"One of the risks of historical fiction is that the history can get in the way of the fiction; the author's imagination is often crammed into a box of flat characters and plodding narrative in the name of accuracy. Such is not the case with Esi Edugyan's atmospheric second novel. [...] Edugyan's prose sparkles not only with the jive and banter of jazz musicians, but also with the metaphors of a music built on improvisation."

Read the full review here.

- NPR did a feature on Tupelo Hassman's GIRLCHILD (which you will recognize as the Featured Cover from our January e-newsletter!). 

"Tupelo Hassman writes with such an eye for rough-and-tough detail, she obviously knows something about kids who have been given the dubious gift of premature autonomy."

Read the full feature here.

- Author S.J. Bolton posted a piece on Goodreads called "Why we need our libraries." She talks about the experience of her local library (in the U.K.) transferring into the hands of the community after the government withdrew support. Bolton was then asked to manage the future purchase and rotation of books which she gladly accepted. Here are a few choice quotes from the article:

"A library, like the pub, the post office, the village shop, is part of the fabric of the community."

"No one, especially not my neighbours, should imagine the battle is over. Passing libraries into community ownership hasn't saved them, it has given them a stay of execution. If we are to keep them into the future, we'll need the ongoing commitment of our volunteers and the financial support of our sponsors. Most of all, though, we will need our libraries to be used."

Read the full article here.

readmoreremove

css.php