Articles tagged "Tony Hillerman Prize"

For Your Consideration: January 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite December 2018 AND January 2019 titles for the January 2019 LibraryReads list!

*Votes due December 1! Click here for the full list of 2019 deadlines.

AN ANONYMOUS GIRL by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen
Also available in audio
3 starred reviews! The next novel of psychological suspense from the LibraryReads authors of the blockbuster bestseller THE WIFE BETWEEN US! “Another spooky tale of psychological seduction… The juxtaposed points of view, with reactions of each protagonist to the other, keep the reader guessing until the end. A great follow-up to THE WIFE BETWEEN US.”—Booklist, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

OF BLOOD AND BONE: Chronicles of The One, Book 2 by Nora Roberts
On her thirteenth birthday, Fallon Swift must leave her family and train with sorcerer Mallick to become The One. “With book two in her The One trilogy, following YEAR ONE, Roberts successfully marshals her flair for crafting compelling characters and her skill at imaginative world building, on both a micro domestic scale and a macro dystopian global scale, to create a spellbinding story that will definitely delight her longtime fans as well as pique the interest of fantasy readers, who will want to see what she brings to their genre’s literary table as she continues this exciting and relevant series.” — Booklist

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE FIRST CONSPIRACY: The Secret Plot to Kill George Washington by Brad Meltzer & Josh Mensch
Also available in audio
#1 New York Times bestselling author Brad Meltzer unravels the truth behind the secret assassination attempt on George Washington and how the plot catalyzed the creation of the CIA and FBI. “In brisk, tense chapters, Meltzer and documentary TV producer Mensch relate a tale of spies and treason, conspiracy and counterintelligence at the start of the colonists’ war against Britain. A lively political thriller.” — Kirkus Reviews

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “First Conspiracy.”*

WOMEN ROWING NORTH: Navigating Life’s Currents and Flourishing As We Age by Mary Pipher
2 starred reviews and a Library Journal Fall 2018 Editors’ Pick! From the New York Times bestselling author of REVIVING OPHELIA, a guide to wisdom, authenticity, and bliss for women as they age. “While a must-read for its target audience of women moving into old age, Pipher’s engaging book is an ought-to-read for their daughters and sons as well, as it sets forth the universal message that ‘happiness is a choice and a set of skills.’” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday & Bouchercon 2015 Winners

Happy #ThrillerThursday! We’ve got several starred mysteries out this week, but first a #humblebrag on behalf of our Minotaur Books pals. Last weekend during Bouchercon, INVISIBLE CITY by Julia Dahl was the breakout hit, nabbing a Barry AND Macavity Award!

The Barry Award
Best First Novel: INVISIBLE CITY by Julia Dahl

The Macavity Awards
Best First Mystery Novel: INVISIBLE CITY by Julia Dahl
Sue Feder Historical Memorial Award: A DEADLY MEASURE OF BRIMSTONE by Catriona McPherson

Now on to the books!

THE ADVENTURESS by Tasha Alexander
“This tenth delightful entertainment featuring the Hargreaves detective duo is very acceptable indeed. For fans of Amelia Peabody, of course, but also readers who can’t resist Deanna Raybourn’s Lady Julia Grey novels, starring the British aristocrat and her delectable husband, the brooding detective Nicholas Brisbane.”
— Booklist

DARK RESERVATIONS by John Fortunato
The newest winner of the Tony Hillerman Prize for best debut mystery set in the Southwest stars Bureau of Indian Affairs Special Agent Joe Evers who must resurrect his failing career to solve a mysterious cold case. “Fortunato spins an intricate tale, overlaying multiple story lines with a galaxy of characters, some of whom have much to hide. Readers who relish mysteries against the backdrop of the Southwest and who are fans of Tony and Anne Hillerman will savor this page-turner.” — Library Journal, starred review

DEATH WEARS A MASK by Ashley Weaver
Amory Ames and her rakish husband Milo, first introduced in MURDER AT THE BRIGHTWELL (an October 2014 LibraryReads pick), take on a murder at a masked ball. “Librarian Weaver, whose series debut was tapped by the RUSA Reading List as the best mystery of 2015, has whipped up a delicious confection of a mystery set in 1930s England. It sparkles with personality and an appealing plot. Devotees of golden age authors such as Agatha Christie as well as contemporary writers such as Rhys Bowen and Barbara Cleverly will settle down in their cozy armchairs for a pleasurable read.” Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (3/5/15 Edition)

Stuck at home on a snow day (or wishing you were)? Macmillan’s got the mysteries to give you more chills than that foot of powder outside!

THE EDGE OF DREAMS by Rhys Bowen
A near-fatal train accident leaves Molly Murphy sleuthing from the sidelines while her police captain husband has been receiving cryptic notes after each death in a string of murders. “The extremely tricky plot of Bowen’s 14th Molly Murphy mystery will keep even veteran whodunit readers guessing.” — Publishers Weekly

FIREBREAK by Tricia Fields
In the dry landscape of West Texas a massive wildfire provides the perfect opportunity for someone to get away with murder. “Tony Hillerman Prize-winner Fields’s fourth Josie Gray mystery is as crisp as brush ready to catch fire.”
Publishers Weekly

THE HIDDEN MAN by Robin Blake (2 starred reviews!)
“Set in 1742, British author Blake’s superior third whodunit featuring Dr. Luke Fidelis and coroner Titus Cragg centers on an impossible crime. The sleuths are an entertaining duo, and Blake again couples skillful plotting with authentic period details.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review
readmoreremove

LJ’s Famously Firsts

Library Journal shared their “Famously Firsts”—recently published or forthcoming debut novels that they are most excited about. Check out their Macmillan picks!
KEY FALL CHILLS

NIGHT OF THE JAGUAR by Joe Gannon
A freelance journalist in Nicaragua during the Sandinista Revolution, the setting of this book, Gannon introduces police captain Ajax Montoya, a revolutionary hero who served in state security but has been forced into homicide investigations. At least he recognizes the execution style of an old enemy at the latest crime scene. “Readers will eagerly await Gannon’s next book” (PW).

NINE DAYS by Minerva Koenig
Living in the witness protection program in Azula, TX, Julia Kalas is surprised to discover that the buildings near the bar where she works are mostly owned by a shell company; she ends up investigating the sheriff’s murder. “Atmospheric and entertaining”; an LJ Mystery Debut of the Month by an architect who once worked as a librarian. (LJ 9/1/14)

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: November LibraryReads titles

It’s never too early to start thinking about the next LibraryReads list. Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles now for the November 2014* LibraryReads list!
*Nominations are due October 1

BETRAYED by Lisa Scottoline
In the latest Rosato & Associates thriller, Judy Carrier is pondering her personal and professional future when she learns her aunt is diagnosed with breast cancer and reeling from the sudden death of a friend, who also happened to be an undocumented worker at a local farm. When Judy suspects foul play in her death, she discovers an underground world far more dangerous than she ever imagined.

download review copy edelweiss  Download a copy from Edelweiss


THE LAUGHING MONSTERS
by Denis Johnson
This post-9/11 literary spy thriller about a trio who travel to the Uganda-Congo borderland reveals dark secrets and divided loyalties among the group. “The National Book Award–winning author of TREE OF SMOKE can be expected to deliver literate and insightful suspense….” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

download review copy edelweiss  Download a copy from Edelweiss


THE HEART DOES NOT GROW BACK
by Fred Venturini
This debut novel perfect for fans of Chuck Palahniuk and Joe Hill stars Dale Sampson, a young man with the inexplicable ability to regenerate his organs and limbs. Among the glitz and greed of Hollywood, will Dale use his power to redeem himself and those he loves? “Venturini’s melancholy but fascinating first novel is an invitation to think about altruism, ethics, and the tangled precincts of the human heart.”
Booklist, starred review

download review copy edelweiss  Download a copy from Edelweiss

readmoreremove

While Anne’s Away…

Anne is taking a well-deserved vacation to her hometown of Tucson, AZ for the next week! When she’s not enjoying pool time or preparing for her baby shower, here’s what she’ll be reading:

THE UNQUIET DEAD by Ausma Zehanat Khan
This haunting debut follows detectives Esa Khattak and Rachel Getty as they investigate the death of a man who may have been a war criminal with ties to the Srebrenica massacre. Anne is halfway done and can’t wait to finish it on the plane tomorrow!

FEAR THE DARKNESS by Becky Masterman
Masterman’s outstanding debut novel, RAGE AGAINST THE DYING, starring ex-FBI agent Brigid Quinn was set in Tucson, so it was a natural pick for Anne. (It’s also really, really good—it’s been nominated for Edgar, Anthony, and Macavity Awards!) Now as Brigid tries to rebuild her life and marriage, she helps a local couple investigate the death of their son, all while taking in her nineteen-year-old niece after her sister-in-law’s death.

BAD COUNTRY by CB McKenzie
The newest winner of the Tony Hillerman Prize, this Arizona-set debut mystery stars a Native American rodeo cowboy–turned–private investigator. Not only is the author a fellow University of Arizona alum like Anne, but he also modeled for Giorgio Armani!

ALL THE RAGE by Courtney Summers
In her hardcover debut, from the author of CRACKED UP TO BE and THIS IS NOT A TEST comes a powerful new young adult novel about an ostracized girl who must decide whether she wants to speak out against the boy who sexually assaulted her for a second time after someone else is assaulted or carry the burden of knowing more girls could get hurt if she doesn’t say something. (Talia read this gem and can’t stop talking about it! She says it’s Courtney’s best book YET!)
readmoreremove

Southern Debuts with Spirit and Stars

Reviewers and librarians have been giving a lot of pre-pub love to RANCHERO, a gem of a debut that'll have you bombing around the Missippi Delta. Now we're starting to see some love for another action-packed, southern-style debut, THE TERRITORY by Tricia Fields.

When a remote corner of Western Texas becomes a hot spot for Mexican drug runners, many of the locals would rather take the law into their own hands than get help from police chief Josie Gray. 

After arresting one of the cartel's hit men and killing another, Josie finds her life at risk for a job that many people would rather see her quit. And when the town's self-appointed protector of the Second Amendment is murdered, it's clear that she doesn't have to pick sides in this war. She's battling them both. 

Set in a desert landscape as beautiful as it is dangerous, THE TERRITORY captures the current border issues from the eyes of a tough, compelling heroine and richly evokes the American Southwest. 

"Fields’s rich plotting, nonstop action, and deft characterizations show the personal side of the larger issue of drug cartels on both sides of the border." -Publishers Weekly (starred review)

readmoreremove

css.php