Articles tagged "TINFOIL BUTTERFLY"

Library Journal Best Books of 2019

Library Journal chose their Best Books of 2019, and 22 Macmillan titles made the list!

Pop Fiction

MIRACLE CREEK by Angie Kim
WOMEN TALKING by Miriam Toews
IN WEST MILLS by De’Shawn Charles Winslow

Horror

TINFOIL BUTTERFLY by Rachel Eve Moulton

SF/Fantasy

THE RUIN OF KINGS by Jenn Lyons
A MEMORY CALLED EMPIRE by Arkady Martine
GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir

Romance

RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston

Crime Fiction

THE LONG CALL by Ann Cleeves
THE LOST MAN by Jane Harper
A DEADLY DIVIDE by Ausma Zehanat Khan

Graphic Novels

GRASS by Keum Suk Gendry-Kim
CLYDE FANS by Seth

Social Science

NO VISIBLE BRUISES: What We Don’t Know About Domestic Violence Can Kill Us by Rachel Louise Snyder

Poetry

DEAF REPUBLIC: Poems by Ilya Kaminsky
OCULUS: Poems by Sally Wen Mao

readmoreremove

A Special Spooky Round-Up (10/31/19)

From the bone-chilling, blood-curdling, trick-or-treat ready halls of Macmillan comes a round-up of some ghoulishly delightful horror treats from the past year. Grab your favorite candy and curl up with your black cat while reading these spooktacular books.

THE WHISPER MAN by Alex North

A Publishers Weekly Best Book of Summer 2019 + two starred reviews!

“With redemption for some and none for others, this thriller will satisfy readers of Thomas Harris and Stephen King.”–Booklist, starred review

“Readers will have a tough time putting down this truly unnerving tale, with its seemingly unexplainable elements and glimpses of broken and dangerous minds.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Adult Books for Teens

These titles may have been published for adults, but Booklist says they’re perfect for teens—and we agree!

DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz
In the vein of ANOTHER BROOKLYN and AMERICANAH, DOMINICANA is a novel about a Dominican teenager’s arranged marriage and immigration to New York City, set in the 1960s and inspired by the author’s mother.

“YAs will be struck by the ways Ana’s coming-of-age is complicated by family needs and immigration realities.” —Booklist, YA Interest

readmoreremove

Happy #PubDay (9/10/19)

Snarky necromancers + the rise of the nobodies + romantic pirate adventures + Bengali folklore + debut horror… welcome to our #PubDay celebration!

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir

A Library Journal Best Debut of Fall 2019 + September Indie Next pick + FOUR starred reviews!

“This extraordinary opening salvo will leave readers dying to know what happens next.“–Booklist, starred review

“An addictive, genre-bending book that will wow readers with its vibrant energy, endearing cast, and emotional gut-punch of a finale.“–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Readers will discuss this journey for a long time and be clamoring for the next installment.”–Library Journal, starred review

“Suspenseful and snarky, with surprising emotional depths.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE NOBODIES by Liza Palmer

“Palmer takes the Gen X vs. millennials story to another level in this fun novel.”–Library Journal

AT DEATH’S DOOR: A Deadman’s Cross Novel by Sherrilyn Kenyon

“The final romantic historical fantasy in Kenyon’s Deadman’s Cross trilogy is an over-the-top adventure.”–Publishers Weekly

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: September 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite September 2019 titles for the September 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due August 1!

DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz

“Cruz’s winning novel will linger in the reader’s mind long after the close of the story.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“A moving, sad, and sometimes disarmingly funny take on migration and the forces that propel us into the world.”–Kirkus Reviews

WHAT ROSE FORGOT by Nevada Barr

“Thrilling action, madcap humor, and a larger-than-life cast energize this cleverly plotted take on a traditional mystery. Barr surprises and entertains from start to finish.”–Publishers Weekly

readmoreremove

Macmillan Library @ ALA Annual 2019 (Booth #1511)

Come stroll the National Mall with us at ALA Annual 2019 in Washington, DC! We’ll have tons of events, authors, and ARC giveaways in our booth (#1511), so check out our schedule below and RSVP ASAP!

Friday, June 21

In-booth signing with Mariah Fredericks (DEATH OF A NEW AMERICAN)
5:30 PM | Booth 1511

Saturday, June 22

“Don’t Be Afraid of Horror” panel with Rachel Eve Moulton (TINFOIL BUTTERFLY)
1:00-1:50 PM | Pop Top Stage
Add this event to your schedule!

United for Libraries “It’s a Mystery to Me” panel with Donna Andrews (TERNS OF ENDEARMENT)
2:30-3:30 PM | WCC Room 207B
Add this event to your schedule!

Macmillan Happy Hour Book Buzz with SURPRISE guest
Join the Macmillan Library Marketing team (and a surprise guest!) as we highlight our favorite forthcoming titles from Macmillan’s adult publishers and YA pals Wednesday Books and Flatiron! Beer and wine will be served. #MLHAPPYHOUR
4:00-5:00 PM | WCC Room 207A
Add this event to your schedule!

readmoreremove

Booklist’s “Library Love for LibraryReads” Webinar

We hope you were able to tune in to Booklist’s “Library Love for LibraryReads” webinar today, but if not, you can download the full title list and slides, and here are all the titles presented:

WHAT ROSE FORGOT by Nevada Barr
29 SECONDS by T. M. Logan
A DANGEROUS ENGAGEMENT by Ashley Weaver
THE MURDER LIST by Hank Phillippi Ryan
A STRANGER ON THE BEACH by Michele Campbell
THE LONG CALL by Ann Cleeves
A HERO BORN by Jin Yong
TINFOIL BUTTERFLY by Rachel Eve Moulton
SALT SLOW by Julia Armfield
GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo
THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE by Katherine Center
ON DIVISION by Goldie Goldbloom
KEEPING LUCY by T. Greenwood
THE FURIES by Katie Lowe
THE TOPEKA SCHOOL by Ben Lerner
DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz
HERE WE ARE by Aarti Namdev Shahani
YOU’VE BEEN VOLUNTEERED by Laurie Gelman
THE NOBODIES by Liza Palmer
THE WIDOW OF ROSE HOUSE by Diana Biller

Listen to the full archived webinar here.

While you’re at it, request to be whitelisted for our e-galleys on Edelweiss.

Make sure to vote early and often for LibraryReads!

css.php