Articles tagged "Thriller Thursday"

Thriller Thursday (2/14/19)

Passport approved! All aboard for this week’s international Thriller Thursday.

THE RECKONING by Yrsa Sigurdardottir
“Sigurdardóttir just keeps getting better and better, as shown by this second entry in the trilogy that began with 2018’s THE LEGACY…. This is must-reading for Scandinavian crime fans.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

A DEADLY DIVIDE by Ausma Zehanat Khan
“Issues of religion, culture, and racism take center stage in Khan’s outstanding fifth novel featuring Insp. Esa Khattak, the Toronto-based head of Canada’s Community Policing Section…. Khan perceptively explores how fear can quickly erupt into violence.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE MOROCCAN GIRL by Charles Cumming
“The best part of inadvertent spy novels is watching the newbies forced to think on their feet, making up tradecraft as they go, and Kit does it very well, indeed. Another winner from the superbly talented Cumming.”–Booklist, starred review

Thriller Thursday (2/7/19)

A LibraryReads Pick and a Hall of Famer walk into a bar for this week’s chilling Thriller Thursday celebration.

THE SILENT PATIENT by Alex Michaelides
A February 2019 LibraryReads Pick!
A February 2019 Indie Next Pick!
“This edgy, intricately plotted psychological thriller establishes Michaelides as a major player in the field.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE LOST MAN by Jane Harper
LibraryReads Hall of Famer!
“[A]n unfolding family drama that will leave readers reeling, and the final reveal is a heartbreaker. A twisty slow burner by an author at the top of her game.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

#ThrillerThursday (11/15/18 Edition)

From the streets of Toyko, to 19th-century London, to Prohibition-Era Vermont, to Provence in the summertime, join us for today’s international edition of #ThrillerThursday!

BLOOD IS BLOOD: A Barker & Llewelyn Novel by Will Thomas 
A bombing injures private enquiry agent Cyrus Barker, leaving it up to his soon-to-be-married junior partner Thomas Llewelyn to find the person trying to murder them both before it’s too late—in the tenth mystery in Will Thomas’s beloved Barker & Llewelyn series. “Fans of Alex Grecian’s Walter Day mysteries may also enjoy Barker and Llewelyn for their grim tenacity and creative problem-solving.”Booklist

NEWCOMER: A Mystery by Keigo Higashino 
November 2018 LibraryReads Pick!
Kirkus Reviews Best Fiction of 2018
In a new case from internationally bestselling author Keigo Higashino, newly transferred Tokyo Police Detective Kyochiro Kaga is assigned to a baffling murder. “Part Sherlock Holmes, part Harry Bosch, Higashino’s hero is a quietly majestic force to be reckoned with.”Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (9/27/18 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday to a couple of East-coast crimes:

BUTTON MAN by Andrew Gross
Also available in audio
Gross’s new historical thriller brings to life the birth of organized crime in 1930s New York City from the tale of the three Rabinowitz brothers, who take very different paths. “A highly satisfying story of family loyalty, persistence, courage, and crime.” — Kirkus Reviews

BURY THE LEAD by Archer Mayor
Joe Gunther and the VBI are investigating a murder and an arson case—both may be related to a potential outbreak of ebola—but the ties are tenuous, the evidence wobbly, and the motive unclear. “BURY THE LEAD is the twenty-ninth Joe Gunther novel, and, as always, the police procedure is precisely detailed, and Mayor’s Vermont is affectionately sketched, with Joe and his team abiding and ultimately prevailing.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (9/6/18 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday to some series favorites!

SUNRISE HIGHWAY by Peter Blauner
Two starred reviews! Lourdes Robles, a relentless young Latina detective for the NYPD, discovers a deep and sinister web of connections between the victims of a serial killer and some of the most powerful political figures in Long Island. “Exploring such subjects as police corruption, misogyny, and racism, this is a page-turner of the highest order.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

WILD FIRE by Ann Cleeves
Two starred reviews! When a young nanny’s body is found hanging in a barn, rumors of her affair with the husband spark suspicion and resentment in the Shetland community, leading Detective Inspector Jimmy Perez to investigate. “Intricately plotted and elegantly written, this installment is billed as Perez’s final case. Series fans will be sorry to see the last of him.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

LEVERAGE IN DEATH by J.D. Robb
Lieutenant Eve Dallas puzzles over a bizarre suicide bombing in a Wall St. office building in the latest in the #1 New York Times bestselling series. “With the forty-seventh installment in her always popular Eve Dallas series, Robb again remixes and remasters all the addictively readable ingredients her readers have come to crave, including a tough-as-nails protagonist who takes guff from no one, a plethora of engaging secondary characters who each play their roles to perfection, a generous dash of hot-as-sin sex, and a fine-tuned, tautly paced plot that relentlessly ticks along to the book’s satisfying conclusion.” — Booklist

AN ACT OF VILLAINY by Ashley Weaver
In the 5th book in Edgar Award-nominee and librarian Ashley Weaver’s historical mystery series, Amory Ames is hired by her friend, play director Gerard Holloway, who wants Amory to find out who’s sending threatening letters to his mistress/lead actress. “An excellent addition to the series, this could also be read independently. Fans of light period mysteries with fashion and flair will be caught up in Amory’s latest adventure.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday: Case Closed Podcast

Happy #ThrillerThursday to two bestselling authors with returning series favorites. Plus, a new true crime podcast!

FEARED by Lisa Scottoline
Also available in audio
In the next book in the best-selling Rosato & DiNunzio thriller series, the all-female law firm is hit with a sex discrimination suit. “Series fans and newcomers alike will revel in the partners’ fierce loyalty, served up with an endearingly humorous slice of South Philly family life. A sure bet for legal-thriller fans.” — Booklist

ABANDONED by Allison Brennan
Investigative reporter Max Revere has cracked many cases, but the one investigation she’s never attempted is the mystery from her own past: why her mother abandoned her. “…an enjoyable mix of family story, romance, and thriller. Readers who enjoy strong female leads will finish this one wanting more from award-winner Brennan.” — Booklist

If you’re hooked on The Girls podcast, we’ve got another one to recommend: Case Closed, a new true crime podcast perfect for fans of Serial, Dirty John, Criminal, and other favorites.

Produced by Macmillan Podcasts & Criminal Element, and hosted by renowned true crime book editor Charlie Spicer—a 30-year veteran of St. Martin’s Press who has published more than 100 books—each season of Case Closed will track one murder from crime to trial to conviction. readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (8/9/2018 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday to two very different—but equally thrilling—reads!

THE MIDDLEMAN by Olen Steinhauer
Also available in audio.
Two starred reviews and an August 2018 Indie Next pick! “Steinhauer has written an unnerving and timely thriller with incredible pivots. From a perspective on activist/terrorist civilian organizations to an examination of Big Brother conspiracy plots, there’s something here for everyone to grip—with white knuckles.” —Library Journal, starred review

TOUCAN KEEP A SECRET by Donna Andrews
In the 23rd entry in the award-winning Meg Langslow series, she goes to check on a toucan the reverend is fostering, but finds the bird missing and an elderly parishioner murdered in a columbarium among the ashes of overturned urns. “This long-running cozy series shows no signs of losing its freshness.” —Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (8/2/18 Edition)

Twisty thrillers and series favorites return in today’s #ThrillerThursday picks:

BLOODY SUNDAY by Ben Coes
Also available in audio
“A simple premise drives bestseller Coes’s excellent eighth thriller featuring indomitable CIA agent Dewey Andreas: North Korean Supreme Leader Kim Jong-un is dying of cancer. It’s a complicated mission, and in the end only Dewey has the skills, courage, and sheer badass tenacity to pull it off. A ticking clock ratchets up the tension in the best entry in the series so far.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

SHE WAS THE QUIET ONE by Michele Campbell
Also available in audio
When twin sisters Rose and Bel Enright enroll in a prestigious New Hampshire boarding school, it brings out a rivalry between them that few ever knew existed…and leaves one girl dead. “…Campbell’s skillful characterization and her shocking final twist make this follow-up to IT’S ALWAYS THE HUSBAND well worthwhile. Readers who enjoyed Simone St. James’ boarding-school mystery, THE BROKEN GIRLS, should give this a try.” — Booklist

REQUIEM by Geir Tangen
The first in a new Nordic crime series starring journalist Viljar Gudmundsson and Investigator Lotte Skeisvoll. “Already an international best seller, this initially self-published debut by a Norwegian crime book blogger is true to the genre. A dark and slightly creepy thriller that fans of Henning Mankell and Arnaldur Indridason will appreciate.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (7/17/18 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday to an outstanding new debut and two series favorites:

BABY TEETH by Zoje Stage
Also available in audio
A July 2018 LibraryReads pick, an August 2018 Indie Next Pick, an LJ Best Summer 2018 Debut, and one of PW’s Best Books of Summer 2018 / Most Anticipated Debuts with THREE starred reviews! “WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN meets GONE GIRL meets THE OMEN. Interested? That might be the best way to describe Zoje Stage’s highly anticipated debut novel, BABY TEETHa twisty, delirious read that will constantly question your sympathies for the two characters as their bond continues to crumble.” Entertainment Weekly

DOUBLE BLIND by Iris Johansen & Roy Johansen
When a body bearing an envelope marked with her name is recovered near her home, Kendra Michaels is eager to investigate a crime that could have personal implications. “Satisfying… Magnetic characters and a twisty, suspenseful plot ensure that readers will eagerly anticipate the next installment.” — Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (7/12/18 Edition)

Serial killers, sexual predators, and a mystery island…yep, it’s an average #ThrillerThursday!

HALCYON by Rio Youers
On the heels of tragedy, Martin Lovegrove moves his family to Halcyon, a self-sustaining community on a beautiful island in the middle of Lake Ontario. But he soon suspects there is something sinister beneath Halcyon’s perfect veneer and sets out to discover the truth. “[An] exceptional paranormal thriller… Youers humanizes all his characters and makes readers feel the pain of the events he describes.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

A GATHERING OF SECRETS by Linda Castillo
Also available in audio
“Bestseller Castillo addresses the topic of sexual assault in Amish communities in her riveting 10th mystery featuring Painters Mill, Ohio, police chief Kate Burkholder. Castillo’s sensitive handling of her subject matter builds a nuanced, often troubling picture of insular, patriarchal communities in which silence allows predators to thrive. Details of Amish crafts, family life, and commerce contrast with the ugliness of the crimes…armchair travelers should find this a satisfying outing.” — Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

css.php