Articles tagged "thriller"

#ThrillerThursday (1/31/19)

Your favorite orphan assassin + a cozy series opener = this week’s Thriller Thursday!

OUT OF THE DARK: An Orphan X Novel by Gregg Hurwitz
Two starred reviews!
“Chases, hand-to-hand combat, and gunfights make the short chapters speed by like automatic gunfire. Hurwitz is at the top of this game in this gritty thriller.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

DEAD AS A DOOR KNOCKER: A House-Flipper Mystery by Diane Kelly
The first in a brand-new cozy series from Diane Kelly set in Nashville–where the real estate market is to die for. “Whitney and her allies are engaging characters, forging bonds that should grow as this new series continues.”–Booklist

#ThrillerThursday (1/24/19)

Buckle up! This week’s Thriller Thursday celebration will take you on an international thrill ride:

THE NOWHERE CHILD by Christian White
Two starred reviews!
A gripping internationally bestselling mystery about a young woman whose life is turned upside down when she finds out she may have been abducted years before by her recently deceased mother. “The impatient may be tempted to skip ahead, but they shouldn’t. Thriller fans will want to savor every crumb of evidence and catch every clue. White is definitely a writer to watch.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

RUPTURE: An Ari Thór Thriller by Ragnar Jonasson
Young policeman Ari Thór tries to solve a 50-year-old murder when new evidence surfaces in this fourth book in the Dark Iceland thriller series–already a huge bestseller in England, France, and Australia. “[A]s strong as ever at combining fair-play with psychological depth.”–Publishers Weekly

F19 E-Galley Drop

It may only be January, but we’re gearing up for Fall 2019 with this epic e-galley drop! Head over to Edelweiss to download some of the hot titles of the season:

WHAT ROSE FORGOT by Nevada Barr
A gripping standalone in which a grandmother in her sixties emerges from a mental fog to find she’s trapped in her worst nightmare.

29 SECONDS by T. M. Logan
A woman being harassed by her male colleague is offered a once-in-a-lifetime deal that can make all her problems disappear. No consequences. No traces. No chance of being found out. All it takes is a 29-second phone call.

CAMPUSLAND by Scott Johnston
A laugh-out-loud first novel about one year of insanity at the Ivy-like Devon University, a blissful bubble of elite students and the adults at their mercy.

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
Tamsyn Muir’s necromantic science fantasy debut combines a solar system of swordplay, cut-throat politics, and lesbian necromancers for the most fun you’ll ever have with a skeleton.

THE GRACE YEAR by Kim Liggett
A speculative YA thriller in the vein of THE HANDMAID’S TALE and LORD OF THE FLIES in which girls are banished at sixteen to the northern forest to brave the wilderness–and each other–in order to rid themselves of their feminine magic before returning purified and ready to marry.

A GOLDEN GRAVE: A Rose Gallagher Mystery by Erin Lindsey
The follow-up to MURDER ON MILLIONAIRES’ ROW, Erin Lindsey’s second historical mystery follows Rose Gallagher as she tracks a killer with shocking abilities through Gilded Age Manhattan.

HUDSON’S KILL by Paddy Hirsch
New York in 1803 is seething with racial tension, as a mysterious provocateur pits the city’s black and Irish gangs against each other. When a young black girl is found stabbed to death, both Justy Flanagan, now a City Marshal, and Kerry O’Toole, now a school teacher, decide separately to go after the killer in this follow-up to THE DEVIL’S HALF MILE.

#ThrillerThursday 1/17/19

Marriages to die for, a Karin Slaughter read-alike, and the grim reaper… Welcome to this week’s #thrillerthurday!

AS LONG AS WE BOTH SHALL LIVE by JoAnn Chaney
Two starred reviews!
You can’t be married to someone without sometimes wanting to kill them… “Chaney alternates past and present, creating an unbearably urgent narrative, and she has a shockingly firm grasp on the barbs and ennui of long-term marriage…. A perfectly paced, shock-studded chiller from an author to watch.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Chaney grabs readers with her opening line: ‘If you try to kill your wife without a plan, you will fail.’… Marriage laid bare, with a riveting account of evasion and pursuit—and a zinger of a coda.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Killing It! February 2019 LibraryReads List Edition

FANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has FIVE February 2019 LibraryReads picks, including the highly coveted #1 spot, and a Hall of Famer!

In the #1 spot:
THE SILENT PATIENT by Alex Michaelides
A February 2019 Indie Next List Pick!
After shooting her husband in the face, Alicia Berenson takes a vow of silence. Theo Faber is a criminal psychotherapist who has waited a long time for the opportunity to work with Alicia. His determination to get her to talk and unravel the mystery of why she shot her husband takes him down a twisting path into his own motivations—a search for the truth that threatens to consume him…. “This edgy, intricately plotted psychological thriller establishes Michaelides as a major player in the field.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

AN ANONYMOUS GIRL Signed Copy Giveaway

Three starred reviews, an Indie Next Pick, and a LibraryReads Pick–Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen’s latest smash hit AN ANONYMOUS GIRL is on sale today!

A psychology study volunteer finds more than she signed up for in this follow-up to THE WIFE BETWEEN US–an electrifying new novel about doubt, passion, and just how much you can trust someone.

We’re giving away a signed copy of AN ANONYMOUS GIRL to ONE lucky librarian!

To enter the giveaway, simply fill out this Google form by Thursday, January 31, and make sure to include your professional/library-issued e-mail address and library’s mailing address. Read on for the fine print—good luck!

AN ANONYMOUS GIRL is available 1/8/19 from St. Martin’s Press and Macmillan Audio.

This sweepstakes is open to librarians in the United States. Entrants must be age 18 or older. No purchase necessary. Entries must be received by Thursday, January 31, 2019 to be eligible. The winner grants Macmillan Library the right to announce their name on Twitter, MacmillanLibrary.com, and any other platform we want to congratulate them on. We will select the potential prize winner at random from among all eligible entries received. If a potential prize winner cannot be reached after three (3) business days, we will select an alternate winner, so check your email.

#LibFaves18 = Your Favorite Books of 2018

This week, librarians everywhere were tweeting their favorite 2018 reads via the hashtag #libfaves18. Here are the Macmillan titles that received the most library love!

KINGDOM OF THE BLIND: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel by Louise Penny 

readmoreremove

Adult Books for Teens

Booklist and School Library Journal have deemed these adult books to be great for teens . . . and we agree!

SHE WAS THE QUIET ONE by Michele Campbell
Also available in audio
When twin sisters Rose and Bel Enright enroll in The Odell School, a prestigious New Hampshire boarding school, it seems like the opportunity of a lifetime. But the sisters could not be more different. The school brings out a rivalry between them that few ever knew existed. And the school itself has a dark underbelly: of privileged kids running unchecked and uninhibited; of rituals and traditions that are more sinister than they seem; of wealth and entitlement that can only lead to disaster.

“Teens who love to read about intrigue at boarding school will like this, too.”
Booklist, YA Interest

“This fast-paced tale will be great for teens who enjoy dark mysteries.” —School Library Journal

WOMAN WORLD by Aminder Dhaliwal
When a birth defect wipes out the planet’s entire population of men, Woman World rises out of society’s ashes. Dhaliwal’s infectiously funny Instagram comic follows the rebuilding process, tracking a group of women who have rallied together under the flag of “Beyonce’s Thighs.” For the most part, Woman World’s residents are focused on their struggles with unrequited love and anxiety, not to mention that whole “survival of humanity” thing.

“The focus on relationships and the lighthearted humor will be a big draw for teens.” —Booklist, YA Interest

readmoreremove

#ThrillerThursday (12/13/18)

You’ll see some familiar faces as we celebrate this Thriller Thursday with two continuing, critically acclaimed series:

A BAKER STREET WEDDING: A Baker Street Mystery by Michael Robertson 
A honeymoon goes awry in the sixth book following a London barrister who takes a lease on 221B Baker Street and must respond to letters addressed to Sherlock Holmes.

SINS AS SCARLET: An Inspector Iwata Novel by Nicolás Obregón 
In this follow-up to Nicolás Obregón’s critically acclaimed BLUE LIGHT YOKOHAMA, Inspector Iwata returns in a murder case in his new home of Los Angeles. “Iwata is a fallible but dedicated protagonist, and this vividly atmospheric sequel to Obregón’s debut…takes on contemporary issues as it builds suspense. A fine cross-cultural thriller.”–Booklist

AN ANONYMOUS GIRL = January LibraryReads Pick! Seanan McGuire = Hall of Famer!

The votes are in, and you chose AN ANONYMOUS GIRL as a January LibraryReads pick!

AN ANONYMOUS GIRL by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen 
Three starred reviews! 

“For those who relished the creepy stalking in Hendricks and Pekkanen’s THE WIFE BETWEEN US, this unnerving tale will have them rethinking what secrets are safe to share and if morals and ethics really matter when protecting the ones you love.”–Library Journal, starred review

And we’d also like to congratulate Seanan McGuire on being inducted into the LibraryReads Hall of Fame for her fourth Wayward Children novel, IN AN ABSENT DREAM

Check out our February LibraryReads recommendations for more great reads, and don’t forget to vote for your favorites by January 1.

css.php