Articles tagged "thriller"

LibraryReads Voter Favorites 2019

You read ’em, you loved ’em, you voted for ’em, and now THE SILENT PATIENT by Alex Michaelides, RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston, and THE FLATSHARE by Beth O’Leary are LibraryReads 2019 Voter Favorites!

Thank you for making them some of your favorite books of the year.

Don’t forget you can also vote for the next monthly list (February 2020, nominations due 1/1/20)! Check out our suggestions here.

New E-Galleys for November 2019

Hello e-galley readers! Check out some of the exciting e-galleys that were added to Edelweiss this month for your downloading pleasure:

HARROW THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir

Lesbian necromancers return to space in the hotly-anticipated sequel to GIDEON THE NINTH.

DEAD WEST by Matt Goldman

Minneapolis private detective Nils Shapiro is back for another thrilling, standalone adventure.

A SWEET MESS by Jayci Lee

Diversity! Rom-com! CAKE!

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (11/14/19)

A deadly secret document in 1882 London + a homicide detective questioning her past and future = today’s Thriller Thursday!

LETHAL PURSUIT: A Barker & Llewelyn Novel by Will Thomas

“He weaves in history—London especially comes alive—without it seeming like clumps of a school lesson and gives just enough background so that new readers aren’t lost in arcane references to past events. Even the most observant reader will be surprised at the final twists and turns and hope for another case soon.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

Suffolk County Book Buzz Recap (11/12/19)

Yesterday we headed out of the bustling city to talk books and see the first snowfall of the year at the Suffolk County Book Buzz on Long Island. If you weren’t able to attend, or want a second look, here are the books we presented:

WHERE THE WORLD ENDS | Geraldine McCaughrean
December 3, 2019
9781250225498
YA Fiction / Historical / Europe
Ages 12 to 18

THE NIGHT COUNTRY | Melissa Albert
January 7, 2020
9781250246073
YA Fiction / Fantasy / Contemporary
Ages 12 to 18

JANE ANONYMOUS | Laurie Faria Stolarz
January 7, 2020
9781250303707
YA Fiction / Thrillers & Suspense
Ages 13 to 18

readmoreremove

A Special Spooky Round-Up (10/31/19)

From the bone-chilling, blood-curdling, trick-or-treat ready halls of Macmillan comes a round-up of some ghoulishly delightful horror treats from the past year. Grab your favorite candy and curl up with your black cat while reading these spooktacular books.

THE WHISPER MAN by Alex North

A Publishers Weekly Best Book of Summer 2019 + two starred reviews!

“With redemption for some and none for others, this thriller will satisfy readers of Thomas Harris and Stephen King.”–Booklist, starred review

“Readers will have a tough time putting down this truly unnerving tale, with its seemingly unexplainable elements and glimpses of broken and dangerous minds.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

New E-Galleys for October 2019

Hello e-galley readers! Check out some of the exciting e-galleys that were added to Edelweiss this month for your downloading pleasure:

GONE BY MIDNIGHT by Candice Fox

Crimson Lake is where people with dark pasts come to disappear—and where others vanish into thin air.

A BAD DAY FOR SUNSHINE by Darynda Jones

Police chief Sunshine Vicram finds her cup o’ joe more than half full when the small village of Del Sol, New Mexico, becomes the center of national attention for a killer on the loose.

HID FROM OUR EYES: A Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne Mystery by Julia Spencer-Fleming

New York Times bestseller Julia Spencer-Fleming returns to her beloved Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne mystery series with new crimes that span decades.

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: January 2020 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite January titles for the January 2020 LibraryReads list!

Votes due December 1!

AMERICAN DIRT by Jeanine Cummins

Email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with the subject line “AMERICAN DIRT” to request a print ARC.

2 starred reviews!

“Beautiful, straightforward language drives home the point that migration to safer places is not a political issue but a human one.”–Booklist, starred review

“Intensely suspenseful and deeply humane, this novel makes migrants seeking to cross the southern U.S. border indelibly individual.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE GOD GAME by Danny Tobey

“With a pace that is fast but not too fast…and a story that keeps the reader in a constant state of suspense, the book is sure to appeal to SF readers, gamers, and anyone else who enjoys a well-plotted, well-told thriller.”–Booklist

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (10/24/19)

Today’s #ThrillerThursday asks if we can ever really know the people around us with a page-turning tale of suspense set in a haunted town.

STRANGERS AT THE GATE by Catriona McPherson

“Narrator Finn is a pragmatic but quirky delight who will turn most folks’ ideas of what a church deacon should be upside down, and readers will be enthralled as she unearths some shockingly dark deeds. Another unsettling and cleverly plotted winner from the enormously talented McPherson.”–Kirkus Reviews

From the Agatha-award winning author of QUIET NEIGHBORS and GO TO MY GRAVE, Finn and Paddy move from the city to a small town where everything starts out perfectly–but it only takes a few days for the strange sounds to start and the secrets to pile up.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER

A young woman confronts ancient forces in the depths of the bayou in Andy Davidson’s gorgeous, moody, horrifying novel, THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER.

Miranda Crabtree has spent a quiet life ferrying contraband for a mad preacher and his declining band of followers to make ends meet and to protect an old witch and a secret child from harm. But dark forces are at work in the bayou, both human and supernatural, conspiring to disrupt the rhythms of Miranda’s peculiar and precarious life. And when the preacher makes an unthinkable demand, it sets Miranda on a desperate, dangerous path, forcing her to consider what she is willing to sacrifice to keep her loved ones safe.

A great combination of Gothic horror, fantastic world-building, and thrilling pacing, Davidson’s unique voice will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Joe Hill, Justin Cronin, and Jeff VanderMeer. The author’s debut was nominated for the Bram Stoker Award for First Novel, so we’re very excited for him to join our list!

Download an e-galley of THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER from Edelweiss here.

PW’s 2019 Holiday Gift Guide

It’s never too early to get into the holiday spirit. Enter, Publishers Weekly‘s 2019 Holiday Gift Guide, with recommendations for every reader in your life.

Fiction

CITY OF WINDOWS by Robert Pobi
EMPIRE OF LIES by Raymond Khoury
GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
LIGHT FROM OTHER STARS by Erika Swyler
THE VERY BEST OF THE BEST: 35 Years of The Year’s Best Science Fiction by Gardner Dozois
RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston
CLYDE FANS by Seth
UNDER CURRENTS by Nora Roberts

Poetry

DEAF REPUBLIC: Poems by Ilya Kaminsky

Nonfiction

TEXAS FLOOD: The Inside Story of Stevie Ray Vaughan by Alan Paul and Andy Aledort
THE BRITISH ARE COMING: The War for America, Lexington to Princeton, 1775-1777 by Rick Atkinson

Illustrated Books

MOONBOUND: Apollo 11 and the Dream of Spaceflight by Jonathan Fetter-Vorm

YA

HIS HIDEOUS HEART: 13 of Edgar Allan Poe’s Most Unsettling Tales Reimagined, edited by Dahlia Adler
WAYWARD SON by Rainbow Rowell

css.php