Articles tagged "thriller"

2019 Thriller Award Finalists: JAR OF HEARTS and CAGED!

Congrats to our two 2019 ITW Thriller Awards finalists, JAR OF HEARTS and CAGED!

Best Hardcover Novel
JAR OF HEARTS by Jennifer Hillier

Best First Novel
CAGED by Ellison Cooper

BONUS Honorable Mention: The Australian paperback original version of Jane Harper’s THE LOST MAN is a finalist for Best Paperback Original Novel!

The full list of finalists can be found here. Winners will be announced on July 13.

#ThrillerThursday (4/11/19)

An Agatha Christie adaptation, an NYC historical mystery, and a Munchhausen by proxy thriller… welcome to Thriller Thursday!

THEY ALL FALL DOWN by Rachel Howzell Hall

“[A] cleverly updated version of Agatha Christie’s AND THEN THERE WERE NONE…. Hall slips from funny to darkly frightening with elegant ease.”–Publishers Weekly

DEATH OF A NEW AMERICAN by Mariah Fredericks

Author of the Library Journal Best Book of the Year and Edgar Award nominee A DEATH OF NO IMPORTANCE
Two starred reviews!

“With an astute amateur sleuth whose evaluation of the roles and positions of women is a crucial element, and a topical story line that emphasizes the immigrant experience and women’s lives, this title comes highly recommended”–Library Journal, starred review, Pick of the Month

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: June 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite June 2019 titles for the June 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due May 1!

THE ELECTRIC HOTEL by Dominic Smith

Two starred reviews!

“A compelling plot, robust characters, and finely crafted prose richly evoke a bygone age and art.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Smith’s tale is as luminous as celluloid projected on a silver screen hung from a dirigible floating over the Hudson (yes, this happens). Highly recommended for historical fiction fans and readers who love old Hollywood novels.”–Booklist, starred review

MAGIC FOR LIARS by Sarah Gailey

“There’s something for almost all readers here: family drama, romance, high-school gossip, fantasy-world building. Above all, Gailey shows us that humans are humans, even when they are magic, and they are still flawed, damaged, and oh so interesting.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

NYPL Fiction + Nonfiction Book Buzz

Earlier today we presented our favorite Spring 2019 titles at the New York Public Library… In case you missed us, check out the list below!

Nonfiction

THE BRITISH ARE COMING: The War for America, Lexington to Princeton, 1775-1777 | Rick Atkinson | 5/14/19 | 9781627790437
BITCOIN BILLIONAIRES: A True Story of Genius, Betrayal, and Redemption | Ben Mezrich | 5/21/19 | 9781250217745
A DOG NAMED BEAUTIFUL: A Marine, a Dog, and a Long Road Trip Home | Rob Kugler | 5/7/19 | 9781250164254
LOSING EARTH: A Recent History | Nathaniel Rich | 4/9/19 | 9780374191337
WOLFPACK: How to Come Together, Unleash Our Power, and Change the Game | Abby Wambach | 4/9/19 | 9781250217707
STAY SEXY & DON’T GET MURDERED: The Definitive How-To Guide | Karen Kilgariff + Georgia Hardstark | 5/28/19 | 9781250178954
NATURALLY TAN: A Memoir | Tan France | 6/4/19 | 9781250208668

Fiction

THIRTEEN | Steve Cavanagh| 8/13/19| 9781250297600
WE LOVE ANDERSON COOPER: Short Stories | R.L. Maizes | 7/23/19| 9781250304070
THE WHISPER MAN | Alex North | 8/20/19| 9781250317995
NOTTINGHAM | Nathan Makaryk | 8/6/19 | 9781250195609
CITY OF WINDOWS | Robert Pobi | 8/6/19 | 9781250293947
THE FIRST MISTAKE | Sandie Jones | 6/11/19 | 9781250192028
THE PERFECT DATE | Evelyn Lozada with Holly Lorincz | 6/11/19 | 9781250204882
A STRANGER ON THE BEACH | Michele Campbell | 7/23/19 | 9781250202536
IN WEST MILLS | De’Shawn Charles Winslow | 6/4/19 | 9781635573404

#ThrillerThursday (3/28/19)

Today is a super series Thriller Thursday with the return of four of your ongoing favorites!

BONES OF THE EARTH: An Inspector Shan Tao Yun Mystery by Eliot Pattison
“Pattison has never been better in depicting a brave man’s dangerous pursuit of justice in a ‘land of broken places and broken people.'”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

BLACK AND BLUE: A Doug Brock Thriller by David Rosenfelt
“Dead ends and red herrings abound as the action builds to a jaw-dropping reveal. Rosenfelt knocks it out of the park with this fiendishly twisty serial killer thriller.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

MURDER LO MEIN: A Noodle Shop Mystery by Vivien Chien
Everyone agrees that the food at Ho-Lee Noodle House is delicious—unless it happens to be deadly–the third in a tasty cozy series.

#ThrillerThursday (3/21/19)

Today’s #ThrillerThursday celebration features a cozy series-starter, the aftermath of a family tragedy, an eagerly-awaited sequel, a Bostonian bike courier, and a military thriller!

MURDER ONCE REMOVED: Ancestry Detective (Volume 1) by S. C. Perkins
“This debut features an intelligent genealogist detective, a strong supporting cast, some romantic tension, and information about Texas history that should appeal to readers of Rett MacPherson’s genealogy mysteries as well as cozy lovers who prefer a dash of history in their mysteries.”–Library Journal (starred review, Debut of the Month)

IN THE BLINK OF AN EYE by Jesse Blackadder
“Issues of trust, the burden of responsibility, and forgiveness are dealt with on an expert level. This is a masterpiece of women’s fiction, as the complexities and intricacies of both the characters and the situations are devastatingly and utterly realistic. The story is raw in its intimacy, grabbing hold of the readers’ heart, and not letting go.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Macmillan Dominates with FOUR April LibraryReads Picks!

Exciting new, folks! The votes are in, and you lovely librarians chose FOUR Macmillan titles for the April 2019 LibraryReads list!

THE GIRL HE USED TO KNOW by Tracey Garvis Graves

An April 2019 Indie Next Pick!
“Careful to balance the emotional and intellectual power between Annika and Jonathan, Graves creates a believable love affair in which Annika is not infantilized but rather fully realized as simply different. And her differences become her strengths when catastrophe strikes, compelling Annika to take the lead for the first time in her life. A heartwarming, neurodiverse love story.”–Kirkus Reviews

THE MOTHER-IN-LAW by Sally Hepworth

Author of LibraryReads pick THE THINGS WE KEEP
“A masterful depiction of how much is said in the silences, accompanied by increasing unease over what happened to Diana, make this a winner for fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Thrills and Chills in A BEAUTIFUL CORPSE

Crime reporter Harper McClain returns in Christi Daugherty’s latest, chilling and thrilling A BEAUTIFUL CORPSE.

For a woman, being killed by someone who claims to love her is the most ordinary murder of all.

A woman is killed in the heart of Savannah’s downtown district. Only twenty-four years old, Naomi Scott’s life ended in the dead of night at the hands of an unseen gunman. There are no witnesses to the crime. The police have three suspects: Scott’s boyfriend, who has a criminal past he claims he’s put behind him, her boss, who stalked another young bartender two years ago, and the district attorney’s son, who Naomi dated until their relationship ended in acrimony. All three men claim to love her. Could one of them be her killer?

With the whole city demanding answers, Harper unravels a tangled story of obsession and jealousy. But the pressures on her go beyond the murder. The newspaper is facing more layoffs. Her boss fears both their jobs are on the line. And Harper begins to realize that someone is watching her every move. Someone familiar and very dangerous.

“This first-rate adventure for Daugherty’s heroine is fast-paced, intriguing, and romantic. A message from her stalker intimates her next adventure will be just as exciting.”–Kirkus Reviews

“Gripping . . . carefully built suspense . . . an appealing character readers will want to see more of.”–Publishers Weekly

“Increasingly captivating.”– Booklist

Read an excerpt here.

Also in this series: THE ECHO KILLING

2019 Audie Award Winners

Congratulations to our 2019 Audie Winners!

Winner Thriller/Suspense: CRIMSON LAKE by Candice Fox

Winner Young Adult: SADIE by Courtney Summers

For Your Consideration: May 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite May 2019 titles for the May 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due April 1!

LIGHT FROM OTHER STARS by Erika Swyler

Author of June 2015 LibraryReads pick THE BOOK OF SPECULATION
Three starred reviews!
A Library Journal Spring/Summer 2019 Top Pick

“Swyler’s beautiful story, told in eloquent prose, induces shivers of wonder. This meditation on time, loss, and the depth of human connection is both melancholy and astonishing.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Brings to mind the quintessential pioneering writer who used science to explore the human condition, Mary Shelley.”–Booklist, starred review

“Grand in scope and graceful in execution.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE GUEST BOOK by Sarah Blake

“This novel sets out to be more than a juicy family saga—it aims to depict the moral evolution of a part of American society. Its convincing characters and muscular narrative succeed on both counts.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

css.php