Articles tagged "thriller"

Thriller Thursday (2/14/19)

Passport approved! All aboard for this week’s international Thriller Thursday.

THE RECKONING by Yrsa Sigurdardottir
“Sigurdardóttir just keeps getting better and better, as shown by this second entry in the trilogy that began with 2018’s THE LEGACY…. This is must-reading for Scandinavian crime fans.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

A DEADLY DIVIDE by Ausma Zehanat Khan
“Issues of religion, culture, and racism take center stage in Khan’s outstanding fifth novel featuring Insp. Esa Khattak, the Toronto-based head of Canada’s Community Policing Section…. Khan perceptively explores how fear can quickly erupt into violence.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE MOROCCAN GIRL by Charles Cumming
“The best part of inadvertent spy novels is watching the newbies forced to think on their feet, making up tradecraft as they go, and Kit does it very well, indeed. Another winner from the superbly talented Cumming.”–Booklist, starred review

Starred Review Round-Up (2/12/19)

2 stars each for an empowering badass debut, a psychedelic coming-of-age memoir, and a Chinese sci-fi translation.

SAVE ME FROM DANGEROUS MEN by S. A. Lelchuk
“This intelligent, action-packed thriller will resonate with readers as it touches on such themes as domestic violence, the widening gap between rich and poor, and the intrusive potential of advanced technologies like artificial intelligence. A credible plot and solid prose are pluses, but the book’s real appeal stems from its powerful, distinctive protagonist.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Nikki’s fight scenes are satisfying, clever, and exciting…. Bookworms will love the references to classic novels, and Lelchuk winks at Nikki’s similarities to a certain well-known literary vigilante; a bookshop regular even calls her Lisbeth. A timely and totally badass debut.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (2/7/19)

A LibraryReads Pick and a Hall of Famer walk into a bar for this week’s chilling Thriller Thursday celebration.

THE SILENT PATIENT by Alex Michaelides
A February 2019 LibraryReads Pick!
A February 2019 Indie Next Pick!
“This edgy, intricately plotted psychological thriller establishes Michaelides as a major player in the field.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE LOST MAN by Jane Harper
LibraryReads Hall of Famer!
“[A]n unfolding family drama that will leave readers reeling, and the final reveal is a heartbreaker. A twisty slow burner by an author at the top of her game.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

Spring 2019 Debuts to Watch

Macmillan is bringing on the talent with these exciting debuts hitting shelves near you in Spring 2019!

THE FLATSHARE by Beth O’Leary
“With likable main characters, spot-on dialogue, a fun premise, and plenty of drama, there’s a lot to like in this sweet story. A warm, enchanting love story perfect for fans of classic rom-coms.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE ESCAPE ROOM by Megan Goldin
Four Wall Street sharks are lured to a “team-building” escape room experience, only to learn someone with a darker motive is pulling the strings.

THE RIGHT SORT OF MAN by Allison Montclair
In London, 1946, the two women who recently started The Right Sort Marriage Bureau find their new livelihood endangered when a client is arrested for the murder of another.

readmoreremove

#ThrillerThursday (1/31/19)

Your favorite orphan assassin + a cozy series opener = this week’s Thriller Thursday!

OUT OF THE DARK: An Orphan X Novel by Gregg Hurwitz
Two starred reviews!
“Chases, hand-to-hand combat, and gunfights make the short chapters speed by like automatic gunfire. Hurwitz is at the top of this game in this gritty thriller.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

DEAD AS A DOOR KNOCKER: A House-Flipper Mystery by Diane Kelly
The first in a brand-new cozy series from Diane Kelly set in Nashville–where the real estate market is to die for. “Whitney and her allies are engaging characters, forging bonds that should grow as this new series continues.”–Booklist

#ThrillerThursday (1/24/19)

Buckle up! This week’s Thriller Thursday celebration will take you on an international thrill ride:

THE NOWHERE CHILD by Christian White
Two starred reviews!
A gripping internationally bestselling mystery about a young woman whose life is turned upside down when she finds out she may have been abducted years before by her recently deceased mother. “The impatient may be tempted to skip ahead, but they shouldn’t. Thriller fans will want to savor every crumb of evidence and catch every clue. White is definitely a writer to watch.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

RUPTURE: An Ari Thór Thriller by Ragnar Jonasson
Young policeman Ari Thór tries to solve a 50-year-old murder when new evidence surfaces in this fourth book in the Dark Iceland thriller series–already a huge bestseller in England, France, and Australia. “[A]s strong as ever at combining fair-play with psychological depth.”–Publishers Weekly

F19 E-Galley Drop

It may only be January, but we’re gearing up for Fall 2019 with this epic e-galley drop! Head over to Edelweiss to download some of the hot titles of the season:

WHAT ROSE FORGOT by Nevada Barr
A gripping standalone in which a grandmother in her sixties emerges from a mental fog to find she’s trapped in her worst nightmare.

29 SECONDS by T. M. Logan
A woman being harassed by her male colleague is offered a once-in-a-lifetime deal that can make all her problems disappear. No consequences. No traces. No chance of being found out. All it takes is a 29-second phone call.

CAMPUSLAND by Scott Johnston
A laugh-out-loud first novel about one year of insanity at the Ivy-like Devon University, a blissful bubble of elite students and the adults at their mercy.

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
Tamsyn Muir’s necromantic science fantasy debut combines a solar system of swordplay, cut-throat politics, and lesbian necromancers for the most fun you’ll ever have with a skeleton.

THE GRACE YEAR by Kim Liggett
A speculative YA thriller in the vein of THE HANDMAID’S TALE and LORD OF THE FLIES in which girls are banished at sixteen to the northern forest to brave the wilderness–and each other–in order to rid themselves of their feminine magic before returning purified and ready to marry.

A GOLDEN GRAVE: A Rose Gallagher Mystery by Erin Lindsey
The follow-up to MURDER ON MILLIONAIRES’ ROW, Erin Lindsey’s second historical mystery follows Rose Gallagher as she tracks a killer with shocking abilities through Gilded Age Manhattan.

HUDSON’S KILL by Paddy Hirsch
New York in 1803 is seething with racial tension, as a mysterious provocateur pits the city’s black and Irish gangs against each other. When a young black girl is found stabbed to death, both Justy Flanagan, now a City Marshal, and Kerry O’Toole, now a school teacher, decide separately to go after the killer in this follow-up to THE DEVIL’S HALF MILE.

#ThrillerThursday 1/17/19

Marriages to die for, a Karin Slaughter read-alike, and the grim reaper… Welcome to this week’s #thrillerthurday!

AS LONG AS WE BOTH SHALL LIVE by JoAnn Chaney
Two starred reviews!
You can’t be married to someone without sometimes wanting to kill them… “Chaney alternates past and present, creating an unbearably urgent narrative, and she has a shockingly firm grasp on the barbs and ennui of long-term marriage…. A perfectly paced, shock-studded chiller from an author to watch.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Chaney grabs readers with her opening line: ‘If you try to kill your wife without a plan, you will fail.’… Marriage laid bare, with a riveting account of evasion and pursuit—and a zinger of a coda.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Killing It! February 2019 LibraryReads List Edition

FANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has FIVE February 2019 LibraryReads picks, including the highly coveted #1 spot, and a Hall of Famer!

In the #1 spot:
THE SILENT PATIENT by Alex Michaelides
A February 2019 Indie Next List Pick!
After shooting her husband in the face, Alicia Berenson takes a vow of silence. Theo Faber is a criminal psychotherapist who has waited a long time for the opportunity to work with Alicia. His determination to get her to talk and unravel the mystery of why she shot her husband takes him down a twisting path into his own motivations—a search for the truth that threatens to consume him…. “This edgy, intricately plotted psychological thriller establishes Michaelides as a major player in the field.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

AN ANONYMOUS GIRL Signed Copy Giveaway

Three starred reviews, an Indie Next Pick, and a LibraryReads Pick–Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen’s latest smash hit AN ANONYMOUS GIRL is on sale today!

A psychology study volunteer finds more than she signed up for in this follow-up to THE WIFE BETWEEN US–an electrifying new novel about doubt, passion, and just how much you can trust someone.

We’re giving away a signed copy of AN ANONYMOUS GIRL to ONE lucky librarian!

To enter the giveaway, simply fill out this Google form by Thursday, January 31, and make sure to include your professional/library-issued e-mail address and library’s mailing address. Read on for the fine print—good luck!

AN ANONYMOUS GIRL is available 1/8/19 from St. Martin’s Press and Macmillan Audio.

This sweepstakes is open to librarians in the United States. Entrants must be age 18 or older. No purchase necessary. Entries must be received by Thursday, January 31, 2019 to be eligible. The winner grants Macmillan Library the right to announce their name on Twitter, MacmillanLibrary.com, and any other platform we want to congratulate them on. We will select the potential prize winner at random from among all eligible entries received. If a potential prize winner cannot be reached after three (3) business days, we will select an alternate winner, so check your email.

css.php