Articles tagged "thriller"

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER

A young woman confronts ancient forces in the depths of the bayou in Andy Davidson’s gorgeous, moody, horrifying novel, THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER.

Miranda Crabtree has spent a quiet life ferrying contraband for a mad preacher and his declining band of followers to make ends meet and to protect an old witch and a secret child from harm. But dark forces are at work in the bayou, both human and supernatural, conspiring to disrupt the rhythms of Miranda’s peculiar and precarious life. And when the preacher makes an unthinkable demand, it sets Miranda on a desperate, dangerous path, forcing her to consider what she is willing to sacrifice to keep her loved ones safe.

A great combination of Gothic horror, fantastic world-building, and thrilling pacing, Davidson’s unique voice will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Joe Hill, Justin Cronin, and Jeff VanderMeer. The author’s debut was nominated for the Bram Stoker Award for First Novel, so we’re very excited for him to join our list!

Download an e-galley of THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER from Edelweiss here.

PW’s 2019 Holiday Gift Guide

It’s never too early to get into the holiday spirit. Enter, Publishers Weekly‘s 2019 Holiday Gift Guide, with recommendations for every reader in your life.

Fiction

CITY OF WINDOWS by Robert Pobi
EMPIRE OF LIES by Raymond Khoury
GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
LIGHT FROM OTHER STARS by Erika Swyler
THE VERY BEST OF THE BEST: 35 Years of The Year’s Best Science Fiction by Gardner Dozois
RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston
CLYDE FANS by Seth
UNDER CURRENTS by Nora Roberts

Poetry

DEAF REPUBLIC: Poems by Ilya Kaminsky

Nonfiction

TEXAS FLOOD: The Inside Story of Stevie Ray Vaughan by Alan Paul and Andy Aledort
THE BRITISH ARE COMING: The War for America, Lexington to Princeton, 1775-1777 by Rick Atkinson

Illustrated Books

MOONBOUND: Apollo 11 and the Dream of Spaceflight by Jonathan Fetter-Vorm

YA

HIS HIDEOUS HEART: 13 of Edgar Allan Poe’s Most Unsettling Tales Reimagined, edited by Dahlia Adler
WAYWARD SON by Rainbow Rowell

Thriller Thursday (10/10)

Witchcraft and murder at a boarding school + a WWII military thriller = this week’s Thriller Thursday.

THE FURIES by Katie Lowe

“Murder and witchcraft mix with a heady cocktail of drugs, booze, and revenge in this elegant, pitch-perfect coming-of-age story.”–Kirkus Reviews

THE NUGGET by P. T. Deutermann

“Deutermann, long a master of military thrillers, is at the top of his game here.”–Booklist

Library Journal “Day of Dialog”–Cambridge, Book Buzz (10/3/19)

For anyone who missed our title presentation during Library Journal‘s “Day of Dialog”–Cambridge, here’s the list:

A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD by Therese Anne Fowler | February 4, 2020 | 9781250237279
THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER by Andy Davidson | February 11, 2020 | 9780374538552
THE MIRROR & THE LIGHT by Hilary Mantel | March 10, 2020 | 9780805096606
MISS AUSTEN by Gill Hornby | April 7, 2020 | 9781250252203
HID FROM OUR EYES: A Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne Mystery by Julia Spencer-Fleming | April 7, 2020 | 9780312606855
YOU ARE NOT ALONE by Greer Hendricks + Sarah Pekkanen | March 3, 2020 | 9781250202031
THE GOD GAME by Danny Tobey | January 7, 2020 | 9781250306142
TAKE ME APART by Sara Sligar | April 28, 2020 | 9780374272616
THE OTHER BENNET SISTER by Janice Hadlow | February 18, 2020 | 9781250129413
SAINT X by Alexis Schaitkin | February 18, 2020 | 9781250219596
SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS by Kawai Strong Washburn | March 31, 2020 | 9780374272081
FATHER OF LIONS: One Man’s Remarkable Quest to Save the Mosul Zoo by Louise Callaghan | January 14, 2020 | 9781250248947
GOOD BOY: My Life in Seven Dogs: A Memoir by Jennifer Finney Boylan | April 21, 2020 | 9781250261878
AMERICAN DIRT by Jeanine Cummins | January 21, 2020 | 9781250209764
THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS by Jennifer Rosner | March 3, 2020 | 9781250179760

Forthcoming #FridayReads: SAINT X

Today’s #FridayReads spotlight features Alexis Schaitkin’s psychological drama debut that explores grief, obsession, and the bond between two sisters–welcome to SAINT X.

At the beginning of SAINT X, we meet a family on a luxury vacation in the Caribbean–there’s one 18 year old daughter and one just seven years old. One night the older daughter goes missing, and soon her body is found, with two local men who worked at the resort suspected of the murder, but ultimately released. Flash forward, the younger daughter is now an adult working in publishing in New York City. She gets in a cab one night, and that cab driver is one of the men suspected of her sister’s murder. Bum bum buuuum. She soon spirals into obsession, desperately trying to find out what happened the night of her sister’s death and who her sister really was. This debut will hit both psychological suspense and literary readers, and will definitely be great for book clubs.

Librarian excitement for SAINT X:

Download the SAINT X e-galley from Edelweiss here.

Thriller Thursday (10/03/19)

It’s a Thriller Thursday that’s not to miss with an alternate universe thriller, a Christmas tale with a detective + a puppy, and beers + murders.

EMPIRE OF LIES by Raymond Khoury

“Superior and plausible worldbuilding matches an ingeniously imaginative conceit. This ranks as a classic of the genre.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

DACHSHUND THROUGH THE SNOW: An Andy Carpenter Mystery by David Rosenfelt

“A strong plot, likable characters, and plenty of wry humor keep the pages turning. Dog lovers won’t want to miss this one.”–Publishers Weekly

readmoreremove

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE GOD GAME

Artificial Intelligence invades the real world in Danny Tobey’s fast-paced techno-thriller THE GOD GAME.

THE GOD GAME follows five friends in a high school AV club who are introduced to a secret virtual reality game with real world consequences–anything and everything, from college admissions to business success for their parents. The Game promises to get rid of all your problems…for a price. As what was once a fun game full of promise spirals out of control, they’ll have to find out if leaving the game is even possible. This fits right in the READY PLAYER ONE vein, but less future dystopia and more this could be happening here and now, as it explores virtual reality and artificial intelligence. Thriller readers won’t be able to put the book down, but THE GOD GAME also has definite sci-fi and YA crossover potential.

Librarian excitement for THE GOD GAME

Download the e-galley from NetGalley, or email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with the subject line “THE GOD GAME” to request a download widget.

Adult Books for Teens

These titles may have been published for adults, but Booklist says they’re perfect for teens—and we agree!

DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz
In the vein of ANOTHER BROOKLYN and AMERICANAH, DOMINICANA is a novel about a Dominican teenager’s arranged marriage and immigration to New York City, set in the 1960s and inspired by the author’s mother.

“YAs will be struck by the ways Ana’s coming-of-age is complicated by family needs and immigration realities.” —Booklist, YA Interest

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (9/26/19)

Joe Gunther returns + international terrorism + 19th century New York in shambles = today’s #ThrillerThursday.

BOMBER’S MOON: A Joe Gunther Novel by Archer Mayor

“[F]ans will appreciate the introduction of FARO into a mix of technological tools, which, together with Gunther’s crime-solving prowess, make for an absorbing read.”–Booklist, starred review

BLOOD IN THE WATER by Jack Flynn

“Dirty fighting, clever strategizing, and complicated romances drive this story at breakneck pace.”–Library Journal

HUDSON’S KILL: A Justice Flanagan Thriller by Paddy Hirsch

“Hirsch makes the most of his setting and has a rich vein of potential future plots to mine. Historical mystery fans will be enthralled.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Spring 2020 Catalogs Now Available Online!

Hey, Librarians! Macmillan’s Spring 2020 catalogs are now available on Edelweiss!

Debuts! Mysteries! Romances! Thrillers! Historical fiction! Literary fiction! Nonfiction! Sci-Fi/Fantasy! Everything you could ever want, with all the information you could ever need, right in one place!

Click here for the full list of Macmillan Spring 2020 catalogs available by publisher.

css.php