Articles tagged "Therese Anne Fowler"

Library Journal’s “Sleeper Hits for Fall 2019/Winter 2020” Webinar

Did you miss today’s Library Journal “Sleeper Hits for Fall 2019/Winter 2020” webinar? Here are the titles we talked about!

AMERICAN DIRT by Jeanine Cummins
BIG LIES IN A SMALL TOWN by Diane Chamberlain
CILKA’S JOURNEY by Heather Morris
FATHER OF LIONS by Louise Callaghan
FIND ME by André Aciman
THE GOD GAME by Danny Tobey
GOLDEN IN DEATH by J. D. Robb
A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD by Therese Anne Fowler
JAY-Z: Made in America by Michael Eric Dyson
THE MIRROR & THE LIGHT by Hilary Mantel
MISS AUSTEN by Gill Hornby
NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo
REMEMBRANCE by Rita Woods
SAINT X by Alexis Schaitkin
THE SECRET GUESTS by Benjamin Black
SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS by Kawai Strong Washburn
TAKE ME APART by Sara Sligar
THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS by Jennifer Rosner
YOU ARE NOT ALONE by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

Most Downloaded E-Galleys on Edelweiss

Pile on to that virtual TBR with one of our most downloaded Edelweiss e-galleys!
A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD by Therese Anne Fowler

From the author of A WELL-BEHAVED WOMAN and Z comes a stunning page-turner about two very different families living side by side in an idyllic neighborhood–and the summer that changes their lives forever.

THE GIRL WHO READS ON THE METRO by Christine Féret-Fleury

A modern fairy tale about a French woman whose life is turned upside down when she meets a reclusive bookseller and his young daughter.

HOW TO LOVE A DUKE IN TEN DAYS by Kerrigan Byrne

The first book in a new and stunning historical romance series by the USA Today bestselling author of the Victorian Rebels series.

readmoreremove

August Librarian Preview

Earlier today we hosted our first ever Librarian Preview! In case you missed it, here are the highlights:

Adult

FIND ME | André Aciman | October 29, 2019 | 9780374155018
A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD | Therese Anne Fowler | February 4, 2020 | 9781250237279
THE GRAMMARIANS | Cathleen Schine | September 3, 2019 | 9780374280116
THE MIRROR & THE LIGHT | Hilary Mantel | March 10, 2020 | 9780805096606
A HUNDRED SUNS | Karin Tanabe | April 7, 2020 | 9781250231475
CILKA’S JOURNEY | Heather Morris | October 1, 2019 | 9781250265708
THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS | Jennifer Rosner | March 3, 2020 | 9781250179760
THE GOD GAME | Danny Tobey | January 7, 2020 | 9781250306142
DEAD ASTRONAUTS | Jeff VanderMeer | December 3, 2019 | 9780374276805
THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER | Andy Davidson | February 11, 2020 | 9780374538552
A HERO BORN | Jin Yong | September 17, 2019 | 9781250220608
NINTH HOUSE | Leigh Bardugo | October 8, 2019 | 9781250313072
HOUSE OF EARTH AND BLOOD | Sarah J. Maas | March 3, 2020 | 9781635574043
YOU ARE NOT ALONE | Greer Hendricks + Sarah Pekkanen | March 3, 2020 | 9781250202031
HID FROM OUR EYES | Julia Spencer-Fleming | April 7, 2020 | 9780312606855
WHAT ROSE FORGOT | Nevada Barr | September 17, 2019 | 9781250207135
THE LONG CALL | Ann Cleeves | September 3, 2019 | 9781250204448
TAKE ME APART | Sara Sligar | April 28, 2020 | 9780374272616
SAINT X | Alexis Schaitkin | February 18, 2020 | 9781250219596
SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS | Kawai Strong Washburn | March 31, 2020 | 9780374272081
OONA OUT OF ORDER | Margarita Montimore | February 25, 2020 | 9781250236609
THE OTHER BENNET SISTER | Janice Hadlow | February 18, 2020 | 9781250129413
DOMINICANA | Angie Cruz | September 3, 2019 | 9781250205933
AMERICAN DIRT | Jeanine Cummins | January 21, 2020 | 9781250209764
PECULIAR QUESTIONS AND PRACTICAL ANSWERS | Barry Blitt | October 22, 2019 | 9781250203625
MOLLY | Colin Butcher | October 8, 2019 | 9781250204776
CONVERSATIONS WITH RBG | Jeffrey Rosen | November 5, 2019 | 9781250235169
UNFOLLOW | Megan Phelps-Roper | October 8, 2019 | 9780374275839
DIARY OF A DRAG QUEEN | Crystal Rasmussen with Tom Rasmussen | April 14, 2020 | 9780374538576
HERE WE ARE | Aarti Namdev Shahani | October 1, 2019 | 9781250204752

YA

WAYWARD SON | Rainbow Rowell | September 24, 2019 | 9781250146076
THE NIGHT COUNTRY | Melissa Albert | January 7, 2020 | 9781250246073
DIAMOND CITY | Francesca Flores | January 28, 2020 | 9781250220448
HIS HIDEOUS HEART | Edited by Dahlia Adler | September 10, 2019 | 9781250302779
JANE ANONYMOUS | Laurie Faria Stolarz | January 7, 2020 | 9781250303707
CRACKED UP TO BE | Courtney Summers | February 4, 2020 | 9781250256973
FOUL IS FAIR | Hannah Capin | February 4, 2020 | 9781250239549
WHERE THE WORLD ENDS | Geraldine McCaughrean | December 3, 2019 | 9781250225498
THE GRACE YEAR | Kim Liggett | October 8, 2019 | 9781250145444
TWEET CUTE | Emma Lord | January 21, 2020 | 9781250237323
ANNA K. | Jenny Lee | March 3, 2020 | 9781250236432
ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED | Sophie Gonzales | March 3, 2020 | 9781250315892

Click here for a copy of our handout, and here to see which titles Tor was excited about.

Maximum Shelf: A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Therese Anne Fowler’s exploration of class, race, and heartrending star-crossed love, A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD.

For fans of Celeste Ng and Jodi Picoult comes a stunning page-turner about two very different families living side by side in an idyllic neighborhood–and the summer that changes their lives forever.

In Oak Knoll, a verdant, tight-knit North Carolina neighborhood, professor of forestry and ecology Valerie Alston-Holt is raising her bright and talented biracial son. Xavier is headed to college in the fall, and after years of single parenting, Valerie is facing the prospect of an empty nest. All is well until the Whitmans move in next door–an apparently traditional family with new money, ambition, and a secretly troubled teenaged daughter.

Thanks to his thriving local business, Brad Whitman is something of a celebrity around town, and he’s made a small fortune on his customer service and charm, while his wife, Julia, escaped her trailer park upbringing for the security of marriage and homemaking. Their new house is more than she ever imagined for herself, and who wouldn’t want to live in Oak Knoll?

readmoreremove

Macmillan Library @ BookExpo: ALMA Book Buzz

Last week, we presented our favorite forthcoming titles during the Adult Library Marketers Association’s [ALMA] Book Buzz, and for anyone who missed out, here’s the goods:

AMERICAN DIRT | Jeanine Cummins | 1/21/20 | 9781250209764 | Flatiron Books
CILKA’S JOURNEY | Heather Morris | 10/1/19 | 9781250265708 | St. Martin’s Press
DEAL WITH THE DEVIL | Kit Rocha | 5/12/20 | 9781250256294 | Tor Books
FIND ME | André Aciman | 10/29/19 | 9780374155018 | Farrar, Straus & Giroux
GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD, A | Therese Anne Fowler | 2/4/20 | 9781250237279 | St. Martin’s Press
ME | Elton John | 10/15/19 | 9781250147608 | Henry Holt & Co.
NINTH HOUSE | Leigh Bardugo | 10/1/19| 9781250313072 | Flatiron Books
SAINT X | Alexis Schaitkin | 2/4/20 | 9781250219596 | Celadon Books

Get Your E-Galleys!

Hello giant e-galley drop! We’ve got the goods, so make sure you’re whitelisted and dive into some super exciting F19 and W20 titles.

A BETTER MAN: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel by Louise Penny

Chief Inspector Gamache. ‘Nuff said.

A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD by Therese Anne Fowler

The author of Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald and A WELL-BEHAVED WOMAN explores the effects of class, race, and heartrending star-crossed love in a story that’s as provocative as it is powerful.

HOW TO LOVE A DUKE IN TEN DAYS by Kerrigan Byrne

Kerrigan Byrne returns with a new series–romance, dukes, blackmail, secrets, and a proposal of convenience.

readmoreremove

Macmillan Library @ ALA Annual 2019 (Booth #1511)

Come stroll the National Mall with us at ALA Annual 2019 in Washington, DC! We’ll have tons of events, authors, and ARC giveaways in our booth (#1511), so check out our schedule below and RSVP ASAP!

Friday, June 21

In-booth signing with Mariah Fredericks (DEATH OF A NEW AMERICAN)
5:30 PM | Booth 1511

Saturday, June 22

“Don’t Be Afraid of Horror” panel with Rachel Eve Moulton (TINFOIL BUTTERFLY)
1:00-1:50 PM | Pop Top Stage
Add this event to your schedule!

United for Libraries “It’s a Mystery to Me” panel with Donna Andrews (TERNS OF ENDEARMENT)
2:30-3:30 PM | WCC Room 207B
Add this event to your schedule!

Macmillan Happy Hour Book Buzz with SURPRISE guest
Join the Macmillan Library Marketing team (and a surprise guest!) as we highlight our favorite forthcoming titles from Macmillan’s adult publishers and YA pals Wednesday Books and Flatiron! Beer and wine will be served. #MLHAPPYHOUR
4:00-5:00 PM | WCC Room 207A
Add this event to your schedule!

readmoreremove

Our 2019 YALSA & RUSA Award Winners!

Congratulations to all of the amazing Macmillan authors who won awards or were selected for YALSA and RUSA’s various reading lists this year!

2019 Reading List (The Reading List is an annual best-of list comprised of eight different fiction genres for adult readers selected by RUSA’s Reading List Council.)

Adrenaline Short List
JAR OF HEARTS by Jennifer Hillier
Fantasy Short List
THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert
Historical Fiction Short List
A WELL BEHAVED WOMAN: A Novel of the Vanderbilts by Therese Anne Fowler
Mystery Short List
CRIMSON LAKE by Candice Fox
Science Fiction Winner
THE CALCULATING STARS: A Lady Astronaut Novel by Mary Robinette Kowal
Women’s Fiction Shortlist
HOW TO WALK AWAY by Katherine Center
MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson

2019 Over the Rainbow List (Honors adult books with significant LGBTQ content)

HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES: Stories by Carmen Maria Machado
SO LUCKY by Nicola Griffith

2019 Rainbow Book List (Honors books with significant gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, or queer/questioning content, and which are aimed at youth, birth through age 18.)

HOW I RESIST: Activism and Hope for a New Generation by Maureen Johnson

Alex Awards (the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences)

THE BLACK GOD’S DRUMS by P. Djèlí Clarkm

Odyssey Award (This annual award is given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults)

SADIE written by Courtney Summers, narrated by Rebecca Soler, Fred Berman, Dan Bittner, Gabra Zackman, & more, and produced by Macmillan Audio from Wednesday Books

Sneak Peek: December 2018 Indie Next List

The December 2018 Indie Next List includes six Macmillan titles! 

A WELL-BEHAVED WOMAN: A Novel of the Vanderbilts by Therese Anne Fowler 

“Watching Fowler’s heroine vanquish the gatekeepers and minions who stand in her way is nothing short of mesmerizing.”Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Though the novel’s lavish sweep and gorgeous details evoke a vanished world, Fowler’s exploration of the way powerful women are simultaneously devalued and rewarded resonates powerfully.”     Publishers Weekly, starred review

KINGDOM OF THE BLIND: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel by Louise Penny 
LibraryReads Hall of Fame Author

“Few mystery writers intertwine the personal lives of their characters with the crimes being investigated more skillfully than Penny does, and she is at her best here, as several key players face turning points in their lives, suggesting that if the past can strangle the present, it can also help clear the way for the future.”Booklist, starred review

“Well-known characters return and new faces add richness to a narrative that will keep readers intrigued until the last page.”Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

October 2018 Bestsellers & Recent Releases (10/26/18)

Here are our top titles for October 2018:

Bestsellers:

THE DEAD RINGER by M.C. Beaton

THE DICHOTOMY OF LEADERSHIP: Balancing the Challenges of Extreme Ownership to Lead and Win  by Jocko Willink and Leif Babin

THE DREAM DAUGHTER by Diane Chamberlain (October LibraryReads pick!)

THE FLAME: Poems Notebooks Lyrics Drawings by Leonard Cohen

FULL DISCLOSURE by Stormy Daniels

IMPOSSIBLE OWLS: Essays by Brian Phillips

THE RAVENMASTER: My Life with the Ravens at the Tower of London by Christopher Skaife

readmoreremove

css.php