Articles tagged "theater"

Day’s YA – AFTERCARE INSTRUCTIONS

TGIF, YA pals!

We’ve made it to Friday and I don’t know about you, but I’m planning on spending my weekend working through my towering TBR pile (and inevitably adding to it at the Brooklyn Book Festival). If this title isn’t on your list, it should be!

AFTERCARE INSTRUCTIONS by Bonnie Pipkin
Available in hardcover and trade paperback from Flatiron Books
Ages 12 to 18

Seventeen-year-old Genesis (Gen) is having a very tough time. Her father died of a drug overdose, her mother can’t deal, and Gen’s boyfriend just abandoned her at Planned Parenthood. As Gen recovers from her procedure and attempts to heal (physically and emotionally), she realizes that the chaos surrounding her may be the path to her growth.

From the bucolic New Jersey suburbia to the gritty underground NYC theater scene, we follow Gen’s highs and lows (mostly lows). Gen’s past / flashbacks are uniquely captured throughout the book as a four-act play featuring stage directions and lighting cues.

Gen’s emotions are raw and real. The reader feels her deep angst, her profound grief, and ultimately, her hope, right along with her. And Gen is not alone in her authenticity: Delilah’s frustration as she witnesses her younger cousin’s downward spiral; Rose’s sincerity as she stands by her best friend; Seth’s kindness as he introduces Gen to an unexpected world that leads her through recovery. All of Pipkin’s secondary characters are as fully developed as our heroine. readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (2/11/14 Edition)

Hip hip hooray, it's time for another #BookBday! Today we celebrate:

QUESADILLAS by Juan Pablo Villalobos
Mexican novelist Villalobos's darkly comic story about a poor Mexican family in which two teenage brothers set off to find their missing twin siblings–who were potentially abducted by aliens–is "a riotous tall tale” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) and "frequently laugh-out-loud funny." (Shelf Awareness)

GIRL ON THE GOLDEN COIN by Marci Jefferson
This solid debut novel about the beautiful and captivating Royalist exile Frances Stuart, who must walk a fine line between pleasing kings and protecting her family's secret is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory. "Jefferson's intoxicating first novel superbly draws readers into the mischief and maneuverings, loyalties and treacheries, and lust and hostility of powerful 17th century kings and scheming court sycophants." – Publishers Weekly, starred review

ACT ONE by Moss Hart
Moss Hart’s ACT ONE is not only one of the most celebrated American theater books of the twentieth century, according to legendary actress Julie Andrews it's also “The ultimate Broadway memoir by the master who raised the bar for us all.” The book is coming out just in time for Lincoln Centre Theatre's stage adaptation of “Act One,” written by Tony and Pulitzer-Prize Winning writer/director James Lapine. 

readmoreremove

css.php