Articles tagged "THE TREES"

Teen Talk Tuesday (8/16/16 Edition)

Lovely YA Librarians, we can’t wait to hear what you’ve been reading later today during Early Word YA Galley Chat (starts at 4pm EST, hashtag: #ewgcya), but first let us tell you about this month’s new teen and YA-OK adult titles:

An August 2016 Indie Next pick, a BEA 2016 “Shout ‘n Share” pick, and one of Library Journal‘s “Summer Promise — Debut Novels” selections! A hilarious and powerful first novel about a disabled boy who finds love and hope in a Russian hospital. “An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE TREES by Ali Shaw
A terrifying and wildly imaginative novel that follows four survivors on a journey after the natural–and the supernatural–has reclaimed and transformed their world. “Shaw has written an exciting apocalyptic novel that blends in elements of magic realism. Gripping and occasionally brutal, this survival story highlights both the best and worst in humanity.” — Library Journal, starred review

“Barry is one of American literature’s great chroniclers of childhood” (Publishers Weekly, starred review), and her most famous character from the long-running and landmark comic strip Ernie Pook’s Comeek, eight-year-old Marlys Mullen, shines in all her freckled and pig-tailed groovy glory in her very own collection of strips. “Beyond nostalgia, her deceptively simple art, in all its spareness, breaks your heart and makes you laugh, often at the same time.”
Booklist, starred review

ANNE OF GREEN BAGELS by Jon Buller & Susan Schade
On her first day at her new school, Anne is saddled with the nickname Anne of Green Bagels, thanks to the health-food sandwich her grandmother has made her for lunch. Can things get any worse? Find out in this middle grade hybrid comic/chapter book perfect for fans of Judy Blume. “…breezy entertainment with a suitably happy ending.” — Publishers Weekly

Now in one volume, master of horror R.L. Stine delivers two bone-chilling stories of teens in danger in the small town of Shadyside, where danger and violence looms on every darkened street corner.

Also, did you see those cute WAR DOGS?! #woof readmoreremove

ALA Midwinter 2016 “Three’s Company” Book Buzz Titles

Here are LOTS of reading recommendations courtesy of Anne’s “Three’s Company” Book Buzz at ALA Midwinter 2016:

TITLE TBA* by Liane Moriarty | 9781250069795 | On Sale: July 26
MOST WANTED* by Lisa Scottoline | 9781250010131 | On Sale: April 12
THE 14TH COLONY* by Steve Berry | 9781250056245 | On Sale: April 5
ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN* by Wendy Walker | 9781250097910 | On Sale: July 12
LUST & WONDER* by Augusten Burroughs | 9780312342036 | On Sale: March 29
REDEMPTION ROAD* by John Hart | 9780312380366 | On Sale: May 3
IF I FORGET YOU* by Thomas Christopher Greene | 9781250072788 | On Sale: June 14
THE THINGS WE KEEP* by Sally Hepworth | 9781250051905 | On Sale: Jan. 19
THE LAST PAINTING OF SARA DE VOS* by Dominic Smith | 9780374106683 | On Sale: April 5
THE HEART by Maylis De Kerangal | 9780374240905 | On Sale: Feb. 9
PEACEKEEPING by Mischa Berlinski | 9780374230449 | On Sale: March 8
HYSTOPIA by David Means | 9780865479135 | On Sale: April 19
THE TREES by Ali Shaw | 9781632862839 | On Sale: August 2
THE FORGETTING TIME* by Sharon Guskin | 9781250076427 | On Sale: Feb. 2
SHELTER by Jung Yun | 9781250075611 | On Sale: March 15
THE CHARM BRACELET* by Viola Shipman | 9781250071323 | On Sale: March 22
ALL THE UGLY AND WONDERFUL THINGS by Bryn Greenwood | 9781250074133 | On Sale: Aug. 9
THE BRICKS THAT BUILT THE HOUSES by Kate Tempest | 9781620409015 | On Sale: May 3
THE BEAUTY QUEEN OF JERUSALEM by Sarit Yishai-Levi | 9781250078162 | On Sale: April 5
AN UNRESTORED WOMAN by Shobha Rao | 9781250073822 | On Sale: March 15
THE NORTH WATER by Ian McGuire | 9781627795944 | On Sale: March 15
THE LIFE OF THE WORLD TO COME by Dan Cluchey | 9781250077165 | On Sale: June 28
THE YID by Paul Goldberg | 9781250079039 | On Sale: Feb. 2
DESERT BOYS by Christopher McCormick | 9781250075505 | On Sale: May 3
EVERY ANXIOUS WAVE by Mo Daviau | 9781250067494 | On Sale: Feb. 9
IF I WAS YOUR GIRL* by Meredith Russo | 9781250078407 | On Sale: May 3
EVERY HEART A DOORWAY by Seanan McGuire | 9780765385505 | On Sale: April 5
CONSEQUENCE* by Eric Fair | 9781627795135 | On Sale: April 5
ONEIDA by Ellen Wayland-Smith | 9781250043085 | On Sale: May 3
THE TRUE TAILS OF BAKER & TAYLOR by Jan Louch & Lisa Rogak | 9781250081070 | On Sale: May 3
THE DEFENSE* by Steve Cavanaugh | 9781250082251 | On Sale: May 3
COLLECTING THE DEAD* by Spencer Kope | 9781250072870 | On Sale: June 28
CITY OF THE LOST by Kelley Armstrong | 9781250092144 | On Sale: May 3
MISSION HILL by Pamela Wechsler | 9781250075697 | On Sale: May 3
DESIGN FOR DYING by Renee Patrick | 9780765381842 | On Sale: April 19
A BED OF SCORPIONS by Judith Flanders | 9781250056467 | On Sale: March 1
HARD LIGHT by Elizabeth Hand | 9781250030382 | On Sale: April 19
KEEP YOU CLOSE by Lucie Whitehouse | 9781632863201 | On Sale: May 3
THE CRACKED SPINE by Paige Shelton | 9781250057488 | On Sale: March 29
TERROR IN TAFFETA by Marla Cooper | 9781250072566 | On Sale: March 22
MURDER AT THE 42ND STREET LIBRARY by Con Lehane | 9781250009968 | On Sale: April 26

Check out the handy-dandy Edelweiss collection of all titles mentioned and download and share the handout.
Click here to download a recording of the event.

*available in audio CD