Articles tagged "THE SHADOW DISTRICT"

For Your Consideration: May 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the May 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due March 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

SHELTER IN PLACE by Nora Roberts
One of Publishers Weekly’s Spring 2018 Literary Fiction picks!Roberts’ latest polished novel delivers all the literary touchstones her fans have come to expect, including high-stakes suspense, a generous dollop of romance, a thoughtful exploration of the strong bonds of family and friendship that women create for themselves, and, of course, some HGTV fixer-upper moments. As a significant bonus, the book’s chilling, brutal opening scenes should be required reading for any politician waffling on the issue of gun control.” Booklist

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

DEATH DOESN’T BARGAIN by Sherrilyn Kenyon
“It’s back to the ‘Deadmen’s Cross’ series as the perennial No. 1 New York Times best-selling Kenyon continues an epic new fantasy adventure. When demons punch their way out of supposedly eternal imprisonment, Hellchaser Cameron Jack must rescue Kalder Dupree from vengeful demon Vine, never mind that Kalder is not exactly Mr. Nice Guy.”Library Journal, pre-pub alert

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

MOTHERHOOD by Sheila Heti
One of Publishers Weekly‘s Spring 2018 Literary Fiction picks and a most anticipated book of 2018, Heti’s daring new novel explores whether or not to have children. “…this lively, exhilaratingly smart, and deliberately, appropriately frustrating affair asks difficult questions about women’s responsibilities and desires, and society’s expectations. ” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Motherhood.”*

SONG OF BLOOD & STONE by L. Penelope
A Library Journal Spring 2018 Editors’ Pick! The incredible first book in the Earthsinger series—a treacherous, thrilling, epic historical fantasy drawing on Native American and African mythologies about an outcast drawn into a war between two powerful rulers. “The tale is infused with optimism but never cloying, and it culminates in a well-earned and satisfying ending, leaving readers impatient for the next installment of the series. ” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

HOW TO WALK AWAY by Katherine Center
Two starred reviews! “A story about survival that is heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (11/9/17 Edition)

Go armchair traveling to Iceland and Virginia’s wine country with this week’s #ThrillerThursday mysteries:

THE SHADOW DISTRICT by Arnaldur Indridason
A November 2017 LibraryReads pick with two starred reviews! “The award-winning author of the ‘Inspector Erlendur’ series (INTO OBLIVION) continues his modus operandi of simultaneously covering a current and cold case in this new series set during the war years. The inspectors, past and present, are formidable characters, and the blend of police procedural with Icelandic folklore is intriguing. VERDICT While not as dark as lndridason’s previous works, this is a welcome addition from a master of the genre. ” — Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

PRAIRIE FIRES and THE SHADOW DISTRICT are November 2017 LibraryReads Picks!

FANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has two books on the November 2017 LibraryReads list!

The #9 pick is PRAIRIE FIRES: The American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder by Caroline Fraser
“The sesquicentennial observance of the birth of the author of the celebrated Little House books (65 million copies sold in 45 languages) has been the catalyst for the publication of a spate of books, now including this magisterial biography, which surely must be called definitive. Richly documented…. But it is its marriage of biography and history—the latter providing such a rich context for the life—that is one of the great strengths of this indispensable book, an unforgettable American story.” — Booklist, starred review

Available from Metropolitan Books on November 21.

Rounding out the list at #10 is THE SHADOW DISTRICT by Arnaldur Indridason
Two starred reviews! “The award-winning author of the ‘Inspector Erlendur’ series (INTO OBLIVION) continues his modus operandi of simultaneously covering a current and cold case in this new series set during the war years. The inspectors, past and present, are formidable characters, and the blend of police procedural with Icelandic folklore is intriguing. VERDICT While not as dark as lndridason’s previous works, this is a welcome addition from a master of the genre. ” — Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

Stars for Eugenides & Indridason!

Does your library have copies of these new books from these two bestselling authors? (You should!)

FRESH COMPLAINT by Jeffrey Eugenides
“Pulitzer Prize–winning Eugenides’ first story collection, and his first book since THE MARRIAGE PLOT, is gifted with the strong voices and luminous prose his novels are known for. Readers will enjoy lamenting that this complete and utterly human collection must, after all, end.” Booklist, starred review

“These stories skillfully explore the often elusive quest for happiness and self-knowledge, along with the many complexities that attend relationships with family, friends, and lovers. Essential for all fans of literary fiction.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE SHADOW DISTRICT by Arnaldur Indridason
“Indridason provides a great window into Icelandic culture as he explores his recurring themes of greed and abuse of power.” Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

LJ Genre Spotlight: Mystery

Library Journal‘s recent genre spotlight included five Macmillan mysteries:

From the pen of Emmy Award–winning Matt Goldman, whose credits include Seinfeld, comes GONE TO DUST (Forge, Aug.), a twisty and entertaining Minneapolis-set mystery that features a Jewish private investigator.

Other crime-solving protagonists of color returning this season include African American female homicide detective Lou Norton in Rachel Howzell Hall’s CITY OF SAVIORS (Forge, Aug.).

East Berlin in the 1970s provides the backdrop for David Young’s debut thriller, STASI CHILD (Minotaur, Aug.), in which an East German police officer investigates the death of a teenage girl whose body is found at the foot of the Berlin Wall—strangely, it appears the victim was trying to escape from West Berlin.

A serial killer stalks perestroika Moscow, circa 1985, in Jack Grimwood’s MOSKVA (Thomas Dunne, Jul.).

November marks best-selling Icelandic author Arnaldur Indridason’s new series launch, THE SHADOW DISTRICT (Minotaur).

css.php