Articles tagged "The Notebook"

Happy #BookBday (4/4/17 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to five new works of fiction waiting to be snapped up by your patrons:

MARLENA by Julie Buntin
An April 2017 Indie Next pick, a Barnes & Noble Spring 2017 Discover pick and one of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Spring 2017 Debuts with FOUR starred reviews! An electric debut novel about love, addiction, and loss; the story of two girls and the feral year that will cost one her life, and define the other’s for decades. “Buntin’s prose is emotional and immediate, and the interior lives she draws of young women and obsessive best friends are Ferrante-esque.” — Booklist, starred review

A LITTLE MORE HUMAN by Fiona Maazel
An April 2017 Indie Next pick! Meet Phil Snyder: new father, nursing assistant at a cutting-edge biotech facility on Staten Island, and all-around decent guy. Phil also has a special talent he doesn’t want to publicize—he’s a mind reader and moonlights as Brainstorm, a costumed superhero. But when Phil wakes up from a blackout drunk and is confronted with photos that seem to show him assaulting an unknown woman, even superpowers won’t help him. “Maazel takes a dark, inventive look at the cost of pushing humans to their limits.” — Booklist

THE SISTERS OF BLUE MOUNTAIN by Karen Katchur
Perfect for fans of Lisa Scottoline and Heather Gudenkauf, a suspenseful novel in which a small-town murder forces two sisters to face the secrets and lies that have torn them apart. “Katchur weaves a suspenseful tale of family secrets and what it means to keep quiet. For readers who relish complex family mysteries.” — Library Journal

CASTLE OF WATER by Dane Huckelbridge
Castaway meets The Notebook in this beautifully written adventure/romance set on a deserted island from first-time novelist Dane Huckelbridge. “…a diverting if sentimental story with just enough detours from the obvious path to keep it from predictability.” — Booklist
readmoreremove

Happy Belated #BookBday (1/20/16)

We’re a day late to wish these new releases happy #BookBday, but it’s only to keep the party going!

THE THINGS WE KEEP by Sally Hepworth
A January 2016 LibraryReads pick and a February 2016 Indie Next pick! Librarians across the country are gushing over this novel reminiscent of Nicholas Sparks’s THE NOTEBOOK and Lisa Genova’s STILL ALICE about a 38-year-old woman with early onset Alzheimer’s who falls in love with another care home resident. “Sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up.” — Library Journal, starred review

WHAT BELONGS TO YOU by Garth Greenwell
A Kirkus Reviews’ Most Anticipated Book of 2016! Two stars for this literary debut about an American expat living in Bulgaria and the young gay hustler his life intersects with. “This is a project of rare discernment and beauty, and it is not to be missed. A luminous, searing exploration of desire, alienation, and the powerful tattoo of the past.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review
readmoreremove

THE THINGS WE KEEP & ORNAMENTS OF DEATH are January 2016 LibraryReads Picks

libraryreads logo squareFANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has two books on the January 2016 LibraryReads list!

Coming in at #7 is THE THINGS WE KEEP by Sally Hepworth. Librarians across the country are gushing over this novel reminiscent of Nicholas Sparks’s THE NOTEBOOK and Lisa Genova’s STILL ALICE about a 38-year-old woman with early onset Alzheimer’s who falls in love with another care home resident. “Sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up.” — Library Journal, starred review


https://twitter.com/MarianLiberryan/status/651495050132762625

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: December 2015 AND January 2016 LibraryReads Titles

The 2015 Favorite of Favorites voting is happening now, but it’s never too early to download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the combined December 2015/January 2016* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due November 20! Click here for the full list of 2016 deadlines.

THE THINGS WE KEEP by Sally Hepworth
Librarians are gushing over this novel reminiscent of Nicholas Sparks’s THE NOTEBOOK and Lisa Genova’s STILL ALICE about a 38-year-old woman with early onset Alzheimer’s who falls in love with another care home resident. “Reading this gave me the same feeling as when I first read Nicholas Sparks’s THE NOTEBOOK.” — Robin Beerbower, EarlyWord
“Loved THE THINGS WE KEEP about early onset dementia… Realistically imagined.” — Jennifer Winberry, Hunterdon County Library, Flemington NJ

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy from Edelweiss or request a print galley

ORPHAN X by Gregg Hurwitz
Two starred reviews! Evan Smoak, a.k.a The Nowhere Man, is a legendary figure with skills, resources, and a personal mission to help those with nowhere else to turn. But now, someone with similar skills and training is on Evan’s tail with one mission: find and eliminate him. “Knowing that this is the start of a series reduces tension only a sliver in this hi-tech, nonstop thriller. Hurwitz, known for this kind of adrenaline-producing fiction, adds enough humanity to the action to make this is a standout, and readers should get in at the start. As if a big print run and marketing plans weren’t enough, screen rights have already been sold, with Hurwitz doing the screenplay and Bradley Cooper as producer and possible star.” — Booklist, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy from Edelweiss or request a print galley

ALL THE BIRDS IN THE SKY by Charlie Jane Anders
From the editor in chief of io9.com, a stunning novel about the end of the world—and the beginning of our future. “Clever and wonderfully weird… Fans of genre fiction will be delighted by Patricia and Laurence’s story, and Anders’s smart, matter-of-fact prose will appeal to a mainstream audience as well.” — Publishers Weekly

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy from Edelweiss

RIOT MOST UNCOUTH
by Daniel Friedman

Thriller Award–finalist Friedman (DON’T EVER LOOK BACK) succeeds in making his unique blend of humor, crime, and an unusual protagonist work in the first of a new series starring the famous Romantic poet [Lord Byron]. Besides adroitly placing the major plot twists, Friedman manages to make one of the most obnoxious leads in recent memory oddly endearing and even sympathetic.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy from Edelweiss readmoreremove

THE THINGS WE KEEP Giveaway

D Things We Keep 2*Sniffle, honk* Excuse us while we wipe away the ugly-cry mess on our faces after reading THE THINGS WE KEEP by Sally Hepworth.

We love—and I mean, LOVE—this book. Even Baby Daniel loves this book (mostly how it tastes). We’ll let EarlyWord’s Robin Beerbower tell you why:

“If you…have leftover tissues, put them to good use by reading Sally Hepworth’s THE THINGS WE KEEP. Marika Zemke from Commerce Township Public Library stayed up all night to finish this moving story of a 38-year-old woman with early onset Alzheimer’s who falls in love with another care home resident. Marika said ‘What follows is a story about all types of love…romantic love, mother/daughter love, compassionate love and more.’ I’ll add reading this gave me the same feeling as when I first read Nicholas Sparks’ THE NOTEBOOK.

We want you to love THE THINGS WE KEEP, too, so we’re giving away ARCs to adult librarians currently employed in the U.S.!*

To request a copy, please email library@macmillanusa.com from your library-issued email account with the subject line “The Things We Keep” and make sure to include your library’s mailing address.

Now grab those tissues and get reading! Remember, if you love it, it’s never too early to nominate it for LibraryReads!
readmoreremove

css.php