Articles tagged "The Masque of a Murderer"

2016 Macavity Award Nominees

Happy #ThrillerThursday, lovely librarians! First, some awards news: we have 6 nominees for the 2016 Macavity Awards!

Best Mystery
LITTLE BLACK LIES by Sharon Bolton

Best First Mystery
THE UNQUIET DEAD by Ausma Zehanat Khan

Best Critical/Biographical
A IS FOR ARSENIC: The Poisons of Agatha Christie by Kathryn Harkup
THE LOST DETECTIVE: Becoming Dashiell Hammett by Nathan Ward

Sue Feder Historical Mystery Award
THE MASQUE OF A MURDERER by Susanna Calkins
TOM & LUCKY (and George & Cokey Flo) by C. Joseph Greaves

Now for some new mysteries hitting shelves this month:

WIDOWMAKER by Paul Doiron
A June 2016 LibraryReads pick! In this riveting new novel from Edgar finalist Doiron, Game Warden Mike Bowditch is on the trail of a ruthless vigilante amid the snow-covered mountains of Maine. “The suspense is strong and the action is well rendered. WIDOWMAKER will go down well with armchair outdoorsfolk, especially fans of C. J. Box and Craig Johnson.” — Booklist

PRESSURE by Brian Keane
A free diver is called in to investigate a seismological event in the Indian Ocean when events take a deadly turn and she and her crew must fight the monsters in the depths and those ashore. “Don’t just suggest to horror readers—although Keene does include a few fun insider references for genre fans. This is a perfect beach read for fans of Michael Crichton, Mira Grant, or Preston and Child—if you dare to take this book anywhere near an open body of water.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

2015 Agatha Award Nominees

Malice Domestic logo#ThrillerThursday BONUS: Macmillan has five nominees for the 2015 Agatha Awards!

Best Contemporary Novel:
THE NATURE OF THE BEAST by Louise Penny (Minotaur Books)
WHAT YOU SEE by Hank Phillippi Ryan (Forge Books)

Best Historical Novel:
THE MASQUE OF A MURDERER by Susanna Calkins (Minotaur Books)

Best First Novel:
DEATH OF A DISHONORABLE GENTLEMAN by Tessa Arlen (Minotaur Books)

Best Nonfiction:
A IS FOR ARSENIC: The Poisons of Agatha Christie by Kathryn Harkup (Bloomsbury USA)

The winners will be announced at the 2015 Agatha Awards banquet during the Malice Domestic conference on April 30, 2016.

Congratulations to all nominees!

2016 Edgar Nominees & Starred Mysteries

edgarsThe 2016 Edgar Award nominations were announced earlier this week and Macmillan has 4 contenders:

Best Novel
NIGHT LIFE by David C. Taylor

Best Critical/Biographical
THE LOST DETECTIVE: Becoming Dashiell Hammett by Nathan Ward

Mary Higgins Clark Award
A WOMAN UNKNOWN by Frances Brody
THE MASQUE OF A MURDERER by Susanna Calkins

The winners will be announced on April 28.

Check out these mysteries with multiple starred reviews (you never know, they could be on a future awards list)!

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (4/23/15 Edition)

Whether you’re looking to read true crime, a psychological thriller, or settle in with your favorite old (or new) detective, we’ve got the perfect #ThrillerThursday mystery for you:

ONE OF US by Åsne Seierstad
The nonfiction horror story told in ONE OF US moves slowly, inexorably and with tremendous authority. It’s said that exact detail is uniquely helpful when it comes to mending after terrible events. If it is true, as Stephen Jay Gould contended, that ‘nothing matches the holiness and fascination of accurate and intricate detail,’ then Ms. Seierstad has delivered a holy volume indeed.” — The New York Times

REYKJAVIK NIGHTS by Arnaldur Indridason
In this “riveting” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) prequel set in late-1960s Reykjavík, Indridason plumbs the backstory of his series lead, somber Insp. Erlendur Sveinsson. “The Icelandic author’s latest novel, REYKJAVIK NIGHTS nicely illustrates the qualities that make his books so deeply pleasurable.” — New York Times Book Review

A JUNE OF ORDINARY MURDERS by Conor Brady
This debut Victorian-era mystery finds Dublin detective sergeant Joe Swallow on the trail of a series of crimes that paints a much bigger picture. “Fans of mysteries that capture the flavor of the past will hope that Swallow has a long literary life.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE MASQUE OF A MURDERER by Susanna Calkins
“Third in the Lucy Campion historical-mystery series, this absorbing puzzler touches on the religious, social, and political changes in Restoration London as experienced by a wide cast of characters. Calkins’ tantalizing clues and rich historical details depicting everyday life and class differences draw readers into the seventeenth century, led by the piquant and elusive Lucy, whose heart is split between two suitors, her job precarious, and whose dauntless curiosity never flags.” — Booklist readmoreremove

css.php