Articles tagged "THE MARK AND THE VOID"

Kirkus Best Books of 2015 – Fiction

First, Publishers Weekly, then Library Journal, and now Kirkus Reviews announced their Best of 2015 Fiction lists which include 20 Macmillan titles:

Best Fiction
THE SELLOUT by Paul Beatty
A MANUAL FOR CLEANING WOMEN by Lucia Berlin
PURITY by Jonathan Franzen
LAST RAGGED BREATH by Julia Keller
THE DARK FOREST by Cixin Liu
CRUCIFIXION CREEK by Barry Maitland
THE NATURE OF THE BEAST by Louise Penny
I REFUSE by Per Petterson
THE BEAUTIFUL BUREAUCRAT by Helen Phillips
THE LOST CHILD by Caryl Phillips
THE WATCHMAKER OF FILIGREE STREET by Natasha Pulley
THE BLONDES by Emily Schultz
CHASING THE PHOENIX by Michael Swanwick
THE WAY THINGS WERE by Aatish Taseer
THE BIG GREEN TENT by Ludmila Ulitskaya
THE AFFINITIES by Robert Charles Wilson

Best Mysteries and Thrillers
LAST RAGGED BREATH by Julia Keller
CRUCIFIXION CREEK by Barry Maitland
THE NATURE OF THE BEAST by Louise Penny
THE BLONDES by Emily Schultz readmoreremove

EW Fall Books Preview

Entertainment Weekly gave us a sneak preview of this year’s “dazzlingly rich” fall season in a recent issue guest edited by Andy Cohen (hey there, MOST TALKATIVE!). While only their list of Blockbuster Novels is available online, Anne’s got the scoop on all the other Macmillan picks:

Blockbuster Novels

PURITY by Jonathan Franzen
In Franzen’s long-awaited doorstop of a novel, a girl named Purity embarks on a journey through South America to find herself.

THE MARK AND THE VOID by Paul Murray
The financial crisis is drenched in humor in this tale about a banker whose life becomes more interesting when a downtrodden author starts fictionalizing it.

Tell All Memoirs & Bios

HOME IS BURNING by Dan Marshall
When he was 25, Marshall’s dad was diagnosed with ALS and his mom with cancer. So he quit his job to return home and care for them. Sounds depressing, but it’s actually scathing, funny, profane, and deeply affectionate.

Women Who Rock and Write

BOYS IN THE TREES by Carly Simon
Simon’s memoir covers her Greenwich Village folk roots, her songwriting stardom, and her marriage to James Taylor. readmoreremove

Librarians “Shout ‘n Share” Their Favorite BEA 2015 Picks!

Last Friday we rounded out a terrific BEA 2015 with the annual Shout ‘n Share panel. Here’s what your librarian pals found on the show floor to rave about:

Columbus Metropolitan Library’s Robin Nesbitt kicked it off with some genre love, highlighting THE TRAITOR BARU CORMORANT by Seth Dickinson (“It’s like THE HUNDRED THOUSAND KINGDOMS meets GUNS, GERMS, AND STEEL!”) and Sarah Ward’s debut mystery, IN BITTER CHILL, which she said is perfect for fans of Louise Penny, Sharon Bolton, and Elizabeth George.

New York Public Library/Bookops’s Charlene Rue was captivated by Damon Tweedy’s medical memoir, BLACK MAN IN A WHITE COAT, which was also a BEA Editor’s Buzz pick.

Massachusetts Library System’s Kristi Chadwick loved Elsa Hart’s historical mystery debut about an exiled librarian, JADE DRAGON MOUNTAIN. “The language, the prose is so beautiful it takes you into the story and keeps you going page after page.” She also gave two enthusiastic thumbs up for Jenny Lawson’s humorous memoir of mental illness, FURIOUSLY HAPPY, saying, “she knows how to hit the heart and make sure you know you’re not alone if you’re struggling with this.”

Baltimore County Public Library’s Jamie Watson tweeted that if she had more time she would have called out Maggie Mitchell’s PRETTY IS.

Library Journal‘s Wilda Williams shared that reading THE KILLING LESSONS by Saul Black “will make you want to lock all the doors in your house,” and she revealed that Saul Black is a pseudonym for bestselling author Glen Duncan, who wrote THE LAST WEREWOLF. She also recommended THE MARK AND THE VOID by Paul Murray, noting that “it has the same humor, warmth and pathos as SKIPPY DIES.”

From the floor, Michael Santangelo of Brooklyn Public Library gave a shout out to THE BURGLAR’S GUIDE TO THE CITY by Geoff Manaugh.

Curious about other buzzworthy books? Check out Publishers Weekly‘s recap of the AAP Librarian’s Book Buzz, Part 2 which includes a photo of Anne and our other library marketing pals!
css.php