Articles tagged "THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY"

Happy #BookBday (8/7/18 Edition)

We’ve got a BIG #BookBday today (so, extra cake, right??):

MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson
An August 2018 LibraryReads & Indie Next pick and one of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts! For readers of THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY, an epistolary debut novel about a farmer’s wife who begins writing letters to a museum curator and, as he writes back, gradually allows herself to find happiness and love again. “This is the kind of book you clutch to your heart when you finish and sigh with contentment.” — Kelly Moore, Adult Services Librarian, Carrollton Public Library, TX

RUST & STARDUST by T. Greenwood
An August 2018 LibraryReads pick with two starred reviews! Based on the experiences of real-life kidnapping victim Sally Horner and her captor, this heart-pounding novel by award-winning author T. Greenwood at last gives a voice to Sally herself. “This fictionalization of the 1948 kidnapping said to have inspired Nabokov’s LOLITA lures readers in with a disturbing hook: the dangers of innocence. This is a beautifully written, unnerving tragedy woven from equal measures of hope and menace.” — Booklist, starred review

THE THIRD HOTEL by Laura van den Berg
An August 2018 Indie Next pick! A magical, disconcerting novel set in Havana about a woman reckoning with the death of her husband. “Toying with horror tropes and conventions, and displaying shades of authors such as Julio Cortázar, van den Berg turns Clare’s journey into a dreamlike exploration of grief. This is a potent novel about life, death, and the afterlife.” — Publishers Weekly

ARAB OF THE FUTURE 3: The Circumcision Years: A Childhood in the Middle East, 1985-1987 by Riad Sattouf
Two starred reviews! “An excellent addition to a series that for years to come is sure to engage readers of history as seen through a child’s eyes. ” — Library Journal, starred review

SMOTHERED by Autumn Chiklis
Also available in trade paperback
A humorous debut novel about what happens when entering the “real world” means moving back in with your mother, inspired by actress and celebrity Autumn Chiklis’ real life. “Hilarious… Perfect for recent grads, mother–daughter duos, and those looking for a fun read this summer. All the heart eye emojis!” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Jones, Greenwood, and Youngson are August 2018 LibraryReads Picks!

FANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has THREE books on the August 2018 LibraryReads list!

Debuting at #6 is THE OTHER WOMAN by Sandie Jones
Emily chose Adam, but she didn’t choose his mother Pammie. There’s nothing a mother wouldn’t do for her son, and now Emily is about to find out just how far Pammie will go to get what she wants: Emily gone forever. “Pammie is every young woman’s worst nightmare: a mean mother-in-law (on steroids) in this addictive debut thriller. Readers’ pulses will race as they anticipate how she might strike next and be completely knocked off balance by the shocking ending. ” — Library Journal, starred review

Available from St. Martin’s Press and Macmillan Audio on August 21.

The #7 pick is RUST & STARDUST by T. Greenwood
Two starred reviews! Based on the experiences of real-life kidnapping victim Sally Horner and her captor, this heart-pounding novel by award-winning author T. Greenwood at last gives a voice to Sally herself. “This fictionalization of the 1948 kidnapping said to have inspired Nabokov’s LOLITA lures readers in with a disturbing hook: the dangers of innocence. This is a beautifully written, unnerving tragedy woven from equal measures of hope and menace.” — Booklist, starred review

Available from St. Martin’s Press on August 7. readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: August 2018 Indie Next List

Five Macmillan titles made the August 2018 Indie Next List!

MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson
For readers of THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY, an epistolary debut novel about a farmer’s wife who begins writing letters to a museum curator and, as he writes back, gradually allows herself to find happiness and love again. “This is the kind of book you clutch to your heart when you finish and sigh with contentment.” — Kelly Moore, Adult Services Librarian, Carrollton Public Library, TX

THE FAMILY TABOR by Cherise Wolas
From the acclaimed author of THE RESURRECTION OF JOAN ASHBY, a new novel set over the course of a single weekend, as five members of a family confront the lies upon which their lives are built. “Read ASHBY if you haven’t, then grab this.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

BABY TEETH by Zoje Stage
Also available in audio
A July 2018 LibraryReads pick and one of PW’s Best Books of Summer 2018 / Most Anticipated Debuts with THREE starred reviews! “WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN meets GONE GIRL meets THE OMEN. Interested? That might be the best way to describe Zoje Stage’s highly anticipated debut novel, BABY TEETHa twisty, delirious read that will constantly question your sympathies for the two characters as their bond continues to crumble.” Entertainment Weekly readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: August 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the August 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due June 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

FEARED by Lisa Scottoline
Also available in audio
In the next book in the mega-best-selling Rosato & DiNunzio thriller series, the all-female law firm is hit with a sex discrimination suit. “Colorful characters, breezy writing, and a sharp wit keep the tone light, while the ever-increasing stakes propel the story toward a convenient but otherwise gratifying denouement.” — Publishers Weekly

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Feared.”*

TOUCAN KEEP A SECRET by Donna Andrews
In the 23rd entry in the award-winning Meg Langslow series, she goes to check on a toucan the reverend is fostering, but finds the bird missing and an elderly parishioner murdered in a columbarium among the ashes of overturned urns. “This long-running cozy series shows no signs of losing its freshness.” — Publishers Weekly

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE MIDDLEMAN by Olen Steinhauer
Also available in audio
Two starred reviews! “Steinhauer has written an unnerving and timely thriller with incredible pivots. From a perspective on activist/terrorist civilian organizations to an examination of Big Brother conspiracy plots, there’s something here for everyone to grip—with white knuckles.” — Library Journal, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE OTHER WOMAN by Sandie Jones
Also available in audio
Emily chose Adam, but she didn’t choose his mother Pammie. There’s nothing a mother wouldn’t do for her son, and now Emily is about to find out just how far Pammie will go to get what she wants: Emily gone forever. “…wildly entertaining, with a smashing twist.” — Kirkus Reviews

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss readmoreremove

Maximum Shelf: MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM

“I write because I want to make sense of the world, and while words may not work the same for everyone, I do believe that using language to express what we feel and think and how we respond to the experiences we have can be enormously helpful.” — Anne Youngson

Today’s Maximum Shelf Awareness features Anne Youngson’s MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM. Written as a series of letters between an English farmer and a museum curator in Denmark brought together by a shared fascination with the Tollund Man, this epistolary debut novel is perfect for readers of THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY.

“Beautifully written and deeply moving, MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM is a superb—and tenderhearted—debut that will interest anyone who’s ever questioned how they became the person they are today.” — Shelf Awareness

See the full summary, review and interview with Anne Youngson on Shelf-Awareness.com. readmoreremove

css.php