Articles tagged "TEN INNINGS AT WRIGLEY"

Nonfiction Round-Up (5/8/19)

This week’s Non-Fic picks cover our favorite topics: Baseball! Our complicated emotions! DOGS! Surviving college!

TEN INNINGS AT WRIGLEY: The Wildest Ballgame Ever, with Baseball on the Brink by Kevin Cook

Two starred reviews!

“Every year there is a new crop of baseball books of varying quality, with one or two of them rising above the pack. TEN INNINGS AT WRIGLEY will be among the 2019 releases that will be read for years.”–Booklist, starred review

“This is an excellent look at a momentous individual game, and the long view of the ways baseball has changed during the last 30 years is equally rewarding.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Starred Review Round-Up (4/26/19)

Calling all collection development librarians! These books all received multiple starred reviews!

THE RIGHT SORT OF MAN by Allison Montclair

“The Right Sort Marriage Bureau’s debut is exactly the right sort to have readers hoping for a second date.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Both leads are complex, well-developed characters, whose penchant for humorous byplay never comes at the expense of the plot, which resolves itself in a clever fair play reveal. Fans of Maisie Dobbs and Bess Crawford will be delighted.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

NATIVE COUNTRY OF THE HEART: A Memoir by Cherríe Moraga

“A sympathetic portrait of Mexican-American feminism (both in mother and daughter) delivered in a poignant, beautifully written way.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Moraga’s captivating and perceptive memoir successfully conveys her belief that ‘we are as much of a place as we are of a people.'”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

css.php