Articles tagged "Temple Mathews"

Booklist Spring 2017 YA webinar

Today Anne “sweet teeth” Spieth highlighted her favorite teen titles during Booklist’s Spring 2017 YA Announcements webinar (twitter hashtag #SpringYA17). For those who weren’t able to listen in, here’s what she discussed:

2017 YALSA Award Winners
AMERICAN GIRLS by Alison Umminger | Out: June 20, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250133823 | Paperback | Girls & Women | Ages 13 to 18 (also available in hardcover)
IF I WAS YOUR GIRL by Meredith Russo | Available now in hardcover (ISBN: 9781250078407) | LGBT | Ages 13 to 18
SUMMER DAYS & SUMMER NIGHTS: Twelve Love Stories, edited by Stephanie Perkins | Out: June 13, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250079138 | Paperback | Romance/Contemporary | Ages 13 to 18 (also available in hardcover)
WHEN THE MOON WAS OURS by Anna-Marie McLemore | Available now in hardcover (ISBN: 9781250058669) | Romance/Contemporary | Ages 12 to 18
YOU KNOW ME WELL by David Levithan & Nina LaCour | Out: June 6, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250098658 | Paperback | Romance/LGBT | Ages 13 to 19 (also available in hardcover)
IN REAL LIFE by Jessica Love | Available now in hardcover (ISBN: 9781250064714) | Romance/Contemporary | Ages 14 to 18
THIS IS NOT A TEST by Courtney Summers | Available now in paperback (ISBN: 9780312656744) | Social Themes/Violence | Ages 13 to 18
COMPLICIT by Stephanie Kuehn | Available now in paperback (ISBN: 9781250044600) | Social Themes/Depression | Ages 14 to 18 (also available in hardcover)
MOONCOP by Tom Gauld | Available now in hardcover (ISBN: 9781770462540) | Comics & Graphic Novels / Literary
SHIRLEY JACKSON’S “THE LOTTERY”: The Authorized Graphic Adaptation by Miles Hyman | Available now in hardcover (ISBN: 9780809066490) & paperback (ISBN: 9780809066506) | Comics & Graphic Novels / Literary

Winter 2017
WONDERFUL FEELS LIKE THIS by Sara Lövestam | Out: March 7, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250095237 | Hardcover | Performing Arts/Music | Ages 12 to 18
A CROWN OF WISHES by Roshani Chokshi | Out: March 28, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250085498 | Hardcover | Fantasy/Epic | Ages 13 to 18
THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN by Roshani Chokshi | Out: March 28, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250100207 | Paperback | Fantasy/Epic | Ages 13 to 19 (also available in hardcover)

Spring/Summer 2017 from Flatiron Books YA
DEAR READER by Mary O’Connell | Out: May 9, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250077080 | Hardcover | Books & Libraries | Ages 12 to 18
SONGS ABOUT A GIRL by Chris Russell | Out: May 30, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250095169 | Hardcover | Performing Arts/Music | Ages 12 to 18
AFTERCARE INSTRUCTIONS by Bonnie Pipkin | Out: June 27, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250114846 | Hardcover | Social Themes/Pregnancy | Ages 12 to 18

Spring/Summer 2017 from Griffin Teen
I AM A SECRET SERVICE AGENT: My Life Spent Protecting the President by Dan Emmett | Out: June 6, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250130303 | Hardcover | Biography & Autobiography/Political | Ages 12 to 18
THE INEVITABLE COLLISION OF BIRDIE & BASH by Candace Ganger | Out: July 25, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250116222 | Hardcover | Romance/Contemporary | Ages 12 to 18
BAD GIRL GONE by Temple Mathews | On Sale: August 8, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250058812 | Hardcover | Ghost Stories | Ages 12 to 18

GUINNESS WORLD RECORDS: AMAZING ANIMALS by Guinness World Records | Out: August 29, 2017 | ISBN: 9781910561621 | Paperback | Nonfiction/Animals | Ages 6 to 10

Introducing Wednesday Books
I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU by Gaby Dunn & Allison Raskin | Out: September 19, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250129321 | Hardcover | Girls & Women | Ages 14 to 19
LOVE FROM THE FUNNY FARM by Jenny Fran Davis | Out: October 3, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250119766 | Hardcover | Coming of Age | Ages 14 to 19

Fall 2017 Preview
GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS by Melissa Bashardoust | Out: September 5, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250077738 | Hardcover | Fairy Tales & Folklore | Ages 12 and Up
13 MINUTES by Sarah Pinborough | Out: October 3, 2017 | ISBN: 9781250123855 | Hardcover | Thrillers & Suspense | Ages 17 and Up

***
Want even more titles? Check out the full Books for Teens 2017 lineup, get whitelisted on Edelweiss to read e-galleys of these great YA books, and download or request a copy of our double-sided poster!
You can also download the full list of slides, the Excel grid of titles, and the ppt of the Macmillan presentation here. View the the archived recording of the event here.

Come one, come all to Books for Teens 2017!

BFT2017forweb
Lucky for you, we’ve created not one, but TWO posters of our favorite teen reads for 2017! Download and print your copies (11×17 tabloid size) of BFT poster 1 & BFT poster 2, or email us for a physical copy (don’t forget to include your mailing address).

Then, make sure that you’re pre-approved on Edelweiss to download all of our available e-galleys, including many of the titles mentioned below. Click here to find out how to be whitelisted.

You can also view our Edelweiss collection of Books for Teens 2017 titles here.

Now on to the books!

 

THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert
Available January 30, 2018
Ages 12 to 19

Welcome to The Hazel Wood, Melissa Albert’s fierce, captivating, contemporary fantasy about a seventeen-year-old girl who must venture into the world behind a pitch-dark, cult-classic, collection of fairy tales to save her mother…

 

 

 

 

 

 

I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU by Gaby Dunn & Allison Raskin
Available September 5, 2017
Ages 14 to 19

Ava and Gen are two best friends heading off to their first semesters of college on opposite sides of the country. From first loves to weird roommates, heartbreak, self-discovery, coming out and mental health, the two document every moment in a series of texts and emails to each other. But as each changes and grows into her new life, will their friendship be able to survive the distance?

 

 

 

 

CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber
Ages 13 to 18

A 2018 Best Fiction for Young Adults nominee!

“[A] magnificent debut novel… Intriguing characters, an imaginative setting, and evocative writing combine to create a spellbinding tale of love, loss, sacrifice, and hope.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review  

 

 

 

FREEKS by Amanda Hocking
Ages 12 to 18

“This fun paranormal romance, wrapped up in a circus-tent setting, is recommended where the genre and the author’s books are popular. Hand to fans of Twilight and MTV’s Teen Wolf.” — School Library Journal

 

THE RADIUS OF US by Marie Marquardt
Ages 13 to 19

“While the teens’ relationship is tested when details from Phoenix’s past coincide with Gretchen’s case, a host of diverse characters lend a hand and offer varying perspectives. [An] …eye-opening story. ” — Kirkus Reviews

WINTERSONG by S. Jae-Jones
Ages 12 to 18

Set at the turn of the 19th century, this richly imagined debut coming-of-age story spins a spellbinding tale perfect for fans of Labyrinth and THE DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST as a young woman searches for her sister who was kidnapped by the Goblin King. “There are plenty of nods to Labyrinth, but atmospherically, this first novel is most similar to another debut: Robin McKinley’s BEAUTY. …this is an exquisitely and lyrically crafted tale of longing, sibling loyalty, and the importance of women in a time when women were so often overlooked. Eerie, unsettling, and, above all, full of music.” — Booklist, starred review

 

WONDERFUL FEELS LIKE THIS by Sara Lövestam
Ages 12 to 18

Two starred reviews and a 2018 Best Fiction for Young Adults nominee! THE ELEGANCE OF THE HEDGEHOG meets THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER in this novel about a bullied teenager and an old man in a retirement home who bond over their mutual love of jazz music. “Sensitive and deeply moving: outstanding.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

 

A CROWN OF WISHES by Roshani Chokshi
Ages 13 to 18

In this second beautiful, lush fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Chokshi, Gauri, the princess of Bharata, must team up with her enemy kingdom’s prince Vikram to win the Tournament of Wishes—a competition held in a mythical city where the Lord of Wealth promises a wish to the victor. “Careful plotting, multiple viewpoints, high-stakes action, and a slow-burn relationship make this heady fantasy completely engrossing. A first pick for YA collections.” — School Library Journal, starred review

THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN by Roshani Chokshi (ages 13-19) is now available in trade paperback.

DREAM FOREVER by Kit Alloway (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Ages 13 to 18

As the veil to the Dream becomes dangerously thin, Josh must stop it from tearing to save the world, in the conclusion to The Dream Walker Trilogy.

DREAMWORLD: Two Books in One: DREAMFIRE & DREAMFEVER by Kit Alloway (ages 13-18) is now available in trade paperback.

GIVE ME A K-I-L-L by R.L. Stine (Fear Street series #6)
Ages 14 to 18
Heather Wyatt just transferred from her old school, where she was a cheerleading star, and is eager to join the squad at Shadyside High. There’s only one other girl who stands in her way—rich, spoiled Devra Dalby, who is also trying out for the one open slot. The competition is anything but friendly—and it ends in murder.

FEAR STREET SUPER THRILLERS: NIGHTMARES by R.L. Stine (ages 12-18) is now available in trade paperback.

DEAR READER by Mary O’Connell
Ages 12 to 18
Gilmore Girls with magical realism! In this original, poignant modern-day take on Wuthering Heights, a high school senior searches for her teacher and meets a boy who may just be Heathcliff come to life. “The use of Wuthering Heights intensifies the impact of Flannery and Miss Sweeney’s corresponding journeys; even readers who haven’t read the classic will find significance in the parallels.” — Publishers Weekly

CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell (ages 13-19) is now available in trade paperback.

SONGS ABOUT A GIRL by Chris Russell
Ages 12 to 18
Charlie Bloom is happiest behind her camera, taking pictures of her former classmate Olly Samson’s new band, Fire&Lights. Soon, they’re the hottest boy band in the country and Charlie becomes caught between Olly and Fire&Lights’ gorgeous but damaged frontman, Gabriel West. As the boys’ rivalry threatens to tear the band apart, Charlie stumbles on a secret about the band—and herself—hidden within the lyrics of their new #1 single. “Confronting the fickleness of fame and the damaging effects of rumors and harassment, Russell’s debut is highly relevant in an age of social media furors and the constant churn of news.” — Publishers Weekly

readmoreremove

css.php