Articles tagged "Susan Strecker"

Thriller Thursday (3/3/16 Edition)

An incredible true crime story, a psychological thriller and two new entries in bestselling series are on the docket this #ThrillerThursday:

MURDER OVER A GIRL: Justice, Gender, Junior High by Ken Corbett
A psychologist’s gripping, troubling, and moving exploration of the brutal murder of a possibly transgender middle school student by an eighth grade classmate. “Profound and disturbing, this heartbreaking testimony of our culture’s worst fissures suggests that understanding is the only way to heal.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

A BED OF SCORPIONS by Judith Flanders
In the sequel to the February 2015 LibraryReads pick A MURDER OF MAGPIES, book editor/amateur sleuth Samantha Clair must help her old friend find out who murdered his business partner in his art gallery. “New adult readers will enjoy the Bridget Jones–style wry humor as well as Sam’s chaotic romantic life; mainstream-mystery fans will appreciate the smart plotting and clever writing. Fans of Lorna Barrett and Jen McKinlay should also be shown this series.”
Booklist

A TIME OF FOG AND FIRE by Rhys Bowen
Molly Murphy Sullivan rushes to San Francisco after learning that her husband, deep undercover on a secret assignment, is in grave danger. “Molly shines once again in this sixteenth entry in an appealing series that foretells changes ahead for the Sullivan family.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (10/7/14 Edition)

BdayCat

Books + Birthdays + Cake + Kitties = Happy #BookBday (and happy Talia & Anne)!
Today we celebrate:

LILA by Marilynne Robinson
Pulitzer Prize-winning author Robinson has created a “tour de force” (Booklist, starred review) with the final volume in her Gilead trilogy. It’s a National Book Award nominee, an October Indie Next pick, and has two starred reviews and a major media line-up.

THE SILENT SISTER by Diane Chamberlain
Riley McPherson had always been told that her sister committed suicide, but when she cleans out her deceased father’s house, she discovers that Lisa is alive and hiding under an assumed identity. “A story of redemption, paranoia, and the power of shared bonds, THE SILENT SISTER is a powerful and thrilling novel. This tautly paced and emotionally driven novel will engross Chamberlain’s many fans as well as those who read Sandra Brown and Carla Buckley.” — Booklist

NIGHT BLINDNESS by Susan Strecker
Another October Indie Next pick and a BEA Shout ‘n Share selection is Strecker’s debut novel about a woman who returns home to take care of her ill father but is haunted by a horrible accident from her past. “Debut novelist Strecker presents an impressive story filled with moving characters and the raw emotions they go through.” — Library Journal

 

Sneak Peek: Oct. 2014 Indie Next list

The October 2014 Indie Next list was recently announced and it includes some of our favorite Macmillan titles!

LILA by Marilynne Robinson
Pulitzer Prize-winning author “Robinson has created a tour de force” (Booklist, starred review) with the final volume in her Gilead trilogy. It’s been nominated for the 2014 National Book Award in fiction, has two starred reviews, and is one of Kirkus Reviews‘ Most Anticipated Fall Novels!

WOLF IN WHITE VAN by John Darnielle
Another 2014 National Book Award fiction nominee is indie rocker John Darnielle’s debut novel WOLF IN WHITE VAN, in which a disfigured teen gamer is pulled back through time as he tries to help others. “Beautifully written psychological fiction for sophisticated readers, with not much else like it out there.”
Library Journal
readmoreremove

Friday Free Day!

TGIF! What’s better than Friday? FREE STUFF! Here are some recent giveaways for Macmillan goodness:

Picador is giving away 20 copies of HOW TO BE A GOOD WIFE by Emma Chapman now through Sunday, August 17.
Click here to enter to win!

St. Martin’s Press is giving away 100 advance reader copies of THE SILENT SISTER by Diane Chamberlain now through Monday, August 18.
Click here to enter to win!

St. Martin’s Press is giving away 100 advance reader copies of A QUILT FOR CHRISTMAS by Sandra Dallas now through Thursday, August 21.
Click here to enter to win!

St. Martin’s Press is giving away 100 advance reader copies of NIGHT BLINDNESS by Susan Strecker now through Tuesday, August 26.
Click here to enter to win!

Don’t forget, we’re giving away three bundles of LibraryReads picks now through Monday, Sept. 1 to celebrate the one year anniversary of the program! Click here for details.

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: October LibraryReads titles

Download, read, and nominate our favorite titles now for the October 2014* LibraryReads list!
*Nominations are due September 1

LILA by Marilynne Robinson
Pulitzer Prize-winning author “Robinson has created a tour de force” (Booklist, starred review) with the final volume in her Gilead trilogy, LILA. It’s already received two starred reviews and has a major media line-up.

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss

 

FULL MEASURE by T. Jefferson Parker
Parker, a three-time Edgar Award winner, delivers an exceptional, insightful, and contemporary stand-alone literary novel. Fans of the author’s crime novels and Tim O’Brien’s war novels will enjoy this story, which highlights the impact of war on a community. In addition, Steinbeck fans will appreciate the description of the setting and intricate plot.” Library Journal, starred review

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss

 

MURDER AT THE BRIGHTWELL by Ashley Weaver
We love this Golden Age–style debut from librarian Weaver featuring a spunky heiress, an eccentric group of British aristocrats on holiday at an exquisite seaside resort, and a MURDER. Bryant Library’s Janet Schneider loved it too: “Great beach reading. Sort of a Dorothy L Sayers/Downton Abbey combo.”

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss

 

THE BOY WHO DREW MONSTERS by Keith Donohue
If you were at Library Journal‘s Day of Dialog you heard Picador’s publisher Stephen Morrison talk about this creepy horror novel about a young boy whose drawings of monsters take on a life of their own. Dominique Jenkins of Penguin Library Marketing is OBSESSED: “Have you guys read THE BOY WHO DREW MONSTERS? Holy WOW!”

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss

 

THE SILENT SISTER by Diane Chamberlain
A longtime best-selling author who got even wider attention with last year’s NECESSARY LIES, Chamberlain returns with the story of a sister’s shocking discovery. Riley McPherson had always been told that her sister committed suicide, but when she cleans out her deceased father’s house, she discovers that Lisa is alive and hiding under an assumed identity. What dark events led to Riley’s having ‘a silent sister’?” Library Journal, pre-pub alert

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss

readmoreremove

Librarians “Shout ‘n Share” Their Favorite BEA Picks!

Happy Monday, friends!  For those of you who couldn't make it to BEA (sniff), here's what your librarian pals found on the show floor to  shout ‘n share about:

King County Library System's Alene Moroni loved Kate Forsyth's historical novel BITTER GREENS.

New York Public Library/Bookops's Charlene Rue was captivated by Eula Biss' ON IMMUNITY: An Inoculation.

Douglas "Books for Dudes" Lord was really excited about Kim Zupan's gritty Western mystery THE PLOUGHMEN.

Library Journal's Henrietta Verma picked Ursula Archer's geocaching murder mystery FIVE, and said that it satisfied her love of both mysteries and maps.
She also recommended John Scalzi's latest sci-fi gem, LOCK IN

Baltimore County Public Library's Jamie Watson called out Susan Strecker's NIGHT BLINDNESS and said it's the perfect book for Nicholas Sparks fans. 

Alene and Jamie both applauded Kate Funk's BEST CAT BOOK EVER! Cat + Costume = What's not to love?

readmoreremove

css.php