Articles tagged "Susan Bishop Crispell"

Happy #BookBday (2/6/18 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday!

THE GREAT ALONE by Kristin Hannah
Also available in audio
The #1 February 2018 LibraryReads pick, and a February 2018 Indie Next pick with two starred reviews! From the author of the worldwide phenomenon, THE NIGHTINGALE, comes a story of a family in crisis and a young girl struggling to survive at the edge of the world, in America’s last true frontier: Alaska. “Hannah’s follow-up to her series of blockbuster bestsellers will thrill her fans with its combination of Greek tragedy, Romeo and Juliet-like coming-of-age story, and domestic potboiler. She re-creates in magical detail the lives of Alaska’s homesteaders in both of the state’s seasons (they really only have two) and is just as specific and authentic in her depiction of the spiritual wounds of post-Vietnam America. A tour de force.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

MOTHERS OF SPARTA by Dawn Davies
A February 2018 Indie Next & Winter/Spring 2018 Indies Introduce pick! Discovered by Michael Ondaatje, Davies’ dazzling literary memoir has shades of Mary Karr, Anne Lamott, and Jenny Lawson as she examines motherhood and what it’s like to be a woman trying to carve a place for herself in the world, no matter how unyielding the rock can be. “Davies’ first book is magnetic attraction in memoir form: it will pull readers in with stories that are funny, insightful, and bordering on farce while also pushing them away with darker pieces about loss, mental illness, and an immense amount of physical pain. Readers will laugh and cry, probably at the same time.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Macmillan Winter 2018 Book Club Sampler

Discover your library’s next book club pick with our Winter 2018 Book Club Sampler!

Available for immediate download on NetGalley, this sampler features excerpts from the following discussion-worthy titles publishing in Winter 2018:

THE MITFORD MURDERS by Jessica Fellowes
THE RECIPE BOX by Viola Shipman
THE ITALIAN PARTY by Christina Lynch
DREAMING IN CHOCOLATE by Susan Bishop Crispell
THE FAMILY NEXT DOOR by Sally Hepworth
WHERE THE WILD CHERRIES GROW by Laura Madeleine
HOTEL ON SHADOW LAKE by Daniela Tully
THE LOST SEASON OF LOVE AND SNOW by Jennifer Laam
RAISING THE DAD by Tom Matthews
THE PARKING LOT ATTENDANT by Nafkote Tamirat
GODS OF HOWL MOUNTAIN by Taylor Brown
THE LAMBS: My Father, a Farm, and the Gift of a Flock of Sheep by Carole George
POINTS NORTH by Howard Frank Mosher
THE COINCIDENCE MAKERS by Yoav Blum
DIVING FOR STARFISH: The Jeweler, the Actress, the Heiress, and One of the World’s Most Alluring Pieces of Jewelry by Cherie Burns
THE SUN DOES SHINE: How I Found Life and Freedom on Death Row by Anthony Ray Hinton
LET’S NO ONE GET HURT by Jon Pineda
GIRLS BURN BRIGHTER by Shobha Rao
ELOQUENT RAGE: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower by Brittney Cooper
WHEN THEY CALL YOU A TERRORIST: A Black Lives Matter Memoir by Patrisse Khan-Cullors & asha bandele

Happy Reading!

Happy #BookBday (9/6/16 Edition)

It’s official — we’re in big book season! Happy #BookBday to:

HERE I AM by Jonathan Safran Foer
One of Publishers Weekly’s Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2016 & Buzzfeed’s 21 Incredible New Books You Need To Read This Fall with THREE starred reviews! Foer’s “intensely imagined and richly rewarding”* new novel focuses on the unraveling of a Jewish-American family in Washington DC over a 4-week span, during which time an earthquake sets off a Pan-Israel invasion. “Foer fuses these complex strands with his never-wavering hand. That he can provide such a redemptive denouement, at once poignant, inspirational, and compassionate, is the mark of a thrillingly gifted writer.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE STORY OF A BRIEF MARRIAGE by Anuk Arudpragasam
One of Buzzfeed’s 21 Incredible New Books You Need To Read This Fall! A magnificent and unflinching debut novel set over the course of one day near the end of the Sri Lankan Civil War, as a newly-married couple explores the possibility of intimacy in a place of profound trauma. “Dinesh finds beauty in the worst of situations, which contributes to making this debut deeply moving and hopeful.”
Publishers Weekly

A BOY MADE OF BLOCKS by Keith Stuart
In the tradition of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls comes a warm and tender novel in which a father and his autistic son connect over the game of Minecraft. “Stuart writes with powerful, plainspoken emotion, beautifully illuminating not only the challenges that come with an autistic child, but also the unexpected moments of grace. This is a luminous portrait of the world and the relationship that a father and son build together.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: September 2016 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the September 2016* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due July 20! Click here for the full list of 2016 deadlines.

HERE I AM by Jonathan Safran Foer
THREE starred reviews! Foer’s “intensely imagined and richly rewarding”* new novel focuses on the unraveling of a Jewish-American family in Washington DC over a 4-week span, during which time an earthquake sets off a Pan-Israel invasion. “Foer fuses these complex strands with his never-wavering hand. That he can provide such a redemptive denouement, at once poignant, inspirational, and compassionate, is the mark of a thrillingly gifted writer.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

DAISY IN CHAINS by Sharon Bolton
The new standalone novel from the LibraryReads author of LITTLE BLACK LIES!
A criminal defense attorney with a reputation for getting the wrongly convicted exonerated is drawn into the machinations of a serial killer who claims innocence. “Bolton has created a page-turner of a story with a surprise ending.” — Elizabeth Kanouse, Denville Public Library, Denville, NJ on LITTLE BLACK LIES

To request a print ARC, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Daisy in Chains” and include your library’s mailing address.*

CHILDREN OF THE NEW WORLD by Alexander Weinstein
This debut collection of speculative short fiction for our tech-savvy era is an ABA Summer/Fall 2016 Indies Introduce selection. “[Weinstein’s] stories look like SF but read like literary fiction. Calling all fans of Margaret Atwood and Emily St. John Mandel.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE SECRETS OF WISHTIDE by Kate Saunders
Combining the strengths of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple and M. C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin, Laetitia Rodd towers over both of these genteel sleuths in wit, tact, and ingenuity. The book is a sheer delight, with its deliciously intricate puzzle and well-drawn characters whom readers are sure to continue to enjoy in volumes to come.” Booklist, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Secrets of Wishtide.”*

KAROLINA’S TWINS by Ronald H. Balson
A saga inspired by true events of a Holocaust survivor’s quest to fulfill a promise, return to Poland and find two sisters lost during World War II. “Readers who crave more books like Balsam’s ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS and Kristin Hannah’s best-selling THE NIGHTINGALE will be enthralled by KAROLINA’S TWINS.”
Booklist, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE WHITE MIRROR by Elsa Hart
“Hart seamlessly melds the complex politics of 18th-century Asia with a superior fair-play plot in her second whodunit featuring Chinese librarian Li Du.” Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Hart, in a twist on the classic British county manor mystery, adds her characteristic elegantly crafted atmosphere and keen eye for character and writes with an ease and an assurance that makes it feel like this is her twenty-second book, not just her second.” — Gregg Winsor, Johnson County Public Library, Overland Park KS

To request a print ARC, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “White Mirror” and include your library’s mailing address.*

MAD ENCHANTMENT: Claude Monet and the Painting of the Water Lilies by Ross King
A BEA 2016 “Shout ‘n Share” pick with THREE starred reviews! “Best-selling King consummately meshes biography with art history as he turns the creation of one resounding masterpiece into a portal onto the artist’s life. Never before has the full drama and significance of Monet’s magnificent Water Lilies been conveyed with such knowledge and perception, empathy and wonder.” — Booklist, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Mad Enchantment.”*
readmoreremove

St. Martin’s First – Fall 2016 E-Sampler

We love fresh, new voices and the St. Martin’s Press Fall 2016 debut chapter sampler is full of them!

The free sampler is a Read it Now! title on NetGalley and there’s a corresponding Edelweiss collection to go along with it.

Titles include:

THE CONFECTIONER’S TALE by Laura Madeleine
THIS HOUSE IS MINE by Dorte Hansen
WARP by Lev Grossman
A BOY MADE OF BLOCKS by Keith Stuart
THE POSSIBILITY OF SOMEWHERE by Julia Day
THE INVISIBLE LIFE OF IVAN ISAENKO by Scott Stambach
THE NEXT by Stephanie Gangi
THE SECRET INGREDIENT OF WISHES by Susan Bishop Crispell

Happy Reading!

css.php