Articles tagged "supernatural thriller"

Thriller Thursday (8/22/19)

This #ThrillerThursday we celebrate a standalone legal thriller, a chilling LibraryReads winner, a hard-hitting assassin hunting for revenge, and the return of a West Virginian prosecutor turned private investigator.

THE MURDER LIST by Hank Phillippi Ryan

“A compelling legal thriller from the popular author of the Jane Ryland mystery series, this will have readers’ sympathies shifting from one character to another as it winds to an unsettling end.”–Booklist

THE WHISPER MAN by Alex North

A PW Best Book of the Summer + August LibraryReads pick + September Indie Next pick + 2 starred reviews!

“With redemption for some and none for others, this thriller will satisfy readers of Thomas Harris and Stephen King.”–Booklist, starred review

“Readers will have a tough time putting down this truly unnerving tale, with its seemingly unexplainable elements and glimpses of broken and dangerous minds.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (7/25/19)

A supernatural thriller full of aliens and government cover-ups and a he-said/she-said game of obsession–welcome to this week’s #ThrillerThursday!

THE DARK ABOVE by Jeremy Finley

“It is not a stretch to see fans of Netflix’s Stranger Things or Sylvain Neuvel’s SLEEPING GIANTS (2016) enjoying this book.”–Booklist

A STRANGER ON THE BEACH by Michele Campbell

“While the plot here is very different from that of Campbell’s last novel—SHE WAS THE QUIET ONE (2018), set in a boarding school—this believable and engrossing he-said, she-said thriller will be a hit with fans of the earlier book as well as those who enjoy Alice LaPlante.”–Booklist

#ThrillerThursday (7/11/19)

A Shamus award-winning series returns, a handsome historian is on the case, and the eternal struggle between good and evil… All in today’s #thrillerthursday!

KILLER IN THE CARRIAGE HOUSE: A Victorian Village Mystery by Sheila Connolly

“The layers of history and the obstacles encountered in the process of trying to save a small town provide a fascinating frame story for this smart mystery.”–Booklist

THE STORIES YOU TELL by Kristen Lepionka

“Building to a chilling and surprising conclusion, the third book in Lepionka’s Shamus Award–winning series (THE LAST PLACE YOU LOOK) is both intricately plotted and character-driven, with a complicated protagonist. Suggest for fans of detective novels with unconventional sleuths.”–Library Journal

THE SUM OF ALL SHADOWS by Eric Van Lustbader

“Heaven and hell duke it out once again in this fourth religious fantasy thriller in the author’s Testament series (FOUR DOMINIONS, 2018, etc.)… The premise is a highly imaginative take on the eternal conflict between good and evil, and just because this novel has a satisfying conclusion doesn’t mean that Lucifer, like Schwarzenegger, won’t be back.”–Kirkus Reviews

Thriller Thursday (4/25/19)

From psychological thrillers to historical mysteries, we’ve got a packed house for this week’s Thriller Thursday celebration!

I KNOW WHO YOU ARE by Alice Feeney

“For most folks, being suspected in the disappearance of their spouse would be about as bad as it gets, but not for London actress Aimee Sinclair, the narrator of bestseller Feeney’s shock-filled second thriller… The action speeds toward a finale that’s about as subtle as an ax. Fans of over-the-top psychological thrillers will be satisfied.”–Publishers Weekly

STONE MOTHERS by Erin Kelly

“Written in several parts that show the passage of time through the development of the mental institution—which is a character itself—the book’s secrets are revealed slowly. Full of blackmail and lies, this novel grows in intensity as each character’s story is told. Utterly engaging, terrifying, and unputdownable, this novel will haunt readers and have them wanting more from Kelly.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Fear Not – LJ Genre Spotlight on Horror

Terrified to recommend horror in your library? RAforAll.com / horror guru Becky Spratford‘s recent Library Journal genre spotlight on horror has you (and Macmillan) covered:

According to Melissa Ann Singer, senior editor at Tor/Forge, horror “becomes increasingly popular during times of societal unease. When people are worried that the world is going to pieces around them, when they have lost faith in the idea that things will soon (or even someday) be better than they now are…. The struggle of the horror novel is often the struggle to restore order and normality to a chaotic world, community, or family.”

Horror is also a genre in which critically acclaimed authors of color, such as Victor LaValle (THE BALLAD OF BLACK TOM), Linda Addison, Carmen Maria Machado (HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES), Silvia Moreno-Garcia (CERTAIN DARK THINGS; THE BEAUTIFUL ONES), and Stephen Graham Jones (MAPPING THE INTERIOR), are seeing critical and commercial success, offering inclusive tales that mine terror from both real-world racism and supernatural monsters.

BIG NAMES AND NEW VOICES

The conclusion of Glen Hirshberg’s “Motherless Children Trilogy,” NOTHING TO DEVOUR (Tor, Nov.), contemplates how far a mother—both a human mother and an undead one—will go for her children.

As Michael Homler, an editor at St. Martin’s, explains, the horror genre is ever evolving. “You can have a story that relies on victims getting killed in very painful ways or stories that are more psychological or ones that deal with race and/or religion. They can be literary; they can be commercial. It’s not a one-fits-all genre ­anymore.”

One sign that horror is becoming more mainstream is the willingness of major publishers to take a chance on newer voices. Beginning in July, Rio Youers’s supernatural thriller HALCYON (St. Martin’s) is set on an island oasis in the middle of Lake Ontario, where paradise comes at a horrifying price.

Come September, Brendan Deneen takes the mundane fear of adult responsibility and melds it with the haunted house trope in the fast-paced, chillingly twisted THE CHRYSALIS (Tor). readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (3/29/18 Edition)

Thrills and chills abound in our #ThrillerThursday picks!

THE BISHOP’S PAWN by Steve Berry
Also available in audio
In Cotton Malone’s first assignment ever he investigates the feud between J. Edgar Hoover and Martin Luther King Jr.! “In his latest Cotton Malone thriller, Berry takes on contemporary history as he weaves another tale of conspiracy and intrigue. As fast-paced and exciting as all his previous books, this is another winner in the author’s best-selling series.” — Library Journal, starred review

CRIMSON LAKE by Candice Fox
Also available in audio
How does a man rebuild his life after being wrongfully imprisoned for a teenage girl’s abduction? By teaming up with a convicted murder-turned-PI to investigate the disappearance of a local celebrity author. “This compelling first solo by one of James Patterson’s many coauthors boasts full-bodied characters, suspense with a quirky edge, and a strong sense of place.” — Booklist, starred review

GLIMPSE by Jonathan Maberry
Maberry’s breakout psychological/supernatural thriller stars a recovering drug addict named Rain Thomas, who starts losing time. As reality and nightmare collide, Rain learns just how far she’ll go to save someone she loves. “Maberry’s narrative skills remain first-rate here, and his writing displays more subtlety and greater structural elegance than in past works. A success on all fronts.” — Booklist, starred review

NOT THAT I COULD TELL by Jessica Strawser
Also available in audio
A group of friends meets Saturday night, by Monday, one of them is gone. Was it something they said…or is something far more sinister lurking beneath their smiles? “Full of slow-burning intrigue, Strawser’s second novel will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty’s BIG LITTLE LIES and Jennifer Kitses’ SMALL HOURS.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Happy Early #BookBday (4/17/17 Edition)

Since we’ll be off to the Texas Library Association conference tomorrow, we wanted to wish an early #BookBday to these new titles:

ARARAT by Christopher Golden
New York Times bestselling author Golden’s supernatural thriller about a mountain adventure that quickly turns into a horrific nightmare of biblical proportions. “The whole is more than the sum of its parts in this exceptional supernatural thriller from bestseller Golden. While the contours of the story line will be familiar to genre fans, Golden makes them feel fresh through solid prose, effective characterizations, and a willingness not to pull any plot punches.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

The Southern Reach trilogy is Awesome!

Yup. It’s totally 100% true. Jeff VanderMeer’s Southern Reach trilogy is totally awesome. Imagine if J.J. Abrams, Margaret Atwood, and Alan Weisman collaborated on a novel…the books are futuristic supernatural thrillers, part science fiction, part dystopian, part horror, all amazing.

SouthernReachTrilogy-StephenKingTweet

Stephen King is a big fan and the New York Times Book Review recently gave AUTHORITY a rave review. Even Entertainment Weekly got in on the action by dedicating a full page in its Books section to showing off book covers for the international editions of the trilogy!

SouthernReachTrilogy-EW

In ANNIHILATION, the first book in the trilogy, readers were introduced to Area X and the twelfth team of researchers that traveled into the dangerous area; the story then followed “the biologist” as she seemingly became the only survivor to actually understand what was happening.

The second book, AUTHORITY, focuses the action on the government agency overseeing the expedition, and particularly on the new Control director whose gradual discovery of the agency’s secrets parallels the journey of the biologist in the first book.

The final book in the series, ACCEPTANCE, follows a new team as they embark on a mission to find a member of a previous expedition who may have been left behind. The mysteries of Area X may have been solved, but their consequences and implications are no less profound—or terrifying.

Check out the Southern Reach website where you can read excerpts from available books in the series and explore an interactive map of Area X!

readmoreremove

css.php