Articles tagged "supernatural thriller"

Thriller Thursday (3/29/18 Edition)

Thrills and chills abound in our #ThrillerThursday picks!

THE BISHOP’S PAWN by Steve Berry
Also available in audio
In Cotton Malone’s first assignment ever he investigates the feud between J. Edgar Hoover and Martin Luther King Jr.! “In his latest Cotton Malone thriller, Berry takes on contemporary history as he weaves another tale of conspiracy and intrigue. As fast-paced and exciting as all his previous books, this is another winner in the author’s best-selling series.” — Library Journal, starred review

CRIMSON LAKE by Candice Fox
Also available in audio
How does a man rebuild his life after being wrongfully imprisoned for a teenage girl’s abduction? By teaming up with a convicted murder-turned-PI to investigate the disappearance of a local celebrity author. “This compelling first solo by one of James Patterson’s many coauthors boasts full-bodied characters, suspense with a quirky edge, and a strong sense of place.” — Booklist, starred review

GLIMPSE by Jonathan Maberry
Maberry’s breakout psychological/supernatural thriller stars a recovering drug addict named Rain Thomas, who starts losing time. As reality and nightmare collide, Rain learns just how far she’ll go to save someone she loves. “Maberry’s narrative skills remain first-rate here, and his writing displays more subtlety and greater structural elegance than in past works. A success on all fronts.” — Booklist, starred review

NOT THAT I COULD TELL by Jessica Strawser
Also available in audio
A group of friends meets Saturday night, by Monday, one of them is gone. Was it something they said…or is something far more sinister lurking beneath their smiles? “Full of slow-burning intrigue, Strawser’s second novel will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty’s BIG LITTLE LIES and Jennifer Kitses’ SMALL HOURS.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Happy Early #BookBday (4/17/17 Edition)

Since we’ll be off to the Texas Library Association conference tomorrow, we wanted to wish an early #BookBday to these new titles:

ARARAT by Christopher Golden
New York Times bestselling author Golden’s supernatural thriller about a mountain adventure that quickly turns into a horrific nightmare of biblical proportions. “The whole is more than the sum of its parts in this exceptional supernatural thriller from bestseller Golden. While the contours of the story line will be familiar to genre fans, Golden makes them feel fresh through solid prose, effective characterizations, and a willingness not to pull any plot punches.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

The Southern Reach trilogy is Awesome!

Yup. It’s totally 100% true. Jeff VanderMeer’s Southern Reach trilogy is totally awesome. Imagine if J.J. Abrams, Margaret Atwood, and Alan Weisman collaborated on a novel…the books are futuristic supernatural thrillers, part science fiction, part dystopian, part horror, all amazing.

SouthernReachTrilogy-StephenKingTweet

Stephen King is a big fan and the New York Times Book Review recently gave AUTHORITY a rave review. Even Entertainment Weekly got in on the action by dedicating a full page in its Books section to showing off book covers for the international editions of the trilogy!

SouthernReachTrilogy-EW

In ANNIHILATION, the first book in the trilogy, readers were introduced to Area X and the twelfth team of researchers that traveled into the dangerous area; the story then followed “the biologist” as she seemingly became the only survivor to actually understand what was happening.

The second book, AUTHORITY, focuses the action on the government agency overseeing the expedition, and particularly on the new Control director whose gradual discovery of the agency’s secrets parallels the journey of the biologist in the first book.

The final book in the series, ACCEPTANCE, follows a new team as they embark on a mission to find a member of a previous expedition who may have been left behind. The mysteries of Area X may have been solved, but their consequences and implications are no less profound—or terrifying.

Check out the Southern Reach website where you can read excerpts from available books in the series and explore an interactive map of Area X!

readmoreremove

css.php