Articles tagged "SUN SAND MURDER"

LJ’s Fall/Winter Debut Novel Picks

Library Journal recently announced the debut novels they’re most looking forward to this Fall 2016 and Winter 2017, including these four Macmillan titles:

THE GUINEVERES by Sarah Domet
All coincidentally named Guinevere, four young women bond tightly when they are abandoned by their various parents to be raised by nuns at the Sisters of the Supreme Adoration. But will those bonds hold when four comatose soldiers are brought to the convent? “An unsettling, melancholy first novel whose tone echoes that of Jeffrey Eugenides’s THE VIRGIN SUICIDES. This phenomenal, character-driven story is mesmerizing.” (LJ 8/16)

SUN, SAND, MURDER by John Keyse-Walker
Winner of the 2015 Minotaur Books/Mystery Writers of America First Crime Novel Award, this debut features Special Constable Teddy Creque, Royal Virgin Islands Police Force, who keeps the peace on his tiny island home of Anegada. The murder of Boston University herpetologist Paul Kelliher turns the entire island upside down. “A beautiful Caribbean setting, vibrant characters, lively plotting and pacing, and a memorable villain who will surprise you.” (LJ 8/16) readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (9/15/16 Edition)

Historical mysteries, a spy thriller, and a tropical debut get our #ThrillerThursday stamp of approval:

THE SECRETS OF WISHTIDE by Kate Saunders
A September 2016 LibraryReads pick with two starred reviews! “Combining the strengths of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple and M. C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin, Laetitia Rodd towers over both of these genteel sleuths in wit, tact, and ingenuity. The book is a sheer delight, with its deliciously intricate puzzle and well-drawn characters whom readers are sure to continue to enjoy in volumes to come.”
Booklist, starred review

BLACK WATER by Louise Doughty
From the author of APPLE TREE YARD comes a masterful espionage thriller “in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré.” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review). “Doughty takes a page from John le Carré, crafting a riveting, psychological, morally ambiguous tale. Harper’s backstory is richly detailed, and his budding relationship with Rita is convincing. Finally, the role of mercenaries in world affairs adds a new perspective to the spy novel genre.” — Library Journal, starred review

SUN, SAND, MURDER by John Keyse-Walker
Winner of the Minotaur Books/MWA First Crime Novel Award! Teddy Creque’s life turns upside down when a tourist is murdered on his peaceful, remote tropical island, Anegada. “Spectacular as a Caribbean sunset, Keyse-Walker’s debut is a well-paced puzzler no one should miss.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

css.php