Articles tagged "summer camp"

Day’s YA – UNSTOPPABLE MOSES

Hello, YA librarians! 

Welcome to the 20th edition of Day’s YA!! (20?! Holy guacamole!) If you’d like to go back and read past reviews (like THE HAZEL WOOD, SKY IN THE DEEP, HOW I RESIST, or LEGENDARY), check out the archives here or at the bottom of this post. Otherwise, let’s get right to it!

UNSTOPPABLE MOSES by Tyler James Smith
9781250138545
Available September 11, 2018 from Flatiron Books
Ages 12 to 18

Moses Hill is a high school junior living in the Midwest with his cousin / best friend, Charlie. Moses and Charlie grew up together and are notorious for pulling mostly-harmless pranks. One night their prank goes horribly awry and burns down a building. Moses is blamed and as punishment ends up spending a week as a camp counselor. He can either use the time to “prove [he’s] a responsible member of society” or lose his shot at Duke. But, when Moses is assigned as a “buddy” to younger camper, Lump (yes, Lump), he begins to truly learn who he is and how to heal from his own trauma.

I love when a book grabs me from the get-go. The first sentence, “Charlie Baltimore murdered me when we were eight years old,” was just the hook I needed! As the story progresses, it becomes a beautiful (and, at times, hilarious) coming-of-age story about dealing with the effects of trauma and putting the broken pieces of your life back together. In the vein of John Green and Stephen Chbosky, this debut novel is one that will grab onto you with all its might. readmoreremove

css.php