Articles tagged "Steve Berry"

Thriller Thursday (3/7/19)

A lawyer and a former U.S. Justice Department operative walk into a bar…to celebrate Thriller Thursday!

THE PERFECT ALIBI by Phillip Margolin
“Legal-thriller fans will find it satisfying to see Margolin back at the top of his game…his writing has regained its stylistic flourishes, and his pacing is impeccable.”–Booklist

THE MALTA EXCHANGE by Steve Berry
“Bestseller Berry’s enthralling 14th Cotton Malone novel (after 2018’s THE BISHOP’S PAWN) finds former U.S. Justice Department operative Malone on a freelance assignment to retrieve long-lost correspondence between Benito Mussolini and Winston Churchill…. Fans of Dan Brown will have fun, and some may even prefer Berry’s action-oriented hero to Brown’s cerebral Robert Langdon.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

For Your Consideration: March 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite March 2019 titles for the March 2019 LibraryReads list!  

*Votes due February 1!

REDEMPTION POINT by Candice Fox

“Wrongly accused of abducting Claire Bingley, former police detective Ted Conkaffey is protecting himself from Claire’s murderous father by hiding out in a remote town in the Australian rain forest and trying to find the real culprit. Meanwhile, the detective inspector investigating the killing of two bartenders at the local Barking Frog Inn is a homicide first timer. Enter tattooed-to-the-hilt Amanda Pharrell, a private detective who’s done time for murder and who joins with Ted to discover who’s responsible for all the blood. Just the way Ned Kelly Award–winning Fox joins forces with James Patterson now and again.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

MAKE ME A CITY by Jonathan Carr

“The rise of Chicago in the 19th century provides the frame for a trove of colorful stories and characters in this entertaining debut novel…Carr has a sure touch, and in many extended anecdotes, his narrative skills show exceptional detail, pacing, and tension. A solid storyteller enlivens a rich patch of American history.”–Kirkus Reviews

readmoreremove

Booklist’s “Falling for Mystery” Webinar (10/30/18)

We hope you tuned in to today’s Booklist’s “Falling for Mystery” webinar, but if not, here is the title list.  

The archived webinar is available here.

While you’re at it, request to be whitelisted for our e-galleys on Edelweiss.

 

Thriller Thursday (4/12/18 Edition)

We’re thrilled to have 2 finalists for the 2018 ITW Thriller Awards!

Best Hardcover Novel
THE BREAKDOWN by B.A. Paris

Best Young Adult Novel
PROOF OF LIES by Diana Rodriguez Wallach

The winners will be announced at ThrillerFest XIII on July 14, 2018 at the Grand Hyatt, NYC.

And now for today’s #ThrillerThursday reads:

A DEATH OF NO IMPORTANCE by Mariah Fredericks
Two starred reviews! Fredericks’ compelling adult debut novel follows Jane Prescott, a ladies’ maid in an upper-crust 1910 NYC household, after her mistress’s playboy fiancé is gruesomely murdered. “The novel’s voice, plotting, pace, characterization, and historical background are all expertly crafted, while the resolution—which feels both surprising and convincing—will leave readers hungry for more.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

INQUISITION by David Gibbins
Archaeologist Jack Howard and his team are excavating a 17th-century shipwreck off Cornwall in England when they find clues that lead to the fabled Holy Grail—and the present-day inheritors of the Inquisition. “Steve Berry fans eager for an intelligent blend of suspense and reality, including some horrific contemporary developments, will be rewarded.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

DATE WITH MALICE by Julia Chapman
The second book in the Samson and Delilah mystery series set in the Yorkshire Dales has the investigators looking into several disturbing incidents at the local retirement community. “Mystery readers who love to escape to Louise Penny’s village of Three Pines will enjoy becoming acquainted with the Dales town of Bruncliffe and its quirky residents. The ongoing suspenseful story line will keep series fans hooked.” — Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (3/29/18 Edition)

Thrills and chills abound in our #ThrillerThursday picks!

THE BISHOP’S PAWN by Steve Berry
Also available in audio
In Cotton Malone’s first assignment ever he investigates the feud between J. Edgar Hoover and Martin Luther King Jr.! “In his latest Cotton Malone thriller, Berry takes on contemporary history as he weaves another tale of conspiracy and intrigue. As fast-paced and exciting as all his previous books, this is another winner in the author’s best-selling series.” — Library Journal, starred review

CRIMSON LAKE by Candice Fox
Also available in audio
How does a man rebuild his life after being wrongfully imprisoned for a teenage girl’s abduction? By teaming up with a convicted murder-turned-PI to investigate the disappearance of a local celebrity author. “This compelling first solo by one of James Patterson’s many coauthors boasts full-bodied characters, suspense with a quirky edge, and a strong sense of place.” — Booklist, starred review

GLIMPSE by Jonathan Maberry
Maberry’s breakout psychological/supernatural thriller stars a recovering drug addict named Rain Thomas, who starts losing time. As reality and nightmare collide, Rain learns just how far she’ll go to save someone she loves. “Maberry’s narrative skills remain first-rate here, and his writing displays more subtlety and greater structural elegance than in past works. A success on all fronts.” — Booklist, starred review

NOT THAT I COULD TELL by Jessica Strawser
Also available in audio
A group of friends meets Saturday night, by Monday, one of them is gone. Was it something they said…or is something far more sinister lurking beneath their smiles? “Full of slow-burning intrigue, Strawser’s second novel will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty’s BIG LITTLE LIES and Jennifer Kitses’ SMALL HOURS.” — Booklist readmoreremove

March 2018 Bestsellers & Recent Releases

Our sales team created an Edelweiss collection of our month’s bestsellers and recently released titles — what a perfect collection development tool for you! Here are some of the top titles for March 2018:

Recent Releases:
THE SUN DOES SHINE: How I Found Life and Freedom on Death Row by Anthony Ray Hinton, with a foreword by Bryan Stevenson

THE BISHOP’S PAWN by Steve Berry

THE ITALIAN PARTY by Christina Lynch

SOMETIMES I LIE by Alice Feeney

THE MERRY SPINSTER: Tales of Everyday Horror by Daniel Mallory Ortberg

WHERE THERE’S HOPE: Healing, Moving Forward, and Never Giving Up by Elizabeth Smart

Recent Award Winners:
PRAIRIE FIRES: The American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder by Caroline Fraser (NBCC winner, Biography)

WHEREAS by Layli Long Soldier (NBCC & PEN Award winners, Poetry)

THE BUTCHERING ART: Joseph Lister’s Quest to Transform the Grisly World of Victorian Medicine by Lindsey Fitzharris (PEN Award winner)

THE SHAPE OF WATER by Guillermo del Toro & Daniel Kraus (Oscar winner)

This Edelweiss collection will be updated on a monthly basis so check back often!

BISHOP’S PAWN Signed Giveaway

New York Times bestselling author Steve Berry is famous for creating fascinating historical thrillers based on real life events and people. His new book, THE BISHOP’S PAWN, takes series star Cotton Malone all the way back to his first assignment: investigating the feud between J. Edgar Hoover and Martin Luther King Jr.!

We’re giving away a signed copy of THE BISHOP’S PAWN to ONE lucky librarian!

To enter the giveaway, simply email Library@MacmillanUSA.com from your professional/library-issued e-mail address (subject: Bishop’s Pawn) by Sunday, April 8, and make sure to include your library’s mailing address. Read on for the fine print—good luck!

UPDATE 4/12/18: This giveaway is now closed. Congratulations to our winner, Elizabeth Lange at Fox Lake District Library, Fox Lake IL!

readmoreremove

RT Book Reviews 2017 Reviewer’s Choice Awards

Congratulations to the 28 Macmillan titles nominated for Romantic Times Book Reviews’ 2017 Reviewer’s Choice Awards!

Best Mainstream Fiction Protagonist
I LIKED MY LIFE by Abby Fabiaschi

Best Contemporary Mystery
A DARKNESS ABSOLUTE by Kelley Armstrong
BLUE LIGHT YOKOHAMA by Nicolas Obregon

Best Suspense
SHATTERED by Allison Brennan

Best Thriller
THE LOST ORDER by Steve Berry
LOOK BEHIND YOU by Iris Johansen and Roy Johansen

Best Amateur Sleuth
STICKS AND BONES by Carolyn Haines

Best Historical Mystery
DEATH IN ST. PETERSBURG by Tasha Alexander
THE DAUGHTER OF SHERLOCK HOLMES by Leonard Goldberg
THE ORPHAN OF FLORENCE by Jeanne Kalogridis

Best Romantic Suspense
THE WOMAN WHO COULDN’T SCREAM by Christina Dodd

Best Paranormal Romantic Suspense
STORMCHASER by Cherry Adair

Best Historical Romance
THE SCOT BEDS HIS WIFE by Kerrigan Byrne

Best Historical Love & Laughter
I DARED THE DUKE by Anna Bennett

Best First Historical Romance/ Historical Fiction
THE WARDROBE MISTRESS by Meghan Masterson

Best Erotic Romance
THE BILLIONAIRES: The Bosses by Calista Fox

Best Futuristic Romance
BORN OF VENGEANCE by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Best Urban Fantasy
ALL THOSE EXPLOSIONS WERE SOMEONE ELSE’S FAULT by James Alan Gardner

Best Fantasy
DUSK OR DARK OR DAWN OR DAY by Seanan McGuire
WINTER TIDE by Ruthanna Emrys
WITHIN THE SANCTUARY OF WINGS by Marie Brennan readmoreremove

Library Journal’s Best Books of 2017

Library Journal’s Best Books of 2017 lists include 12 Macmillan titles:

Top Ten Books of 2017 (full list)
THE NINTH HOUR by Alice McDermott

Mystery (full list)
GLASS HOUSES by Louise Penny

SF/Fantasy (full list)
DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES by Seanan McGuire
AUTONOMOUS by Annalee Newitz

Thrillers (full list)
THE LOST ORDER by Steve Berry
THE SABOTEUR by Andrew Gross readmoreremove

Booklist’s “Pulse Pounding Mysteries for Fall” Webinar Titles

It’s a gray and rainy day in NYC, perfect for buzzing about mysteries! Here are the titles Anne presented at Booklist‘s “Pulse Pounding Mysteries for Fall” webinar:

THE HUSH* | John Hart | 9781250012302 | Out 2/27/18 (LR: 12/20)
AFTER ANNA* | Lisa Scottoline | 9781250099655 | Out 4/10/18 (LR: 2/20)
HELLBENT | Gregg Hurwitz | 9781250119179 | Out 1/30/18 (LR: 11/20)
DARK IN DEATH | J.D. Robb | 9781250161536 | Out 1/30/18 (LR: 11/20)
THE THIRD VICTIM* | Phillip Margolin | 9781250117502 | Out 3/6/18 (LR: 1/20)
THE BISHOP’S PAWN* | Steve Berry | 9781250140227 | Out 3/20/18 (LR: 1/20)
THE MITFORD MURDERS** | Jessica Fellowes | 9781250170781 | Out 1/23/18 (LR: 11/20)
THE WOMAN IN THE WATER | Charles Finch | 9781250139467 | Out 2/20/18 (LR: 12/20)
THE ECHO KILLING** | Christi Daugherty | 9781250148841 | Out 3/13/18 (LR: 1/20)
A DANGEROUS CROSSING** | Ausma Zehanat Khan | 9781250096760 | 2/13/18 (LR: 12/20)
CRIMSON LAKE* | Candice Fox | 9780765398482 | Out 3/20/18 (LR: 1/20)
FORCE OF NATURE* | Jane Harper | 9781250105639 | Out 2/6/18 (LR: 12/20)
GRIST MILL ROAD* | Christopher J. Yates | 9781250150288 | Out 1/9/18 (LR: 11/20)
SOMETIMES I LIE* | Alice Feeney | 9781250144843 | Out 3/13/18 (LR: 1/20)
GIRL UNKNOWN** | Karen Perry | 9780805098747 | Out 2/6/18 (LR: 12/20)
THE WIFE BETWEEN US* | Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen | 9781250130921 | Out 1/9/18 (LR: 11/20)
OUR LITTLE SECRET | Roz Nay | 9781250160812 | Out 4/24/18 (LR: 2/20)
BABY TEETH* | Zoje Stage | 9781250170750 | Out 7/17/18 (LR: 5/20)

Listen to the archived webinar recording here.

Don’t forget that you can download this presentation and many others to use at your library’s next book buzz event!

readmoreremove

css.php