Articles tagged "starred review round up"

Starred Review Round-Up (9/9/19)

An epic fantasy sequel + poetry + a Sherlockian mystery + Urban America + retellings of Ovid’s Metamorphoses = a stellar starred review round-up!

THE NAME OF ALL THINGS by Jenn Lyons

Lyons proves she is worthy of comparison to other masters of epic fantasy, such as Patrick Rothfuss, Stephen R. Donaldson (particularly in Grand Guignol action), and Melanie Rawn.”–Booklist, starred review

“The second of Lyons’s ‘Chorus of Dragons’ series (after THE RUIN OF KINGS) carries on the epic settings, memorable characters, and broad mythological foundations. Lyons is creating a complex and wonderful series that will immerse and delight.”–Library Journal, starred review

BE RECORDER: Poems by Carmen Giménez Smith

“Smith’s image-driven metaphors circle the ‘molten core of the real,’ articulating shared dilemmas while jolting the reader out of complacence.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Giménez Smith asks key questions in roiled times, and her greatest strength is nailing an outsider’s raw uncertainty, assumptions never made, immunity never achieved.”–Library Journal, starred review

readmoreremove

Starred Reviews For Your #FridayReads

These forthcoming titles all received multiple starred reviews!

THE MAN WHO SAW EVERYTHING by Deborah Levy

“Multiple versions of history collide—literally—in a superbly crafted, enigmatic new story from an author of note… Levy defies gravity in a daring, time-bending new novel.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Booker Prize–finalist Levy (HOT MILK) explores the fragile connections and often vast chasms between self and others in this playful, destabilizing, and consistently surprising novel.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

EROSION: Essays of Undoing by Terry Tempest Williams

“In a collection of passionate, galvanizing essays… activist and teacher Williams (THE HOUR OF LAND) shares her intimate connection to the as-yet untamed landscapes of the American West.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Williams’ exquisite testimony of wonder and wisdom is vitalizing and crucial.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Starred Review Round-Up (8/2/19)

Surviving childhood trauma, overcoming a hostile medical system, a cultural history of 19th century Europe, 80 years of the American Dream, and German Jewish women on the legacy of racism… All in today’s starred review round-up!

GIRL by Edna O’Brien

“In a feat of empathy and imagination, the Irish writer O’Brien portrays one girl’s torments after she is taken by jihadis in Nigeria… A heartbreaking tale and a singular achievement.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“O’Brien’s bravely investigated novel of a young woman overcoming epic torture is profoundly empathic, unnervingly human, and darkly exquisite.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

A Meteor Shower of Stars for Macmillan!

These forthcoming titles all received multiple starred reviews!

Fiction

NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo

“With an aura of both enchantment and authenticity, Bardugo’s compulsively readable novel leaves a portal ajar for equally dazzling sequels.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“This atmospheric contemporary novel steeped in the spirit of a mystical New Haven is part mystery, part story of a young woman finding purpose in a dark world, and is the first in a potential series. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Adults are just as enamored of Bardugo’s YA novels as teens are, and many have been anxiously and curiously awaiting this one.”–Booklist, starred review

MACHINE by Susan Steinberg

“Teenagers spend a hazy summer at the shore. One girl comes to terms with both her emerging independence and the mysterious death of a girl just like her… Heartbreaking, eerie, and acutely observant.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“What makes this tale so thrilling is Steinberg’s artistry with form; she fractures narrative into its fundamental parts. Steinberg writes prose with a poet’s sense of meter and line, and a velocity recalling the novels of Joan Didion. The result is a dizzying work that perfectly evokes the feeling of spinning out of control.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

FOUR Stars for THE FUTURE OF ANOTHER TIMELINE

Annalee Newitz follows award winner + 2017 Best Book AUTONOMOUS with THE FUTURE OF ANOTHER TIMELINE–a story of time travel, murder, and the lengths we’ll go to protect the ones we love–that just received its FOURTH starred review!

“This riot of a book will have readers delighting both in the thrilling battle over timelines in an intricate, alternative world and in the joys of inclusive feminist solidarity.“–Booklist, starred review

Newitz’s fascinating extrapolation is an intelligent, gut-wrenching glimpse of how tiny actions, both courageous and venal, can have large consequences. The sidelong looks at prejudice-born horrors are frequent but not overwhelming, and the examinations of how much darkness one might be willing to endure in order to stop a vaster terror are heartbreaking. Smart and profound on every level, this is a deeply satisfying novel.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“In her sophomore work, Newitz (AUTONOMOUS) comes back to an Earth that highlights the truths of our past and possibilities of our future. The fantastical elements do not hide the all-too-real horrors women could face, but intelligence and hope are woven into every level. Shrewd commentary and a host of sources highlight Newitz’s strength in prose.“–Library Journal, starred review

“Between careful attention to Tess’ development, Beth’s chapters, and the near-constant jumps through time, the story charges along until Newitz suddenly ties it all together with breathtaking finesse. The humdinger of an ending is a perfect cherry on top. An ambitious adventure that keeps the surprises coming.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

3 Stars for THE BITTERROOTS!

Whoa, nelly! C.J. Box’s THE BITTERROOTS just received its THIRD starred review!

“An appealing new heroine, a fast-moving plot, and a memorably nightmarish family make this one of Box’s best.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Not content with merely ruling Wyoming, Box has become the dominant mystery/thriller author of the mountain West—and deservedly so. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: With an announced 300,000-copy run and Box’s legions of fans, there’s not a library in the U.S. that can afford to ignore this one.”–Booklist, starred review

“Vividly etched characters and a realistic plot lift this outing, and the well-done Montana setting is a plus. Box remains at the top of his game.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Download the e-galley here, and don’t forget to submit your LibraryReads votes by July 1!

Stars and Stars and Stars, Oh My!

Our #WeekendReads are all about these multi-star-earning books!

THE WHISPER MAN by Alex North

“With redemption for some and none for others, this thriller will satisfy readers of Thomas Harris and Stephen King.”–Booklist, starred review

“Readers will have a tough time putting down this truly unnerving tale, with its seemingly unexplainable elements and glimpses of broken and dangerous minds.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

THIRTEEN by Steve Cavanagh

2019 CWA Dagger Award Longlist-er + a Publishers Weekly Best Book of Summer!

A knockout legal thriller with a doozy of a twist.”–Booklist, starred review

“This tightly plotted page-turner delivers as both a legal thriller and serial killer investigation.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Stars on stars on stars on stars on stars on stars (5/17/19)

Stars on stars on stars on stars for your #FridayReads!

THE HISTORY OF LIVING FOREVER by Jake Wolff

“The epic sweep and sly humor in the midst of enormous anguish will remind readers of Michael Chabon’s work as they relish this heady exploration of grief, alchemy, and love.“–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Wolff’s wild, hilarious, and moving adventure is rooted in reason and the tough truths of life: how easy it is to hurt the ones we love; that forgetting is easier than forgiving; and that life (with an elixir or not) is never long enough.”–Booklist, starred review

GRACE WILL LEAD US HOME: The Charleston Church Massacre and the Hard, Inspiring Journey to Forgiveness by Jennifer Berry Hawes

“With empathy and kindness, Hawes bears witness to one of the most horrific incidents in recent American history.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Starred Review Round-Up (5/1/19)

I’m seeing stars! Starred reviews, that is. Keep an eye out for these titles that all received multiple starred reviews!

MAGIC FOR LIARS by Sarah Gailey

There’s something for almost all readers here: family drama, romance, high-school gossip, fantasy-world building. Above all, Gailey shows us that humans are humans, even when they are magic, and they are still flawed, damaged, and oh so interesting.”–Booklist, starred review

“Gailey’s debut is an energetic modern fantasy that plays rough with relationships and personal beliefs, from youth to adulthood. Ivy’s emotional investigation will strike a chord in anyone who has ever felt like they don’t belong. Highly recommended for all collections.“–Library Journal, starred review

readmoreremove

Starred Review Round-Up (4/26/19)

Calling all collection development librarians! These books all received multiple starred reviews!

THE RIGHT SORT OF MAN by Allison Montclair

“The Right Sort Marriage Bureau’s debut is exactly the right sort to have readers hoping for a second date.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Both leads are complex, well-developed characters, whose penchant for humorous byplay never comes at the expense of the plot, which resolves itself in a clever fair play reveal. Fans of Maisie Dobbs and Bess Crawford will be delighted.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

NATIVE COUNTRY OF THE HEART: A Memoir by Cherríe Moraga

“A sympathetic portrait of Mexican-American feminism (both in mother and daughter) delivered in a poignant, beautifully written way.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Moraga’s captivating and perceptive memoir successfully conveys her belief that ‘we are as much of a place as we are of a people.'”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove
css.php