Articles tagged "St. Martin’s Press"

Thriller Thursday: Case Closed Podcast

Happy #ThrillerThursday to two bestselling authors with returning series favorites. Plus, a new true crime podcast!

FEARED by Lisa Scottoline
Also available in audio
In the next book in the best-selling Rosato & DiNunzio thriller series, the all-female law firm is hit with a sex discrimination suit. “Series fans and newcomers alike will revel in the partners’ fierce loyalty, served up with an endearingly humorous slice of South Philly family life. A sure bet for legal-thriller fans.” — Booklist

ABANDONED by Allison Brennan
Investigative reporter Max Revere has cracked many cases, but the one investigation she’s never attempted is the mystery from her own past: why her mother abandoned her. “…an enjoyable mix of family story, romance, and thriller. Readers who enjoy strong female leads will finish this one wanting more from award-winner Brennan.” — Booklist

If you’re hooked on The Girls podcast, we’ve got another one to recommend: Case Closed, a new true crime podcast perfect for fans of Serial, Dirty John, Criminal, and other favorites.

Produced by Macmillan Podcasts & Criminal Element, and hosted by renowned true crime book editor Charlie Spicer—a 30-year veteran of St. Martin’s Press who has published more than 100 books—each season of Case Closed will track one murder from crime to trial to conviction. readmoreremove

Stars for HOW HARD CAN IT BE?

Remember Kate Reddy from Allison Pearson’s smash hit, I DON’T KNOW HOW SHE DOES IT, made into a movie starring Sarah Jessica Parker? Now Kate’s back and tackling the trials of the “Sandwich Generation” with her signature wit and humor in HOW HARD CAN IT BE?, which was just optioned for TV and has THREE starred reviews:

“Kate is by far the best part of a book that has loads of great parts. Tackling sexism, growing older, and understanding one’s needs when catering to those of so many others, Pearson writes realism with all the fun of escapism.”— Booklist, starred review

“The electricity is positively sparkling. Pearson features menopause as nearly its own character in this laugh-out-loud yet all too realistic romp through midlife concerns about aging, sexual appeal, careers for older employees, and family care issues. Spot-on for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Marian Keyes.” — Library Journal, starred review

“The winning follow-up to Pearson’s bestselling I Don’t Know How She Does It is anchored by heroine Kate Reddy’s authentic, intelligent, and consistently funny British voice. Readers will cheer on Kate as she becomes a kick-butt woman of a certain age.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

#GetReddy to download and share these quotable HOW HARD CAN IT BE? e-cards with your patrons!


readmoreremove

THE GREAT ALONE and FORCE OF NATURE are February 2018 LibraryReads Picks!

FANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has two books on the February 2018 LibraryReads list!

Topping the list at #1 is THE GREAT ALONE by Kristin Hannah
A February 2018 Indie Next pick with two starred reviews! From the author of the worldwide phenomenon, THE NIGHTINGALE, comes a story of a family in crisis and a young girl struggling to survive at the edge of the world, in America’s last true frontier: Alaska. “Hannah’s follow-up to her series of blockbuster bestsellers will thrill her fans with its combination of Greek tragedy, Romeo and Juliet-like coming-of-age story, and domestic potboiler. She re-creates in magical detail the lives of Alaska’s homesteaders in both of the state’s seasons (they really only have two) and is just as specific and authentic in her depiction of the spiritual wounds of post-Vietnam America. A tour de force.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

 

 

Click to listen to an excerpt of the audiobook

Available from St. Martin’s Press and Macmillan Audio on February 6.

The #4 pick is FORCE OF NATURE by Jane Harper
A February 2018 Indie Next pick and one of Elle‘s “Best Books to Read This Winter!” When a whistleblower goes missing on a corporate team-building hike, Agent Aaron Falk must uncover secrets and betrayals among friends to find out what happened in this new thriller from the New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author of THE DRY. “…[Harper] manages to match her debut’s intensity with another riveting, tension-driven thriller. Perfect for fans of Tana French and readers who enjoy literary page-turners.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Love Is All Around – LJ Genre Spotlight on Romance

Library Journal is spreading the (book) love with their recent genre spotlight on romance, highlighting these Macmillan titles:
PARANORMAL IMMORTAL?

Reviews from the publishing experts we contacted were mixed on the paranormal subgenre’s future, though it continues to have a strong fan base with digital readers. Christine Warren’s BABY, I’M HOWLING FOR YOU (St. Martin’s, Jan. 2018) features librarian Lennie Landry, a wolf on the run from a pack of coyotes and a stalker. She finds refuge in Alpha, WA, where she meets Mark Fischer, who is escaping his past—or so he thought. THANKS FUR LAST NIGHT (St. Martin’s, Jan. 2018) is a paranormal anthology headlined by best-selling authors Eve Langlais, Milly Taiden, and Kate Baxter. Also from St. Martin’s is Donna Grant’s HEAT (Jan. 2018), which involves an outcast dragon who is drawn to a woman whose mind has been overtaken by magic.

TRÈS STEAMY

In Opal Carew’s X MARKS THE SPOT (St. Martin’s, Apr. 2018), when Abi and Liam’s marriage falls apart, Abi decides to act on her attraction to Del. She thinks she is in bed with Del but soon realizes she is actually with Liam. Oops—or maybe not.

RANCHERS AND COWBOYS

According to Monique Patterson, editorial director, ­romance and executive editor, St. Martin’s Press, “we have seen cowboys start to bubble up lately…. The cowboy can be different from the billionaire (though sometimes they are one and the same). What is exciting is that both are in demand.” readmoreremove

“The Library of Congress Goes to War” in AMERICAN TREASURES (+ a Giveaway!)

In AMERICAN TREASURES: The Secret Efforts to Save the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution and the Gettysburg Address, Stephen Puleo tells the dramatic, never-before-told history of America’s efforts to protect the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution and the Gettysburg Address, plus the key role played by Librarian of Congress Archibald MacLeish during WWII.

Stephen Puleo has a message for you, but first, we’re giving away finished copies to the first 5 librarians to email Library@MacmillanUSA.com from your professional/library-issued e-mail address (subject: American Treasures). Make sure to include your library’s mailing address. Good luck!

UPDATE 8/31/16: This giveaway is now closed and the winners have been notified.

Praise for AMERICAN TREASURES:

An engrossing account of the creation, consecration, and conservation of the documents that defined American democracy. Readers will take away a new appreciation for the vision and savvy of government officials in finding ways to insure such treasures would survive.” — Library Journal

“A solid retelling of an inspiring story.” — Kirkus Reviews

“This unique, easily digestible, well-researched saga is ideal for general readers.” Booklist

“Stephen Puleo once again educates, enlightens, and entertains us, this time through the history of the most important documents of our democracy. A tour de force based on exhaustive research into both primary and secondary sources, he tells the miraculous stories of the survival of the most precious evidence of our freedom thanks to, until now, the unsung heroes and heroines of our past.” — David S. Ferriero, Archivist of the United States, National Archives, Washington D.C.

And now, a message from author Stephen Puleo…

Dear Librarian,
First, I want to say what a privilege it has been to work with so many wonderful librarians while researching my books over the years. I have spent a large part of my author life seeking help from librarians and I’m always amazed and impressed with the thoroughness, professionalism, and cheerfulness with which they approach their work. I owe librarians a debt of gratitude.

I’m writing today to let you know that my sixth book, AMERICAN TREASURES: The Secret Efforts to Save the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, and the Gettysburg Address, will be published this fall by St. Martin’s Press – and I’m very excited about it. For the first time, the book tells the full story of the unprecedented effort to preserve the documentary history of American democracy, focusing on the nation’s “crown jewels” – our most important and priceless documents. readmoreremove

css.php