Articles tagged "Spring 2017"

LJ’s Great First Acts — Debut Novels

LJ S17 debutsFrom astute coming-of-age titles to high-profile pop fiction to books heard ’round the world, these seven Macmillan titles will be some of the most talked-about debuts of the spring 2017 season, according to Library Journal:

HOW TO BE HUMAN by Paula Cocozza
Out: May 9
Out of love and on leave from work, Mary finds comfort in the presence of a gorgeous red fox that has taken to visiting the back garden of her home in the London suburbs. But the neighbors are disturbed. “A compelling, unsettling, and wholly original debut.” (LJ 3/1/17)

THE CITY ALWAYS WINS by Omar Robert Hamilton
Out: June 13
Cofounder of the Palestine Festival of Literature, Hamilton takes us to Cairo as his idealistic protagonist joins the battle in Tahrir Square, then lands in disillusioned exile in New York. Forceful, astonishing writing and a piercing insider’s look at Egypt’s failed revolution.

MARLENA by Julie Buntin
Out: April 4
Relating the story of 15-year-old Cat, new in town and drawn to daring, desperate Marlena, Buntin captures a destructive yet essential relationship with ongoing consequences. A Discover Great New Writers pick; “an exceptional portrait, disturbing and precisely observed.” (Xpress Reviews 3/10/17) readmoreremove

Buzzfeed’s “31 Incredible New Books You Need To Read This Spring”

BuzzfeedS17Buzzfeed picked seven standout books from Macmillan as part of their “Incredible New Books You Need To Read This Spring” feature:

WHEREAS by Layli Long Soldier
Layli Long Soldier’s powerful poetry collection WHEREAS challenges the United States government’s treatment of and relationship with Native American peoples and tribes. Elegant, innovative, and necessary, WHEREAS examines a history of violence and treaties and apologies, and reclaims the legal jargon once used to control Native peoples as a form of resistance.

THE FACT OF A BODY by Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich
Part murder mystery and part memoir, Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich’s THE FACT OF A BODY is the haunting story of how one convicted murderer and pedophile’s case forced her to grapple with family secrets and her own past. Working a summer internship at a Louisiana capital murder defense firm, Marzano-Lesnevich digs into one case that begins to feel oddly familiar, and eventually is forced to confront her understanding of justice, forgiveness, and truth.

BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer
In Jeff VanderMeer’s BORNE, a young woman named Rachel survives as a scavenger in a dangerous, ruined city filled with discarded experiments from a biotech firm. When Rachel discovers a strange creature hidden in the fur of a giant bear who terrorizes the city, she decides to name the creature “Borne” and brings him home to the sanctuary where she lives. As Rachel’s attachment to Borne grows, so does he, and his existence eventually begins to threaten the security of her home and the city’s balance of power. Extraordinarily imaginative and wonderfully strange, BORNE will constantly keep you guessing. readmoreremove

LJ’s Spring 2017 Editors’ Picks

Library Journal recently revealed their Spring 2017 Editors’ Picks, including these three Macmillan books:

“Like many, I have always had an appreciation for all things Jane Austen, whether it be her original novels, their many retellings, or watching Colin Firth as Darcy famously emerge from a lake in a billowy white shirt. Now I’m awaiting Lucy Worsley’s JANE AUSTEN AT HOME (St. Martin’s, Jul.), which sees the author on an enviable research trip through Austen’s many residences, including childhood and holiday houses, schools, and the abodes of relatives. Worsley connects these spaces back to the fictional dwellings of Austen’s characters, emphasizing the thematic importance of home.” — Kate DiGirolomo, SELF-e Community Coordinator
readmoreremove

Teen Talk Tuesday (2/21/17 Edition)

It’s time for Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya, starting now/4pm EST)! Before you tell us about your must-read YA books, we’ve got some news & resources for you:

Stephanie Garber’s CARAVAL is the #1 pick on the Spring 2017 Kids’ Indie Next List! Also on the list? A CROWN OF WISHES by Roshani Chokshi. School Library Journal also gave a sneak peek at their must-read titles for Spring 2017, including three of our books.

There’s still time to sign up for the following events:
Booklist‘s Spring 2017 YA Announcements webinar on Tuesday, February 28
AAP Children’s & YA Tri-State Book Buzz 
on Wednesday, March 1 in NYC
School Library Journal‘s Day of Dialog on Wednesday, May 31 in NYC
If you can’t attend any of those events, it’s OK—we’ll post the titles we discussed on the blog after they happen.

WINTERSONG by S. Jae-Jones
Ages 12 to 18
Set at the turn of the 19th century, this richly imagined debut coming-of-age story spins a spellbinding tale perfect for fans of Labyrinth and THE DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST as a young woman searches for her sister who was kidnapped by the Goblin King. “There are plenty of nods to Labyrinth, but atmospherically, this first novel is most similar to another debut: Robin McKinley’s BEAUTY. …this is an exquisitely and lyrically crafted tale of longing, sibling loyalty, and the importance of women in a time when women were so often overlooked. Eerie, unsettling, and, above all, full of music.” — Booklist, starred review

NEIL GAIMAN’S MR. HERO COMPLETE COMICS VOL. 2 by James Vance, illustrated by Ted Slampyak
Also available in trade paperback. The Mr. Hero saga concludes as Jennifer Hale finally uncovers the mysterious past of the Newmatic Man! readmoreremove

PW’s Writers to Watch Spring 2017: Anticipated Debuts

Publishers Weekly recently shared their most anticipated debuts of Spring 2017, including two of our favorites:

MARLENA by Julie Buntin
Teenage friendships almost never make sense, which might explain why so many of them fall apart as people get older, and also why fiction writers often turn to them for material. When Julie Buntin was working on MARLENA, her debut novel about the aftermath of an intense friendship between two teenage girls, she was faced with the challenge of making that particular obsession legible to readers. “It’s hard to capture why a character finds someone else magnetic,” Buntin, 29, says. “How can you translate that into something the reader can connect to?”

Marlena centers on two characters, 15-year-old Cat and 17-year-old Marlena, who become pals when Cat moves to the town in northern Michigan where Marlena lives. Buntin, in the words of PW’s starred review, “is particularly sensitive to the misery of adolescent angst,” observing how Cat becomes increasingly enamored of the unstable Marlena, who is “musically talented, beautiful, and doomed to die young.”


THE WOMAN NEXT DOOR by Yewande Omotoso
Rare is the novel that features older women as protagonists, rather than as mere supporting characters or props. Rarer still is the novel willing to depict aging women in all their complications, regrets, and swarming hostilities. But that’s precisely what Yewande Omotoso, a Barbados-born South African writer, set out to do her in novel, THE WOMAN NEXT DOOR, her second work of fiction and her first to be published in the U.S. readmoreremove

PW’s Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2017

These ten Macmillan titles are some of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2017:

Fiction
BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer
In a future strewn with the cast-off experiments of an industrial laboratory known only as the Company, a scavenger named Rachel survives alongside her lover, Wick, a dealer of memory-altering beetles with whom she takes shelter from the periodic ravages of a giant mutant bear named Mord. One day, caught in Mord’s fur, Rachel finds the bizarre, shape-shifting creature “like a hybrid of sea anemone and squid” she calls Borne.

Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror
AMBERLOUGH by Lara Elena Donnelly
Donnelly’s debut, a fast-moving tale of desperate love and intrigue in a created world that recalls Europe on the brink of WWII, is emotionally wrenching and shockingly timely.

Poetry
AFTERLAND by Mai Der Vang
Vang, the 2016 Walt Whitman Award winner, tells the story of Hmong diaspora forced out of Laos and into exile as a result of the U.S.’s secret war. Vang’s unflinching poems address the status of refugees, including her family, and Hmong resilience in exile.

Comics/Graphic Novels
BOUNDLESS by Jillian Tamaki
Tamaki’s last two books—THIS ONE SUMMER and SUPER MUTANT MAGIC ACADEMY—showed she is one of the world’s best cartoonists, and this collection of her evocative short stories will just cement her reputation.

Memoir
THIS CLOSE TO HAPPY: A Reckoning with Depression by Daphne Merkin
A personal account of a life afflicted with depression, from an affluent but neglected childhood to the present day.

Literary Essays/Criticism/Biographies
THE NOVEL OF THE CENTURY: The Extraordinary Adventure of Les Misérables by David Bellos
Bellos, a translator of French literature, proves that the story of how Victor Hugo’s classic novel came to life is a complex and engrossing epic all its own.

Politics/Current Events
LOCKING UP OUR OWN: Crime and Punishment in Black America by James Forman Jr.
Former public defender Forman offers a complex look at the part played by African-Americans in shaping criminal justice policy.

Music
RECKLESS DAUGHTER: A Portrait of Joni Mitchell by David Yaffe
A biography, with dozens of in-person interviews with Mitchell, reveals the backstory behind the famous songs—from her youth on the Canadian prairie, the child she gave up for adoption, through her albums and love affairs, to the present. readmoreremove

Graywolf’s Spring 2017 Catalog

graywolfs17catalogThe Graywolf Press Spring 2017 catalog is here! Click here to see the forthcoming books that will be released from May through August 2017 (Edwidge Danticat! Percival Everett!).

Graywolf Press is a leading independent publisher committed to the discovery and energetic publication of contemporary American and international literature. They champion outstanding writers at all stages of their careers to ensure that diverse voices can be heard in a crowded marketplace. They believe books that nourish the individual spirit and enrich the broader culture must be supported by attentive editing, superior design, and creative promotion. For more information, visit www.graywolfpress.org.

Spring 2017 Catalogs Now Available Online!

Fall means it’s the season of pumpkin spice everything, but we’ve already sprung forward to bring you Macmillan’s Spring 2017 catalogs on Edelweiss!

Take your time to peruse all of the excellent new Macmillan books coming out early next year. As always, don’t hesitate to get in touch with us if you have questions.

Click here for the full list of Macmillan Spring 2017 catalogs.
css.php