Articles tagged "space opera"

Happy #BookBday (3/28/17 Edition)

BookBday-3.28BONUS: two weeks of new releases in one! Happy #BookBday to:

THE RIVER OF KINGS by Taylor Brown
An April 2017 Indie Next pick with two starred reviews! Two brothers travel a storied river’s past and present in search of the truth about their father’s death in the second novel by the acclaimed author of FALLEN LAND. “Drawing comparisons to James Dickey’s DELIVERANCE and Charles Frazier’s COLD MOUNTAIN, Brown’s impressive second novel is an intense, solidly written story of family loyalty, Southern traditions, and haunting historic landscapes, all bound up in the mythical powers of the Altamaha River.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE COLLAPSING EMPIRE by John Scalzi
The first novel of a new space-opera sequence set in an all-new universe! “Scalzi mixes science, history, and politics with sharp action and intriguing characters. Readers will be thrilled to take another wild ride across the universe with the author of the ‘Old Man’s War’ series.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE HOPE CHEST by Viola Shipman
From the beloved author of Indie Next pick THE CHARM BRACELET comes a story about an heirloom hope chest and the connection it inspires among three people in need of hope: a fiercely independent woman battling ALS, her husband, and their struggling caregiver. “Shipman’s sentimental tearjerker is a good choice for fans of gentle, heartwarming fiction. Readers of Christian fiction may also appreciate its messages of hope and faith in the face of adversity.” — Booklist

BEFORE THE WAR by Fay Weldon
It’s 1922 and Vivien is twenty-four and many other things: six feet tall, intelligent, and a spinster. Fortunately, Vivien is rich, so she can travel to London and bribe a charismatic gentleman publisher to marry her. But what he doesn’t know is that Vivien is already pregnant by another man…. “Fans will relish Weldon’s latest concoction, part domestic comedy, part social commentary, and part bedroom farce, enlivened by her characteristic sly humor and arch tone.” — Booklist

THE ADVENTURES OF JOHN CARSON IN SEVERAL QUARTERS OF THE WORLD: A Novel of Robert Louis Stevenson by Brian Doyle
An inspired take on Robert Louis Stevenson’s planned-but-unwritten picaresque novel and the great Scottish author’s early life in 1880s San Francisco. “It’s a wondrous sort of paradox that a fiction nested inside another fiction can convey many poignant truths. Doyle’s irresistible novel, which practically begs to be read aloud, is a triumphant ode to the power of storytelling.” — Booklist

LENIN ON THE TRAIN by Catherine Merridale
Two starred reviews for this gripping, meticulously researched account of Lenin’s fateful 1917 rail journey from Zurich to Petrograd, where he ignited the Russian Revolution and forever changed the world. “A superbly written narrative history that draws together and makes sense of scattered data, anecdotes, and minor episodes, affording us a bigger picture of events that we now understand to be transformative.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Tor.com’s Spring/Summer 2017 Season

Greedy Pigs, Hungry Hippos, Demonic Deer and the Summer of Space Opera come to Tor.com Publishing!

RIVER OF TEETH by Sarah Gailey
Out: May 23
“Man-eating hippo mayhem is my new favorite mayhem. Gailey’s debut is a gift of violent, unexpected glee.” — Kevin Hearne

THE RUIN OF ANGELS by Max Gladstone
Out: September 5
The critically acclaimed epic fantasy Craft Sequence that Patrick Rothfuss called “stupefyingly good” begins anew on Tor.com Publishing, with a heist in a god-haunted desert.

THE LAMB WILL SLAUGHTER THE LION by Margaret Killjoy
Out: August 15
The Dispossessed meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer in this dropkick-in-the-mouth punk fantasy that Alan Moore calls “scary and energetic.”

A SONG FOR QUIET by Cassandra Khaw
Out: August 29
A subversive Persons Non Grata Lovecraftian horror novella from Cassandra Khaw, author of HAMMERS ON BONE, set in 1940s America in the grips of Jim Crow.

ALL SYSTEMS RED by Martha Wells
Out: May 2
The first novella in the Murderbot Diaries, a new science fiction action and adventure series that tackles questions of the ethics of sentient robotics, perfect for fans of Westworld and Ex Machina.

KILLING GRAVITY by Corey J. White
Out: May 9
This debut novella begins the Voidwitch Saga—a butt-kicking, mind-expanding space opera series starring a psychic supersoldier fleeing from an organization that terrorizes the galaxy.

GREEDY PIGS by Matt Wallace
Out: May 16
The fifth Sin du Jour Affair by Matt Wallace subjects the caterers of Sin du Jour to clients fouler than demons, more decadent than goblin kings, and more dangerous than anything they’ve faced before: politicians.

LIGHTNING IN THE BLOOD by Marie Brennan
Out: May 30
In the sequel to COLD-FORGED FLAME, Ree, a roaming Archeron, spirit of legend and time and physically now bound to her current form, must fully uncover her true identity.

MAPPING THE INTERIOR by Stephen Graham Jones
Out: June 20
Walking through his own house at night, a fifteen-year-old thinks he sees another person stepping through a doorway. Instead of the people who could be there, his mother or his brother, the figure reminds him of his long-gone father, who died mysteriously before his family left the reservation. When he follows it he discovers his house is bigger and deeper than he knew.

THE GHOST LINE by Andrew Neil Gray and J. S. Herbison
Out: July 11
Not all is as it seems on the Martian Queen in this haunting work of science fiction by debut authors Andrew Neil Gray and J. S. Herbison that blends the Expanse series with the grandeur of the Titanic. readmoreremove

Fall 2016 & Winter 2017 Sci-Fi Preview

We loved seeing Booklist‘s Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror picks and are excited for Tor.com’s Fall 2016 season. Here’s even MORE sci-fi and fantasy we’re looking forward to this fall and in Winter 2017, plus a special video for all you lovely librarians from Leanna Renee Hieber, author of ETERNA & OMEGA (available now).

SPELLBREAKER by Blake Charlton – THREE STARS!!!
“The thrilling conclusion to the Spellwright trilogy answers some lingering questions about Leandra’s parents and brings descriptive depth to her character. … It will appeal to readers who enjoy high fantasy, complex worlds, and characters that change and grow throughout the story.” —Booklist, starred review

“There is significant emotional depth to the story, and ponderings on fate, love, and the purpose of human society give the novel some gravitas. Intricate plotting, strong characters, and a wonderfully imagined world make this a winner.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“The worldbuilding and the conflict are expertly delineated, but much of the trilogy’s focus is far more intimate: a richly textured portrait of personal growth . . . Vivid, intelligent, and painful in an authentically laudable way.” Kirkus Reviews, starred review

EVERFAIR by Nisi Shawl
A Publishers Weekly Most Anticipated Book of Fall 2016! In this deeply compelling debut novel, Shawl takes readers to an alternate Earth where the inhumane history of the Belgian Congo is brilliantly rewritten when Africa’s indigenous populations learn about steam power. “This highly original story blends steampunk and political intrigue in a compelling new view of a dark piece of human history.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

CLOUDBOUND by Fran Wilde
The sequel to UPDRAFT, which won the 2015 Nebula Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy. “What makes this a must-read are the further explorations of Wilde’s City of Towers and the residents who soar the skies between them. Those who have always wondered what was beneath the clouds will finally get their answer.” — Library Journal

GHOST TALKERS by Mary Robinette Kowal
Ginger Stuyvesant, an American heiress living in London during World War I, is working as a medium for the Spirit Corps when she discovers a traitor. “The well-drawn characters and the story’s gripping action and deep emotion will captivate readers.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

NEVERNIGHT by Jay Kristoff
“Launching the Nevernight fantasy series, Kristoff (the Lotus War trilogy) creates a splendid world of corruption and violence. Absorbing in its complexity and bold in its bloodiness, this beginning promises (and delivers) equal shares of beauty and decay. With a delicate balance of the ancient and the magical, this tense and brutal tale is unflinching, thrilling, and satisfying.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

REPORTS ON THE INTERNET APOCALYPSE by Wayne Gladstone
In the third and final installment of the Internet Apocalypse Trilogy, Gladstone, the would-be Internet Messiah, finds himself in exile from America, falsely accused of terrorism and murder. When the World Wide Web returns in a highly compromised and commercialized state, possibly due to the efforts of a billionaire presidential candidate, Gladstone and his pursuers must collaborate in an attempt to reclaim a free and open Internet.

Winter 2017:

readmoreremove

Tor.com Fall 2016 Season

TordotcomF16Return to Lychford, explore new love with Kai Ashante Wilson, and explore what it means to be human in the second year of Tor.com Publishing!

HAMMERS ON BONE by Cassandra Khaw
On Sale: October 11
John Persons is a private investigator with a distasteful job from an unlikely client. Can he can take down an abusive stepdad without releasing the holds on his own horrifying potential?

EVERYTHING BELONGS TO THE FUTURE by Laurie Penny
On Sale: October 18
What happens when the rich, but only the rich, get an extra century of life?

A TASTE OF HONEY by Kai Ashante Wilson
On Sale: October 25
A new heart-rending romance from the author of THE SORCERER OF THE WILDEEPS.

THE LOST CHILD OF LYCHFORD by Paul Cornell
On Sale: November 1
Our trio of witches (they don’t approve of “coven”) are about to face their toughest battle, yet!

COLD-FORGED FLAME by Marie Brennan
On Sale: September 13
Setting off on an unexplained quest from which she is compelled to complete, and facing unnatural challenges in a land that doesn’t seem to exist, a mysterious woman will discover the secrets of herself, or die trying. readmoreremove

css.php