Articles tagged "Snow White"


Hello and happy March!

We’ve almost made it to spring, but the setting in the book I want to share with you today is as frigid and wintry as they come. You may want to bundle up before reading on!

GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS by Melissa Bashardoust
Also available in audio.

This is the feminist SNOW WHITE retelling I’ve always wanted. I’ve been waiting for this book without even knowing it. If you also find yourself rolling your eyes at some of the more traditional, damsel-in-distress tales, this is the fairy tale for you.

Melissa Bashardoust’s debut novel tells the story of two young women. Sixteen-year-old Mina lives with her magician father and has no concrete memory of the mother who died when Mina was just a child. Mina longs to be loved and to be able to show love, but the glass heart inside her chest won’t allow it. When Mina and her father move to the castle, Mina decides that she will get the newly-widowed king to fall in love with her and become queen.

Lynet is the daughter of the king and has never known her mother, though she is the spitting image of the former queen. Lynet’s whole world is turned upside down when she discovers that she was formed from snow and was created to look just like her mother. Her father has certain expectations for how she lives her life, but Lynet has other plans. She wants to be less like the mother she never met and more like her beloved stepmother, Mina. But when the king ousts Mina and gives her role to Lynet instead, a rivalry for the throne is ignited between the two women.

Alternating chapters tell the stories of Mina’s past and Lynet’s present, while completely shattering the traditional fairy tale tropes. Prince Charming is nowhere to be found (and Lynet has no need for him, anyway) and Mina is a much more complicated character than your run-of-the-mill evil stepmother. Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer’s CINDER, Angela Carter’s THE BLOODY CHAMBER, or Amanda Lovelace’s THE PRINCESS SAVES HERSELF IN THIS ONE, Bashardoust’s novel is Frozen meets Robin McKinley and it is even more delightful than you could ever imagine.

And to top it off, GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS was recently named to ALA’s Amelia Bloomer List for feminist literature! readmoreremove

Come one, come all to Books for Teens 2017!

Lucky for you, we’ve created not one, but TWO posters of our favorite teen reads for 2017! Download and print your copies (11×17 tabloid size) of BFT poster 1 & BFT poster 2.

Then, make sure that you’re pre-approved on Edelweiss to download all of our available e-galleys, including many of the titles mentioned below. Click here to find out how to be whitelisted.

You can also view our Edelweiss collection of Books for Teens 2017 titles here.

Now on to the books!


THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert
Available January 30, 2018
Ages 12 to 19

Two starred reviews! Welcome to The Hazel Wood, Melissa Albert’s fierce, captivating, contemporary fantasy about a seventeen-year-old girl who must venture into the world behind a pitch-dark, cult-classic, collection of fairy tales to save her mother… “A ferocious young woman is drawn into her grandmother’s sinister fairy-tale realm in this pitch-black fantasy debut.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review



I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU by Gaby Dunn & Allison Raskin
Ages 14 to 19

Ava and Gen are two best friends heading off to their first semesters of college on opposite sides of the country. From first loves to weird roommates, heartbreak, self-discovery, coming out and mental health, the two document every moment in a series of texts and emails to each other. But as each changes and grows into her new life, will their friendship be able to survive the distance?




CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber
Ages 13 to 18

A 2018 Best Fiction for Young Adults nominee!

“[A] magnificent debut novel… Intriguing characters, an imaginative setting, and evocative writing combine to create a spellbinding tale of love, loss, sacrifice, and hope.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review  




FREEKS by Amanda Hocking
Ages 12 to 18

“This fun paranormal romance, wrapped up in a circus-tent setting, is recommended where the genre and the author’s books are popular. Hand to fans of Twilight and MTV’s Teen Wolf.” — School Library Journal


THE RADIUS OF US by Marie Marquardt
Ages 13 to 19

“While the teens’ relationship is tested when details from Phoenix’s past coincide with Gretchen’s case, a host of diverse characters lend a hand and offer varying perspectives. [An] …eye-opening story. ” — Kirkus Reviews

WINTERSONG by S. Jae-Jones
Ages 12 to 18

Set at the turn of the 19th century, this richly imagined debut coming-of-age story spins a spellbinding tale perfect for fans of Labyrinth and THE DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST as a young woman searches for her sister who was kidnapped by the Goblin King. “There are plenty of nods to Labyrinth, but atmospherically, this first novel is most similar to another debut: Robin McKinley’s BEAUTY. …this is an exquisitely and lyrically crafted tale of longing, sibling loyalty, and the importance of women in a time when women were so often overlooked. Eerie, unsettling, and, above all, full of music.” — Booklist, starred review


Ages 12 to 18

Two starred reviews and a 2018 Best Fiction for Young Adults nominee! THE ELEGANCE OF THE HEDGEHOG meets THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER in this novel about a bullied teenager and an old man in a retirement home who bond over their mutual love of jazz music. “Sensitive and deeply moving: outstanding.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review


A CROWN OF WISHES by Roshani Chokshi
Ages 13 to 18

In this second beautiful, lush fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Chokshi, Gauri, the princess of Bharata, must team up with her enemy kingdom’s prince Vikram to win the Tournament of Wishes—a competition held in a mythical city where the Lord of Wealth promises a wish to the victor. “Careful plotting, multiple viewpoints, high-stakes action, and a slow-burn relationship make this heady fantasy completely engrossing. A first pick for YA collections.” — School Library Journal, starred review

THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN by Roshani Chokshi (ages 13-19) is now available in trade paperback.

DREAM FOREVER by Kit Alloway (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Ages 13 to 18

As the veil to the Dream becomes dangerously thin, Josh must stop it from tearing to save the world, in the conclusion to The Dream Walker Trilogy.

DREAMWORLD: Two Books in One: DREAMFIRE & DREAMFEVER by Kit Alloway (ages 13-18) is now available in trade paperback.

GIVE ME A K-I-L-L by R.L. Stine (Fear Street series #6)
Ages 14 to 18
Heather Wyatt just transferred from her old school, where she was a cheerleading star, and is eager to join the squad at Shadyside High. There’s only one other girl who stands in her way—rich, spoiled Devra Dalby, who is also trying out for the one open slot. The competition is anything but friendly—and it ends in murder.

FEAR STREET SUPER THRILLERS: NIGHTMARES by R.L. Stine (ages 12-18) is now available in trade paperback.

DEAR READER by Mary O’Connell
Ages 12 to 18
Gilmore Girls with magical realism! In this original, poignant modern-day take on Wuthering Heights, a high school senior searches for her teacher and meets a boy who may just be Heathcliff come to life. “The use of Wuthering Heights intensifies the impact of Flannery and Miss Sweeney’s corresponding journeys; even readers who haven’t read the classic will find significance in the parallels.” — Publishers Weekly

CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell (ages 13-19) is now available in trade paperback.

SONGS ABOUT A GIRL by Chris Russell
Ages 12 to 18
Charlie Bloom is happiest behind her camera, taking pictures of her former classmate Olly Samson’s new band, Fire&Lights. Soon, they’re the hottest boy band in the country and Charlie becomes caught between Olly and Fire&Lights’ gorgeous but damaged frontman, Gabriel West. As the boys’ rivalry threatens to tear the band apart, Charlie stumbles on a secret about the band—and herself—hidden within the lyrics of their new #1 single. “Confronting the fickleness of fame and the damaging effects of rumors and harassment, Russell’s debut is highly relevant in an age of social media furors and the constant churn of news.” — Publishers Weekly