Articles tagged "Sid Jacobson"

Celebrate Black History Month

February is Black History Month! To celebrate, we’re having an e-Book sale all month long, and we’ve put together an Edelweiss collection of nearly 200 titles (History! Biography! Fiction! Culture!) to help you with collection development. Here are some highlights:

Nonfiction
TEARS WE CANNOT STOP: A Sermon to White America by Michael Eric Dyson
A CONSEQUENTIAL PRESIDENT: The Legacy of Barack Obama by Michael D’Antonio
THE MEANING OF MICHELLE: 16 Writers on the Iconic First Lady and How Her Journey Inspires Our Own by Veronica Chambers
MY LIFE, MY LOVE, MY LEGACY by Coretta Scott King & Rev. Dr. Barbara Reynolds
LOCKING UP OUR OWN: Crime and Punishment in Black America by James Forman, Jr.

Fiction / Graphic Novels
AND THEN THERE WAS ME by Sadeqa Johnson
BOSS by Tracy Brown
THE STREETS HAVE NO KING by JaQuavis Coleman
THE SUPREMES SING THE HAPPY HEARTACHE BLUES by Edward Kelsey Moore
FIRE!! THE ZORA NEALE HURSTON STORY by Peter Bagge
THREE-FIFTHS A MAN: A Graphic History of the African American Experience by Sid Jacobson & Ernie Colón

Click here to view the Black History Month Edelweiss collection.

Come one, come all to Books for Teens 2017!

BFT2017forweb
Lucky for you, we’ve created not one, but TWO posters of our favorite teen reads for 2017! Download and print your copies (11×17 tabloid size) of BFT poster 1 & BFT poster 2, or email us for a physical copy (don’t forget to include your mailing address).

Then, make sure that you’re pre-approved on Edelweiss to download all of our available e-galleys, including many of the titles mentioned below. Click here to find out how to be whitelisted.

You can also view our Edelweiss collection of Books for Teens 2017 titles here.

Now on to the books!

I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU by Gaby Dunn & Allison Raskin
Available September 5, 2017
Ages 14 to 19
Ava and Gen are two best friends heading off to their first semesters of college on opposite sides of the country. From first loves to weird roommates, heartbreak, self-discovery, coming out and mental health, the two document every moment in a series of texts and emails to each other. But as each changes and grows into her new life, will their friendship be able to survive the distance?

CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber
Ages 13 to 18

A 2018 Best Fiction for Young Adults nominee! After years of wishing, Scarlett and little sister, Tella, finally attend Caraval, the legendary, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show. However, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend, and the first person to find her wins the game. Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is an elaborate performance, but whether it’s real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, otherwise her sister disappears forever. “[A] magnificent debut novel… Intriguing characters, an imaginative setting, and evocative writing combine to create a spellbinding tale of love, loss, sacrifice, and hope.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review  

FREEKS by Amanda Hocking
Ages 12 to 18

Welcome to Gideon Davorin’s Traveling Carnival, where necromancy, magical visions, and pyrokinesis are more than just part of the act in bestselling author Hocking’s first standalone YA romance. “This fun paranormal romance, wrapped up in a circus-tent setting, is recommended where the genre and the author’s books are popular. Hand to fans of Twilight and MTV’s Teen Wolf.” — School Library Journal

THE RADIUS OF US by Marie Marquardt
Ages 13 to 19

From the author of the YALSA 2016 Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers nominee, DREAM THINGS TRUE, comes a powerful story told in alternating viewpoints of two young people struggling to overcome trauma and find healing in love. “While the teens’ relationship is tested when details from Phoenix’s past coincide with Gretchen’s case, a host of diverse characters lend a hand and offer varying perspectives. [An] …eye-opening story. ” — Kirkus Reviews

WINTERSONG by S. Jae-Jones
Ages 12 to 18

Set at the turn of the 19th century, this richly imagined debut coming-of-age story spins a spellbinding tale perfect for fans of Labyrinth and THE DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST as a young woman searches for her sister who was kidnapped by the Goblin King. “There are plenty of nods to Labyrinth, but atmospherically, this first novel is most similar to another debut: Robin McKinley’s BEAUTY. …this is an exquisitely and lyrically crafted tale of longing, sibling loyalty, and the importance of women in a time when women were so often overlooked. Eerie, unsettling, and, above all, full of music.” — Booklist, starred review

WONDERFUL FEELS LIKE THIS by Sara Lövestam
Ages 12 to 18

Two starred reviews and a 2018 Best Fiction for Young Adults nominee! THE ELEGANCE OF THE HEDGEHOG meets THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER in this novel about a bullied teenager and an old man in a retirement home who bond over their mutual love of jazz music. “Sensitive and deeply moving: outstanding.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

A CROWN OF WISHES by Roshani Chokshi
Ages 13 to 18

In this second beautiful, lush fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Chokshi, Gauri, the princess of Bharata, must team up with her enemy kingdom’s prince Vikram to win the Tournament of Wishes—a competition held in a mythical city where the Lord of Wealth promises a wish to the victor. “Careful plotting, multiple viewpoints, high-stakes action, and a slow-burn relationship make this heady fantasy completely engrossing. A first pick for YA collections.” — School Library Journal, starred review

THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN by Roshani Chokshi (ages 13-19) is now available in trade paperback.

DREAM FOREVER by Kit Alloway (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Ages 13 to 18

As the veil to the Dream becomes dangerously thin, Josh must stop it from tearing to save the world, in the conclusion to The Dream Walker Trilogy.

DREAMWORLD: Two Books in One: DREAMFIRE & DREAMFEVER by Kit Alloway (ages 13-18) is now available in trade paperback.

GIVE ME A K-I-L-L by R.L. Stine (Fear Street series #6)
Ages 14 to 18
Heather Wyatt just transferred from her old school, where she was a cheerleading star, and is eager to join the squad at Shadyside High. There’s only one other girl who stands in her way—rich, spoiled Devra Dalby, who is also trying out for the one open slot. The competition is anything but friendly—and it ends in murder.

FEAR STREET SUPER THRILLERS: NIGHTMARES by R.L. Stine (ages 12-18) will be available in trade paperback on August 1, 2017.

DEAR READER by Mary O’Connell
Ages 12 to 18
Gilmore Girls with magical realism! In this original, poignant modern-day take on Wuthering Heights, a high school senior searches for her teacher and meets a boy who may just be Heathcliff come to life. “The use of Wuthering Heights intensifies the impact of Flannery and Miss Sweeney’s corresponding journeys; even readers who haven’t read the classic will find significance in the parallels.” — Publishers Weekly

CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell (ages 13-19) is now available in trade paperback.

SONGS ABOUT A GIRL by Chris Russell
Ages 12 to 18
Charlie Bloom is happiest behind her camera, taking pictures of her former classmate Olly Samson’s new band, Fire&Lights. Soon, they’re the hottest boy band in the country and Charlie becomes caught between Olly and Fire&Lights’ gorgeous but damaged frontman, Gabriel West. As the boys’ rivalry threatens to tear the band apart, Charlie stumbles on a secret about the band—and herself—hidden within the lyrics of their new #1 single. “Confronting the fickleness of fame and the damaging effects of rumors and harassment, Russell’s debut is highly relevant in an age of social media furors and the constant churn of news.” — Publishers Weekly

readmoreremove

9/11: Twelve Years Later

Today is a painful day in our national history as we remember the tragic events of 9/11. There is a saying that "time heals all wounds" and while the truth of that statement may be up for debate, we can agree that time brings us insight and knowledge:

102 MINUTES: The Untold Story of the Fight to Survive Inside the Twin Towers
by Jim Dwyer and Kevin Flynn

At 8:46 am on September 11, 2001, 14,000 people were inside the twin towers. Over the next 102 minutes, each would become part of a drama for the ages. Drawing on hundreds of interviews with rescuers and survivors, thousands of pages of oral histories, and countless phone, e-mail, and emergency radio transcripts, New York Times reporters Jim Dwyer and Kevin Flynn tell the story of September 11 from the inside looking out.

A HISTORY OF THE WORLD SINCE 9/11: Disaster, Deception and Destruction in the War on Terror
by Dominic Streatfeild

Acclaimed author and journalist Dominic Streatfeild traveled across the world for years in pursuit of answers for this stunning collapse of international law. The results of his search form the most fully realized study of the war on terror yet written. Piercing reportage blends with sobering human drama, woven into eight narratives of how our world went wrong after 9/11.

THE 9/11 REPORT: The National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States
by Thomas H. Kean, Chair, and Lee Hamilton, Vice Chair; With analysis and reporting by The New York Times

A New York Times Notable Book of 2004, this complete edition of the 9/11 Report by the independent 9/11 Commission examines what happened that day, the lessons we learned and provides recommendations as to how we can prevent future attacks. 

readmoreremove

Banned Books as Graphic Novels

Today we're taking a look at a new way to read two exceptional books that have been challenged and banned:

ANNE FRANK: THE DIARY OF A YOUNG GIRL has been banned from schools in Virginia, Alabama, and Texas for being too upsetting, sexually offensive, and downright pornographic.* FAHRENHEIT 451 has been removed from required reading lists at schools in Mississippi and challenged in Texas for offensive language, violence, and Bible burning.**

These chilling stories show us the darkest sides of humanity from the past and a possible future. The urge to protect ourselves from the horrible things they depict is strong, but their messages of pain and hope must be heard and understood.

Both of these classics are now available as authorized graphic novels from Hill and Wang.

Banned Books Robot

readmoreremove

css.php