Articles tagged "Shigeru Mizuki"

Teen Talk Tuesday (6/20/17 Edition)

ewgcya-june2017Happy #ewgcya day, YA librarians! Great news: CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber and WONDERFUL FEELS LIKE THIS by Sara Lövestam are nominated for YALSA’s 2018 Best Fiction for Young Adults list!

Check out our latest & greatest teen titles out this month, then join us today at 4pm EST for Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya) and tell us what you’ve been reading and loving.

AFTERCARE INSTRUCTIONS by Bonnie Pipkin
Ages 12 to 18
In the tradition of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell comes a “sensitive and big-hearted”* debut novel of furious friendship, crazy love, and unexpected hope after a teen’s decision to end an unwanted pregnancy. “Genesis’s conflicted relationships with her mother, grandparents, and friends are as engrossing as her breakup with Peter, and her story packs a big emotional punch.” — *Publishers Weekly

I AM A SECRET SERVICE AGENT by Dan Emmett
Ages 8 to 18
Adapted from WITHIN ARM’S LENGTH for a young adult audience, a rare inside look at the Secret Service from an agent who protected Presidents George H. W. Bush, Bill Clinton, and George W. Bush. “Readers will admire Emmett’s discipline, commitment, physical strength, and endurance, as well as his understatement and dry humor.” — Publishers Weekly

KITARO AND THE GREAT TANUKI WAR by Shigeru Mizuki
Ages 8 & up
Kitaro faces off against a swamp monster, a paper screen come to life, and an army of mythical raccoon dogs in this graphic novel. readmoreremove

Friday Reads: Graphic Novels

TGIF! We’ve got four great graphic novels to kick off your weekend:

SHIRLEY JACKSON’S “THE LOTTERY”: The Authorized Graphic Adaptation by Miles Hyman
Available simultaneously in trade paperback
Two starred reviews! Published in time for Jackson’s centennial, this graphic adaptation masterfully reimagines her iconic story with a striking visual narrative created by her grandson, Miles Hyman. “A stunning graphic adaptation of a chilling classic.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

ROLLING BLACKOUTS: Dispatches from Turkey, Syria, and Iraq by Sarah Glidden
In this graphic novel, cartoonist Glidden details her two-month long journey through Turkey, Iraq, and Syria as she accompanies two reporters while they research stories on the Iraq War’s effect on the Middle East and, specifically, the war’s refugees. “Glidden’s understated, face-focused illustration style gets under your skin—by removing her own personality from the writing, the author sucks readers in so deeply that you really feel present, seeing her journey through her eyes.”
Library Journal, starred review

BRIEF HISTORIES OF EVERYDAY OBJECTS by Andy Warner
Hilarious, entertaining, and illustrated histories behind some of life’s most common and underappreciated objects—from the paper clip to the toothbrush to the sports bra and roller skates. “Learning about the past can be fun, and if writer/illustrator Warner is the one teaching, it can also be very funny. Fans of Randall Munroe’s WHAT IF? and THING EXPLAINER will find Warner’s read both informative and hilarious.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

The Giant 2016 Graphic Novel Roundup!

The saying goes, “A picture is worth a thousand words” and that’s certainly true of graphic novels. Thanks to comic book characters dominating pop culture, the format has been enjoying a boom and readers are coming to the medium in droves.

Publishers Weekly recently profiled graphic novel publisher Papercutz, which publishes between 50 and 60 books per year, mostly aimed at children ages 8–12. Their Super Genius imprint publishes books for teen readers and a new imprint called Charmz, aimed at pre-teen & early teen girls, will launch in May 2017.

Papercutz’s catalog includes bestselling licensed media properties, such as Barbie, Dennis the Menace, the Smurfs, Lego’s Ninjago and Bionicle series (though Lego moved the licenses to Little, Brown last year), a line of classic Disney graphic novels (DANTE’S INFERNO becomes MICKEY’S INFERNO, and X-MICKEY features X-Files-type supernatural escapades), as well as graphic novels based on a first-look deal with children’s TV network Nickelodeon.

Papercutz also rebooted select classics (WUTHERING HEIGHTS, THE JUNGLE, and THE INVISIBLE MAN to name a few) with artwork from acclaimed contemporary artists such as Rick Geary, Peter Kuper, and Gahan Wilson. Their first list in 2005 featured a manga-style graphic novel revival of the classic Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys adventure series, which are still in print and have together sold more than 800,000 copies.

Foreign imports are big, including France’s popular Ariol series by Emmanuel Guibert and Guillaume Bianco, and Antonello Dalena’s Ernest and Rebecca series. Italy’s bestselling prose series starring a time-traveling squirrel named Geronimo Stilton has done so well in the U.S. that Italy ran out of books and now Papercutz creates them.

Original graphic novels were an organic movement from the Geronimo Stilton books and Papercutz’s first original title was Deb Lucke’s THE LUNCH WITCH, followed by THE RED SHOES AND OTHER STORIES by Sandra Marrs and John Chalmers who create comics under the name Metaphrog. This November the house is publishing TRISH TRASH: Rollergirl of Mars, a YA SF graphic novel offering diversity—the book has a multiracial heroine—that was originally published in France but created by noted American cartoonist Jessica Abel.

The initial Charmz line (S’17) will simultaneously release the first four graphic novels in a planned series:
* CHLOE by Greg Tessier and Amandine, the story of a girl who is navigating life at a new school
* STITCHED by Mariah Huehner and Aaron Alexovich, a supernatural tale about a rag-doll girl who wakes up in a cemetery and must figure out who she is
* SWEETIES, based on Cathy Cassidy’s Chocolate Box Girls novels and adapted by Veronique Grisseaux and Anna Merli, about a girl who acquires four half-sisters when her father remarries
* THE GREAT COSMIC RACE by Amy Chu and Agnes Garbowska, a SF adventure story featuring an interstellar scavenger hunt, a smart girl, and an alien shapeshifter

Meanwhile, Library Journal offered their Graphic Novels Preview 2016 and noted many trends, starting with…
FEMALE CREATORS

Women writers and artists have historically been under­represented in graphic novels, but that seems poised to change based on the number of high-profile titles set for release in the coming year, ranging from humor to journalism to memoir and beyond. Among the most highly anticipated is Lynda Barry’s THE GREATEST OF MARLYS (Drawn & Quarterly, Aug.), a collection concentrating on one of best-selling Barry’s most beloved characters, eight-year-old Marlys. Through Marlys, Barry delves into the highs and lows of childhood and adolescence, capturing in unflinching detail the amusement and the horror of coming of age.

Lisa Hanawalt, perhaps best known as the designer behind the distinctive look of the animated Netflix series BoJack Horseman, moves fluidly between wit and pathos in HOT DOG TASTE TEST (Drawn & Quarterly, Jun.). While Hanawalt explores (and explodes) foodie culture in this new book, she also investigates relationships, identity issues, and more, all delivered in beautiful watercolors and an original and immensely funny voice.

Slightly less provocative but no less interesting an exploration of one artist’s quest for self-expression is Lucy Knisley’s memoir SOMETHING NEW: Tales from a Makeshift Bride (First Second, May), which details Knisley’s ventures in putting her own stamp on every facet of her wedding, from sewing her own dress to building the very barn in which the ceremony was held.

JOURNALISM AND NONFICTION

Riad Sattouf’s THE ARAB OF THE FUTURE, VOL. 2: A Childhood in the Middle East, 1984–1985 (Holt, Sept.), the sequel to THE ARAB OF THE FUTURE: A Childhood in the Middle East, 1978–1984, continues the author’s experiences moving among France, Libya, and Syria as a child. The second book finds the Sattoufs settled in Syria and struggling against obstacles both local and political.

Also exploring the Middle East, specifically the legacy of the Iraq War, is Sarah Glidden’s ROLLING BLACKOUTS (Drawn & Quarterly, Oct.), in which the author describes her travels as a journalist in Turkey, Iraq, and Syria.

FROM ABROAD

Graphic novels in translation continue to be massively popular, especially those originally published in Japanese. While the late Shigeru Mizuki is not the legend that [Osamu] Tezuka is, he is an important figure in his own right, and fans should be excited about Drawn & Quarterly’s THE BIRTH OF KITARO (May), the first of six volumes that will bring the Kitaro character to the United States for the first time. readmoreremove

2015 Eisner Award Nominations

Last week the Eisner Award nominations were announced and Macmillan has 7 graphic novels in the running!

Best Reality-Based Work
CAN’T WE TALK ABOUT SOMETHING MORE PLEASANT by Roz Chast (Bloomsbury)

Best Graphic Album—New
THE GIGANTIC BEARD THAT WAS EVIL by Stephen Collins (Picador)

Best Archival Collection/Project—Strips (at least 20 years old)
MOOMIN: The Deluxe Anniversary Edition by Tove Jansson, edited by Tom Devlin (Drawn & Quarterly)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material
BEAUTIFUL DARKNESS by Fabien Vehlmann & Kerascoët (Drawn & Quarterly)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia
SHOWA 1939–1944 and SHOWA 1944–1953: A History of Japan by Shigeru Mizuki (Drawn & Quarterly)

Best Writer/Artist
THE GIGANTIC BEARD THAT WAS EVIL by Stephen Collins (Picador)

Best Scholarly/Academic Work
AMERICAN COMICS, LITERARY THEORY, AND RELIGION: The Superhero Afterlife by A. David Lewis (Palgrave Macmillan) readmoreremove

Our 2014 Young Adult Library Services Association Nominated Titles!

Woohoo! We're thrilled that so many of our titles have been nominated by YALSA's prestigious awards and book lists committees! 

Charm & Strange2014 Morris Award Finalist 

CHARM & STRANGE by Stephanie Kuehn 

See all of the nominees for the 2014 Morris Award here.

YALSA's 2014 Best Fiction for Young Adults (NOMINEES)

CHARM & STRANGE by Stephanie Kuehn 
IF YOU FIND ME by Emily Murdoch
ELEANOR & PARK by Rainbow Rowell 
FANGIRL by Rainbow Rowell 

See the full list of Best Fiction for Young Adults nominees here.

YALSA's 2014 Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults (NOMINEES)

Conflicted: Life During Wartime
THE GOOD SOLDIERS by David Finkel
I AM A SEAL TEAM SIX WARRIOR: Memoirs of an American Soldier by Howard E. Wasdin & Stephen Templin 

GLBTQ: Books with Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer-questioning, Intersex, Asexual individuals, and Their Allies
ROOKIE YEARBOOK ONE, edited by Tavi Gevinson 

See the full list of Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults nominees here.

YALSA's 2014 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Readers (NOMINEES)

ROOKIE YEARBOOK ONE, edited by Tavi Gevinson
ONE BIG HAPPY FAMILY: Heartwarming Stories of Animals Caring for One Another by Lisa Rogak 
ELEANOR & PARK by Rainbow Rowell
USES FOR BOYS by Erica Lorraine Scheidt 
BEFORE I DIE by Candy Chang 

See the full list of Quick Picks nominees here.

YALSA's 2014 Great Graphic Novels for Teens (NOMINEES) 

THE ODYSSEY by Seymour Chwast
MARBLE SEASON by Gilbert Hernandez 
KITARO by Shigeru Mizuki 

See the full list of Great Graphic Novels for Teens nominees here.

readmoreremove

First Look: 2012 Titles from Drawn & Quarterly

D&Q Collage 2012

Graphic novel readers, rejoice! Drawn & Quarterly has some exciting new comics coming out this year. Here's a quick look at the schedule:

February:

Berlin #18
Jason Lutes

Jinchalo
Matt Forsythe 

Goliath
Tom Gauld 

April:

Gloriana
Kevin Huizenga 

Idyll 
Amber Albrecht 

Jerusalem: Chronicles from the Holy City 
Guy Delisle 

readmoreremove

css.php