Articles tagged "Shetland series"

Thriller Thursday (5/7/15 Edition)

Malice Domestic logoHappy #ThrillerThursday! First some news: Hank Phillippi Ryan’ s TRUTH BE TOLD won the 2014 Agatha Award for Best Contemporary Novel!

This is the second year in a row Ryan has won Best Contemporary Novel, and she also won another Agatha for a non-fiction anthology she edited for Sisters in Crime. Better yet, she’ll be the Toastmaster of next year’s Malice Domestic conference.

Now for this week’s new mysteries:

THIN AIR by Ann Cleeves
In the sixth book in the Shetland series, Detectives Jimmy Perez and Willow Reeves investigate the death of a woman obsessed with the ghost of a child. “Many elements conspire to make the latest entry in Cleeves’ Shetland series absolutely engrossing, including a combination ghost story and mystery, a multilayered main character, and a perfect atmosphere for misdirection and murder.” — Booklist, starred review

THE DEVIL’S MAKING by Seán Haldane
Haldane’s “evocative and elegantly written” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) debut historical mystery set on Vancouver Island won the Arthur Ellis Award and received THREE starred reviews, including this one from Library Journal: “Haldane never shies away from period-specific language and attitudes, which make readers feel as though they are walking the dirty streets of Victoria by his side. Historical whodunit fans will relish this exciting trip to 19th-century frontier Canada.” readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: May 2015 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles now for the May 2015* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due March 20! Click here for the full list of 2015 deadlines.

THIN AIR by Ann Cleeves
In the sixth book in the Shetland series, Detectives Jimmy Perez and Willow Reeves investigate the death of a woman obsessed with the ghost of a child.

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Thin Air.”

LITTLE BLACK LIES by Sharon Bolton
When a child goes missing, three people confess to the crime—but only one can be the killer. Two starred reviews

To request a copy, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Little Black Lies.”

THE ANCHORESS by Robin Cadwallader
A startling and strange debut novel set in 11th century England about a young girl’s desperate choice to isolate herself from the world.

download review copy edelweiss  Download a copy from Edelweiss

LETTERS TO THE LOST by Iona Grey
A beautifully written and evocative story of an impossible, unstoppable love affair set in London during World War II and the present day, perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Lauren Willig, and Sarah Jio.

download review copy edelweiss  Download a copy from Edelweiss

LIFTED BY THE GREAT NOTHING by Karim Dimechkie
The debut novel from Michener fellow Karim Dimechkie about a Lebanese-American coming of age under a loving roof and a devastating lie already has fans in Philipp Meyer, Kevin Powers, and Jim Crace.

download review copy edelweiss  Download a copy from Edelweiss readmoreremove

css.php