Articles tagged "serial killer"

Thriller Thursday (2/9/17 Edition)

thrillerthurs-2.9.17Gotham is buried under a blizzard today! If you’re stuck at home with a snow day, we recommend these mysteries to warm you up:

ECHOES IN DEATH by J.D. Robb
This chilling new suspense novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author J.D. Robb is the perfect entry point into the compelling In Death police procedural series featuring Lieutenant Eve Dallas. “Bestseller Robb (aka Nora Roberts) is not only prolific but consistently inventive, entertaining, and clever in her crime series set in a near-future New York City, as shown by the stunning 44th entry. Just when Eve appears to have everything sewn up, Robb delivers a final, devastating twist.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

A DARKNESS ABSOLUTE by Kelley Armstrong
In the follow-up to Armstrong’s May 2016 LibraryReads pick, CITY OF THE LOST, Rockton town detective Casey Duncan and sheriff’s deputy Will Anders take shelter in a cave during a blizzard and discover a former resident who’s been held captive for over a year. When the bodies of two other women turn up, Casey and her colleagues must find out if it’s an outsider behind the killings or one of Rockton’s own. “Armstrong, typically known for her urban-fantasy work, has crafted a solid thriller in this latest series, and fans of Karin Slaughter and Kathy Reichs will enjoy the headstrong and tough Casey Duncan.” — Booklist

SIX FOUR by Hideo Yokohama
Shortlisted for the CWA’s International Dagger Award! For five days in January 1989, the parents of a seven-year-old Tokyo schoolgirl sat and listened to the demands of their daughter’s kidnapper. They would never learn his identity. They would never see their daughter again. Fourteen years later, a press officer uncovers an anomaly in the case breaking it wide open. “Think Jo Nesbø by way of Haruki Murakami, and with a most satisfying payoff.” — Kirkus Reviews

UNDER THE KNIFE by Kelly Parsons
From the author of DOING HARM comes a thriller in which a grieving, vengeful husband stalks the surgeon he blames for his wife’s untimely death.“Kelly Parsons’ new medical thriller delivers an engrossing story about revenge, grief, technology and hospital practices. The suspense level is high, but Parsons’ fully realized characters, whose personalities have shades of gray, are his real achievement in UNDER THE KNIFE. …Parsons grounds his plot in real science and shows he’s well underway to becoming one of the top authors in the medical thriller genre.” — Associated Press readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (12/8/16 Edition)

We’ve got four great new mysteries for you this #ThrillerThursday, but first some excellent news: Ellen Hart (The Jane Lawless mysteries; FEVER IN THE DARK) has been named a 2017 MWA Grand Master!

MWA’s Grand Master Award represents the pinnacle of achievement in mystery writing and was established to acknowledge important contributions to this genre, as well as for a body of work that is both significant and of consistent high quality.

Now on to the books!

DON’T TURN OUT THE LIGHTS by Bernard Minier
Two starred reviews for the third thrilling Commandant Martin Servaz mystery, in which a serial killer he’s devoted his career to has targeted a radio show host as his next victim. “This is not your ordinary stalker thriller. It is a brilliant aria da capo, set appropriately to an operatic soundtrack, with a surprising and thoroughly satisfying conclusion. Perfect for fans of Martin Walker’s Bruno Courrèges series.” — Booklist, starred review

THE GENTLEMAN FROM JAPAN by James Church
“A complex mystery involving seven deaths in one night kicks off Church’s excellent sixth novel featuring enigmatic North Korean intelligence operative Inspector O. The pseudonymous Church, himself a former spy, makes all the plot developments chillingly plausible.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

SLJ’s Best Adult Books 4 Teens 2016

School Library Journal recently revealed their Best Books of 2016, and SLJ’s Best Adult Books 4 Teens list includes three Macmillan titles:

THE BRICKS THAT BUILT THE HOUSES by Kate Tempest
Two pairs of twentysomethings in modern London—Harry, a drug dealer, and her best friend, “tough” Leon; Becky, an erotic masseuse and dancer, and her overprotective boyfriend, Pete—try to find their place in the gritty underbelly of London. Tempest builds on the stories first outlined in her hip-hop album Everybody Down to create a dark tale of coming-of-age in an unforgiving world.

EVERDAY SEXISM by Laura Bates
Using hundreds of tales from women (and men) about sexual abuse, catcalling, and sexism, Bates draws from her social media project, Everyday Sexism, to create a must-have title about social justice, feminism, and microaggressions.

THE MIDNIGHT ASSASSIN: Panic, Scandal, and the Hunt for America’s First Serial Killer by Skip Hollandsworth
In the mid-1880s, an ax murderer targeted the women of Austin, TX. Fans of history and true crime won’t be disappointed by this fascinating and intricately researched account of a serial killer who predated England’s Jack the Ripper. readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: February 2017 LibraryReads Titles

feb17lrcollageDownload, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the February 2017* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due December 20! Click here for the full list of 2017 deadlines.

A DARKNESS ABSOLUTE by Kelley Armstrong
In the follow-up to Armstrong’s May 2016 LibraryReads pick, CITY OF THE LOST, Rockton town detective Casey Duncan and sheriff’s deputy Will Anders take shelter in a cave during a blizzard and discover a former resident who’s been held captive for over a year. When the bodies of two other women turn up, Casey and her colleagues must find out if it’s an outsider behind the killings or one of Rockton’s own. “Fans are already lining up in droves.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Darkness Absolute.”*

THE MOTHER’S PROMISE by Sally Hepworth
Hepworth’s THE THINGS WE KEEP was a January 2016 LibraryReads pick and in her new novel, a single mother reaches out to her oncology nurse and social worker to help find a stable situation for her daughter, who suffers from a crippling social anxiety. “Readers should get ready for a good, ugly cry after reading Hepworth’s latest. Part tearjerker, part celebration of mothers, this story tugs at the heartstrings, guaranteeing that readers will smile through the tears.” — Booklist, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Mother’s Promise.”*

THE CLAIRVOYANTS by Karen Brown
Two starred reviews for this gothic-inflected psychological suspense novel that unmasks the secret desires of a young woman with a mystical gift. “[An] arresting, unsettling, and beautiful tale. Brown enchants and haunts by making the reader question every voice, every truth.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

UNIVERSAL HARVESTER by John Darnielle
Life in a small Iowa town takes a dark turn when mysterious footage begins appearing on VHS cassettes at the local Video Hut. “Darnielle’s masterfully disturbing follow-up to the National Book Award–nominated WOLF IN WHITE VAN reads like several Twilight Zone scripts cut together by a poet.Booklist, starred review

To request an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Universal Harvester.”* readmoreremove

Four Stars for THE KILLING LESSONS!

#ThrillerThursday bonus: FOUR STARRED rave pre-publication reviews for THE KILLING LESSONS by Saul Black!

Exceptional police thriller… Readers will hope [SFPD homicide detective Valerie Hart] returns soon in another nail-biter.” Publishers Weekly, boxed & starred review

“Black (aka Glen Duncan, I Lucifer) has written a taut, smart thriller guaranteed to keep readers on the edge of their seats. Not to be missed.” — Library Journal, starred review

“Raw and utterly readable… readers will… whip through the pages.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“All of the serial-killer staples are accounted for: self-destructing detective, slippery killer, and sympathetic future victims. But Black, a pseudonym for acclaimed dark-fantasy author Glen Duncan (The Last Werewolf), twists the formula with a killer who defies the coldly calculating criminal mastermind archetype, an unblinking willingness to off characters he’s convinced readers to like, and a hokum-free thread of reawakening lost souls. A serial-murder tale in league with the best of Lauren Beukes and Chelsea Cain: that means must-read for those who like their psychological thrillers raw.” — Booklist, starred review

A BEA 2015 “Shout ‘n Share” selection!

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss & start reading now! Don’t see the green button? Get whitelisted!

Thriller Thursday (6/18/15 Edition)

Where else would you find detectives, reporters, and a serial killer, but in our latest #ThrillerThursday roundup?!

THE PRECIPICE by Paul Doiron
libraryreads logo squareA June 2015 LibraryReads pick! In the riveting new novel from Edgar finalist Doiron, Mike Bowditch joins a desperate search for two missing hikers as Maine wildlife officials deal with a frightening rash of coyote attacks. “This is one of the finest entries in a uniformly strong series that has quietly taken its place among the very best outdoors-based crime dramas.” – Booklist (two starred reviews)

DEATH IN SALEM by Eleanor Kuhns
“Fourth in the Will Rees series, this post–Revolutionary period mystery showcases Kuhns’ talent for unusual historical detail, plot complexity, and diverse characters. [A] psychologically astute puzzle suited for fans of David Liss and James McGee.”
Booklist

DEATH IN BRITTANY by Jean-Luc Bannalec
Two starred reviews for this international bestseller, which introduces Commisaire Dupin—a witty, quintessential traditional police inspector in an idyllic French seaside village. “Bannelec excels at plotting and pacing, as well as vivid descriptions of the Finistère countryside. Readers will look forward to seeing more Dupin books from this talented author.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

css.php