Articles tagged "Rupi Kaur"

#FridayReads From Our Fave Indian Authors

TGIF! Today’s #FridayReads are by two of our favorite Indian authors:

ONE DAY WE’LL ALL BE DEAD AND NONE OF THIS WILL MATTER by Scaachi Koul
One of Buzzfeed’s “Most Exciting Books Coming In 2017!” For readers of Mindy Kaling, Luvvie Ajayi, and Rupi Kaur comes a debut collection of fierce and funny essays about growing up the daughter of Indian immigrants, addressing sexism, cultural stereotypes and the universal miseries of life by rising star Scaachi Koul.

NO ONE CAN PRONOUNCE MY NAME by Rakesh Satyal
A humorous and tender multi-generational novel about immigrants and outsiders, those trying to find their place in American society and within their own families. “…an enjoyable read with an East Indian American flair.” — Library Journal

Share your #FridayReads with us @MacmillanLib. Happy weekend!

For Your Consideration: March 2017 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the March 2017* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due January 20! Click here for the full list of 2017 deadlines.

NEVER LET YOU GO by Chevy Stevens
In the new novel from the LibraryReads author of THOSE GIRLS, Lindsey Nash escaped an abusive marriage and has successfully started her life over with her daughter—or so she thought. “Gripping… The difficulty of reading this book as a survivor must be emphasized; those of us who’ve endured domestic violence will recognize our lasting terrors and looking-over-our-shoulder habits in these pages and in this woman, as Stevens’ portrayal is spot-on. At the same time, survivors will want to pass the book on to everyone who ever asked them why they didn’t just leave. A must for public libraries.” — Booklist

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Never Let You Go.”*

EDGAR AND LUCY by Victor Lodato
Two starred reviews for this second novel from the author of the award-winning MATHILDA SAVITCH, about the complicated love a mother has for her unusual child and vice versa, and their drive to create family wherever they can find it. “Through numerous changing viewpoints, the truth is gradually revealed, creating suspense and rewarding readers with unexpected parallels and touching connections. Lodato’s remarkable novel traces a broken family’s spiritual journey toward healing in moving, magical prose.” — Booklist, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Edgar and Lucy.”*

A TWIST OF THE KNIFE by Becky Masterman
When ex-FBI agent Brigid Quinn is contacted by former colleague Laura Coleman to help exonerate Marcus Creighton, a death row inmate in Florida, Brigid agrees to help, especially since the case is the perfect distraction from her complicated family relationships. “Edgar-finalist Masterman presents a compassionate, clear-eyed depiction of the painful foibles of human nature in her chilling, twist-filled third thriller featuring retired FBI agent Brigid Quinn. A compelling, complex lead, Brigid has no problem skirting the straight and narrow in her quest for justice.”
Publishers Weekly

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

ALMOST MISSED YOU by Jessica Strawser
A powerful debut that knits parental abduction with devastating secrets unraveling among friends and spouses. “Fans of smart women’s fiction mixed with a fast-paced plot should not miss this startling first novel from the editorial director of Writer’s Digest Magazine.” — Library Journal

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Almost Missed You.”* readmoreremove

css.php