Articles tagged "Run You Down"

Fiction All-Stars

We’re seeing lots of stars for these upcoming fiction releases:

THE DARK FLOOD RISES by Margaret Drabble – 3 stars!
“For women of a certain age, it is a pure pleasure to grow older alongside Drabble. For all others, there’s plenty of joy to be had in this thoughtful meditation on aging and mortality.” — Library Journal, starred review

“Searingly sad but often hilarious… Drabble has filled her tale with characters desperately trying to make sense of life and loss, of beauty, talent, missed opportunities, faded passion.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Those who appreciate her able combination of intelligence, wit, and rue will willingly follow Drabble into the sunset.” Kirkus Reviews, starred review

CONVICTION by Julia Dahl – 3 stars!
“CONVICTION is a cleverly named compelling chronicle…[about] the very meaning of power and poverty, justice, family, and, best of all, hope. Timely and perfect for twenty- and thirtysomething fans of Megan Abbott and Lisa Lutz.” — Booklist, starred review

“Outstanding… Dahl excels at revealing the inner workings of enigmatic subcultures while maintaining peak suspense. She also provides a terrific ‘whoa, I didn’t see that coming” moment.’” Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Newcomers to this award-winning series can jump right in with this installment, and be eager to read about Rebekah’s earlier investigations (INVISIBLE CITY; RUN YOU DOWN). The unsettling coercion of a confession from a teenage suspect could make this a good suggestion for fans of the show Making a Murderer. A surefire winner for any mystery or suspense fan. ” — Library Journal, starred review

WALKAWAY by Cory Doctorow
“Doctorow offers a counterintuitive alternate (possible?) future in this gritty yet hopeful sci-fi epic. A truly visionary techno-thriller that not only depicts how we might live tomorrow, but asks why we don’t already.” Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“The sweeping epic, which covers decades of Walkaway life—despite some difficult-to-read but entirely believable character trauma—is ultimately suffused with hope.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: March 2017 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the March 2017* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due January 20! Click here for the full list of 2017 deadlines.

NEVER LET YOU GO by Chevy Stevens
In the new novel from the LibraryReads author of THOSE GIRLS, Lindsey Nash escaped an abusive marriage and has successfully started her life over with her daughter—or so she thought. “Gripping… The difficulty of reading this book as a survivor must be emphasized; those of us who’ve endured domestic violence will recognize our lasting terrors and looking-over-our-shoulder habits in these pages and in this woman, as Stevens’ portrayal is spot-on. At the same time, survivors will want to pass the book on to everyone who ever asked them why they didn’t just leave. A must for public libraries.” — Booklist

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Never Let You Go.”*

EDGAR AND LUCY by Victor Lodato
Two starred reviews for this second novel from the author of the award-winning MATHILDA SAVITCH, about the complicated love a mother has for her unusual child and vice versa, and their drive to create family wherever they can find it. “Through numerous changing viewpoints, the truth is gradually revealed, creating suspense and rewarding readers with unexpected parallels and touching connections. Lodato’s remarkable novel traces a broken family’s spiritual journey toward healing in moving, magical prose.” — Booklist, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Edgar and Lucy.”*

A TWIST OF THE KNIFE by Becky Masterman
When ex-FBI agent Brigid Quinn is contacted by former colleague Laura Coleman to help exonerate Marcus Creighton, a death row inmate in Florida, Brigid agrees to help, especially since the case is the perfect distraction from her complicated family relationships. “Edgar-finalist Masterman presents a compassionate, clear-eyed depiction of the painful foibles of human nature in her chilling, twist-filled third thriller featuring retired FBI agent Brigid Quinn. A compelling, complex lead, Brigid has no problem skirting the straight and narrow in her quest for justice.”
Publishers Weekly

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

ALMOST MISSED YOU by Jessica Strawser
A powerful debut that knits parental abduction with devastating secrets unraveling among friends and spouses. “Fans of smart women’s fiction mixed with a fast-paced plot should not miss this startling first novel from the editorial director of Writer’s Digest Magazine.” — Library Journal

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Almost Missed You.”* readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (6/18/15 Edition)

Where else would you find detectives, reporters, and a serial killer, but in our latest #ThrillerThursday roundup?!

THE PRECIPICE by Paul Doiron
libraryreads logo squareA June 2015 LibraryReads pick! In the riveting new novel from Edgar finalist Doiron, Mike Bowditch joins a desperate search for two missing hikers as Maine wildlife officials deal with a frightening rash of coyote attacks. “This is one of the finest entries in a uniformly strong series that has quietly taken its place among the very best outdoors-based crime dramas.” – Booklist (two starred reviews)

DEATH IN SALEM by Eleanor Kuhns
“Fourth in the Will Rees series, this post–Revolutionary period mystery showcases Kuhns’ talent for unusual historical detail, plot complexity, and diverse characters. [A] psychologically astute puzzle suited for fans of David Liss and James McGee.”
Booklist

DEATH IN BRITTANY by Jean-Luc Bannalec
Two starred reviews for this international bestseller, which introduces Commisaire Dupin—a witty, quintessential traditional police inspector in an idyllic French seaside village. “Bannelec excels at plotting and pacing, as well as vivid descriptions of the Finistère countryside. Readers will look forward to seeing more Dupin books from this talented author.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: June 2015 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles now for the June 2015* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due April 20! Click here for the full list of 2015 deadlines.

THE BOOK OF SPECULATION by Erika Swyler
A beautifully crafted and hand-illustrated debut novel about a librarian who discovers a mysterious book that holds the key to a curse that has haunted his family of traveling circus performers for generations.

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy from Edelweiss

SUMMER SECRETS by Jane Green
New York Times bestselling author Green delivers a powerful story of one woman struggling to right the wrongs of her past, with even more complications in the present.

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Summer Secrets.”*

THE PRECIPICE by Paul Doiron
In the riveting new novel from Edgar finalist Doiron, Mike Bowditch joins a desperate search for two missing hikers as Maine wildlife officials deal with a frightening rash of coyote attacks.

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy from Edelweiss

THE SUNLIT NIGHT by Rebecca Dinerstein
Dinerstein’s debut novel about two lives that intersect ninety-five miles above the Arctic Circle is one of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2015. “With provocative insights about the cruelty of abandonment, the concept of home, and the limits of parental and filial love, Dinerstein’s novel is a rich reading experience.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy from Edelweiss

readmoreremove

css.php