Articles tagged "Ronald Balson"

BEA 2016 – Friday Events

It’s the last day of BEA! Come to all of our excellent programs and stop by the Macmillan booth (#1958-1959) for our final ​giveaways and signings.​

“Mac Snack Book Attack” — #LibrariansOnly!
9:30-10:30am
McCormick Place | Macmillan Booth #1958

A special librarian-only event! Come to the Macmillan booth (#1958) for free ARCs, a breakfast snack, and personalized reader’s advisory recommendations from library marketing manager Anne “sweet teeth” Spieth and colleagues. While supplies last!

The AAP’s Annual Librarians Book Buzz, Part II
2:00-3:20pm
McCormick Place | Room W184b

Come listen to our publishing friends as they highlight their favorite forthcoming titles!

The 8th Annual Librarian Shout ‘n Share
3:30-5:00pm
McCormick Place | Room W184b

Join librarians as they sound off on their favorite exhibit floor reads, and other upcoming works they are looking forward to sharing with their patrons at this panel co-sponsored by the AAP and Library Journal. Wilda Williams, Fiction Editor, Library Journal moderates this year’s Shout N Sharers:

  • Vicki Nesting, Assistant Director, St. Charles Parish Public Library, Hanville LA
  • Lesa Holstine, Collection Development Manager, Evansville Public Library, Evansville IN
  • Tracy Babiasz, Acquisitions & Collections Manager, Chapel Hill Public Library, Chapel Hill NC
  • Stephen Sposato, Manager, Content Curation, Chicago Public Library, Chicago IL
  • Darren Nelson, Collection Development Librarian, Sno-Isle Libraries, Tulalip WA
  • readmoreremove

Macmillan Library @ LJ/SLJ Day of Dialog & BEA 2016!

BookExpo America ​is just around the corner and we ​can’t wait to see you in Chicago at L​ibrary ​J​ournal​ & S​chool ​L​ibrary ​J​ournal​’s Day of Dialog, at BEA in the Macmillan booth (#1958-1959), and at these great ​events.​

*As always, our schedule is subject to change.  Please check back often!

Wednesday, May 11

Library Journal‘s Day of Dialog
9:00am–6:00pm
UIC Forum, 725 Roosevelt Road, Chicago, IL 60607
RSVP required, space is limited

ADULT LIBRARIANS: Click here to RSVP.

Scheduled to speak:
Amy Einhorn, Senior VP, Publisher (Flatiron Books) | Editor’s Picks Panel
Jonathan Safran Foer, HERE I AM | Choice Fiction Panel
Luvvie Ajayi, I’M JUDGING YOU | The Art of Nonfiction Panel

Plus free Macmillan ARCs & personalized readers’ advisory recommendations from Talia Sherer! Full schedule available here.

School Library Journal‘s Day of Dialog
9:00am–6:00pm
UIC Forum, 725 Roosevelt Road, Chicago, IL 60607
RSVP required, space is limited

YA/TEEN LIBRARIANS: Click here to RSVP.

Scheduled to speak:
Roshani Chokshi, THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN | Mind-bending Women of YA Panel

Plus free YA Macmillan ARCs & personalized readers’ advisory recommendations from Anne Spieth! Full schedule available here.


The 10th Annual BEA Adult Librarians Dinner, co-hosted by LibraryReads and the AAP

6:30-9:30pm
The Palmer House Hilton | Empire Room
RSVP required, space is limited

Don’t miss this annual dinner featuring a panel of high-profile authors, including Glennon Doyle Melton, who shares the story of her journey of self-discovery after the implosion of her marriage in her highly anticipated memoir, LOVE WARRIOR.

Details and RSVP here by April 29. You will receive an e-confirmation if your request is accommodated.

Macmillan Galley Giveaways and Author Signings – Wednesday (Booth #1958-1959):

***1:00pm Ticket Drop for all Wednesday in-booth signings***
1:00pm Giveaway: Macmillan Audio Louise Penny tote bags
2:00pm In-Booth Signing: Jonathan Safran Foer, HERE I AM (FSG)
2:00pm Galley Giveaway: CHILDREN OF THE NEW WORLD by Alexander Weinstein (Picador)
2:30pm In-Booth Signing: Loren D. Estelman, SHOOT (Forge)
3:00pm Galley Giveaway: THE RISING by Jon Land & Heather Graham (Tor)
3:30pm Galley Giveaway: EMPEROR OF THE EIGHT ISLANDS by Lian Hearn (FSG)
4:30pm Galley Giveaway: PANACEA by F. Paul Wilson (Tor)
4:30pm Galley Giveaway: I WILL SEND RAIN by Rae Meadows (Holt)

Thursday, May 12

Libraries Transform™: ALA@BEA Publisher Marketing Teams Helping You Help Readers
11:00-11:50am
McCormick Place | Room W183

Join this fun, fast, and fabulous panel about publishers helping librarians to help readers! Representatives from publisher library marketing departments will share what they do and how they support librarians in efforts to delight readers. Learn about different programs, tools and materials that are available to librarians. Join Macmillan’s Talia Sherer & Anne Spieth, as well as Nora Rawlinson of Earlyword.com fame and other publishers for the marketing support that will help you help patrons!!

BEA Young Adult Editors’ Buzz
10:00–10:50am
McCormick Place | Room W184bc

Stephanie Garber discusses her debut YA novel, CARAVAL with Flatiron Books editor Sarah Dotts Barley, as part of this YA book buzz panel.

The AAP’s Annual Librarians Book Buzz, Part I
1:45-3:15pm
McCormick Place | Room W184b

Come hear Anne Spieth highlight her favorite forthcoming Macmillan titles at this very popular annual Publishers Book Buzz! readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: September 2015 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles now for the September 2015* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due July 20! Click here for the full list of 2015 deadlines.

BLACK MAN IN A WHITE COAT by Damon Tweedy
A BEA 2015 Editor’s Buzz & “Shout ‘n Share” selection!An arresting memoir that personalizes the enduring racial divide in contemporary American medicine. In this unsparingly honest chronicle, Tweedy cohesively illuminates the experiences of black doctors and black patients and reiterates the need for improved understanding of racial differences within global medical communities.” — Kirkus Reviews

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy from Edelweiss

JADE DRAGON MOUNTAIN by Elsa Hart
A BEA 2015 “Shout ‘n Share” selection! A stunning, lyrical debut mystery in which an exiled librarian traveling through the 18th-century Chinese/Tibetan borderlands must learn the truth about a Jesuit priest’s death before the Emperor arrives.

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy from Edelweiss

FURIOUSLY HAPPY by Jenny Lawson
A BEA 2015 “Shout ‘n Share” selection! #1 New York Times bestselling author Jenny Lawson (“The Bloggess”) examines her own experience with severe depression and a host of other conditions, and explains how it has led her to live life in the fullest in this hilarious memoir. “Kudos to Lawson for being a flagrant and witty spokesperson for this dark subject matter.” — Kirkus Reviews

Galleys are available at ALA Annual 2015 in San Francisco (Macmillan Adult booth #1009).

THE KILLING LESSONS by Saul Black
A BEA 2015 “Shout ‘n Share” selection! In this extraordinary, pulse-pounding debut, Saul Black takes us deep into the mind of a psychopath, and into the troubled heart of the woman determined to stop him.

Download a copdownload review copy edelweissy from Edelweiss readmoreremove

Friday FREE (Sampler) Day!

 

Did you know our friends at St. Martin's Press love librarians? 

It's true. They care about you SO much that they created a sampler featuring excerpts from 20 of their favorite Fall 2013 titles. It's a calorie-free buffet for #librariansonly!

Click here to download your copy.

Monday Fun Day with ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS

Happy Monday friends! We've got a treat for you today–it's a success story. Who doesn't love those?

Once We Were Brothers ad

By day Ronald H. Balson is a trial attorney in Chicago, but by night (or the weekend, or whenever he has time), he writes. His practice took him around the globe and seeing villages in Poland inspired his debut novel, ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS, which he self-published. With virtually no marketing or publicity, it steadily built word-of-mouth acclaim (the average Goodreads rating is 4-1/2 stars) until an eagle-eyed editor at St. Martin's Press snapped it up.

ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS is a heart-wrenching story about two boys, as close as can be without blood relation, who find themselves on opposite sides of the Holocaust as they struggle to survive in war-torn Poland. Sixty years later, their lives collide in a quest for redemption. The result is an enthralling tale of love, survival, and triumph of the human spirit, perfect for fans of SARAH'S KEY by Tatiana de Rosnay. 

"This novel is uplifting and moving, intelligently written and featuring historically accurate context and an unusual insight into human character and motivations. Highly recommended for all readers." – Library Journal, starred review

"...readers will be riveted by this novel’s central question: Will justice long delayed be denied?" – Kirkus Reviews

"Many will enjoy this gripping novel for its narrative drive and its emotional storytelling." – Booklist

readmoreremove

css.php