Articles tagged "Ron Howard"

Thriller Thursday (1/11/18 Edition)

It may be cold outside, but these five thrillers are guaranteed to warm you up!

THE WIFE BETWEEN US by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen
A January 2018 LibraryReads and Indie Next pick with two starred reviews and big movie news! A novel of suspense that explores the complexities of marriage and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love. “Readers who were enthralled by B.A. Paris’s BEHIND CLOSED DOORS and Gillian Flynn’s GONE GIRL will love the skewed psychology and shifting perspectives of this domestic thriller.” — Library Journal, starred review

GRIST MILL ROAD by Christopher J. Yates
A January 2018 Indie Next pick with THREE starred reviews! The author of BLACK CHALK, an NPR Best Book of the Year optioned for film by Ron Howard, returns with a thriller about Patrick, Matthew, and Hannah, who are bound together in a love triangle held tighter by one seemingly senseless but decidedly criminal act that has devastating results 26 years later. “Mesmerizing and impossible to put down, this novel demands full attention, full empathy, and full responsibility; in return it offers poignant insight into human fragility and resilience.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

JUST BETWEEN US by Rebecca Drake
Four suburban mothers and friends conspire to cover up a deadly crime in this heart-stopping novel of suspense in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and Lisa Unger. “This tale of deceit begins with our favorite premise [and] winds its roller-coaster plot around our tendency to see exactly what we are looking for—while our little lies take on dangerous lives of their own.” — Oprah.com

STRANGERS by Ursula Archer & Arno Strobel
A shocking thriller that explores what happens when mysterious foul play causes a woman not to recognize or remember her fiancé, but forces the couple to trust each other and fight the odds. “Nuanced characters, a complex plot, and a skillfully woven alternating narrative drive the story toward a denouement that shocks….” — Publishers Weekly

DARKNESS SING ME A SONG by David Housewright
The Edgar Award-winning Holland Taylor series returns with a case of murder resulting from tragic, twisted drama in an extremely wealthy family. “The knots are many and messy, and Holland shows he has the wit and character to untangle them.” — Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: January 2018 Indie Next List

Three Macmillan titles made the January 2018 Indie Next list!

THE WIFE BETWEEN US by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen
Two starred reviews and big movie news for this novel of suspense that explores the complexities of marriage and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love. “Readers who were enthralled by B.A. Paris’s BEHIND CLOSED DOORS and Gillian Flynn’s GONE GIRL will love the skewed psychology and shifting perspectives of this domestic thriller.” — Library Journal, starred review

GRIST MILL ROAD by Christopher J. Yates
THREE starred reviews! The author of BLACK CHALK, an NPR Best Book of the Year optioned for film by Ron Howard, returns with a thriller about Patrick, Matthew, and Hannah, who are bound together in a love triangle held tighter by one seemingly senseless but decidedly criminal act that has devastating results 26 years later. “Mesmerizing and impossible to put down, this novel demands full attention, full empathy, and full responsibility; in return it offers poignant insight into human fragility and resilience.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

GRIST MILL ROAD is Your New Thriller Obsession

Tana French just blurbed it. Ruth Ware is tweeting about it. Actress and debut author Krysten Ritter is Instagramming it. And it has THREE *starred* reviews.

“It” is GRIST MILL ROAD, a new thriller from Christopher J. Yates, whose previous book, BLACK CHALK, was an NPR Best Book of the Year optioned for film by Ron Howard.

GRIST MILL ROAD opens in small-town upstate New York in 1982 where Patrick, Matthew, and Hannah are bound together in a love triangle held all the tighter by one seemingly senseless but decidedly criminal act. A quarter of a century later, living lives their younger selves could never have predicted, the three meet again—with even more devastating results.

https://twitter.com/RuthWareWriter/status/915533414027100160

“Mesmerizing and impossible to put down, this novel demands full attention, full empathy, and full responsibility; in return it offers poignant insight into human fragility and resilience.” Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“[A] haunting, disturbing, beautiful and demanding novel…. The intensity of the storytelling is exhilarating and unsettling.” — Booklist, starred review

“[An] edgy, intelligent thriller…. The reader’s sympathies shift as each character brings a different perspective to the events that shaped them. Unexpected twists keep the tension high.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: January 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite December 2017 AND January 2018 titles for the January 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due November 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

YEAR ONE: Chronicles of the One by Nora Roberts
A December 2017 Indie Next pick with two starred reviews! In the stunning beginning to an epic hardcover trilogy, #1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts weaves an enthralling saga of suspense, survival, and the journey that will unite a desperate group of people to fight the battle of their lives. “Roberts’ new direction is electric and ground-breaking. A fast-paced, mesmerizing, and thought-provoking novel that will no doubt add to Roberts’ legions of fans.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Year One.”*

DARK IN DEATH by J.D. Robb
During a screening of Psycho in midtown, someone sunk an ice pick into the back of Chanel Rylan’s neck, then disappeared quietly into the crowds in Times Square. As Lieutenant Eve Dallas puzzles over a homicide that seems carefully planned and yet oddly personal, she receives a tip from an unexpected source: an author of police thrillers who recognizes the crime—from the pages of her own book. “Robb expertly ratchets up the suspense as the endgame approaches in this deadly chess match between Eve and her cunning opponent.” — Publishers Weekly

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Dark in Death.”*

BENEATH THE SUGAR SKY by Seanan McGuire
The third contemporary fantasy in the Wayward Children series, following LibraryReads picks EVERY HEART A DOORWAY and DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES! When Rini lands with a literal splash in the pond behind Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children, the last thing she expects to find is that her mother, Sumi, died years before Rini was even conceived.

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

HELLBENT by Gregg Hurwitz
Secret government forces are busy trying to scrub the remaining assets and traces of the Orphan Program and they have finally tracked down Evan Smoak’s handler, Jack. With little time remaining, Jack gives Evan his last assignment: find and protect his last protégé and recruit for the Orphan Program. “The story moves as fast as a bullet train, and we’ve never seen Evan Smoak as emotionally exposed as he is here. Do not miss this one.” — Booklist, starred review

To request an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Hellbent.”*

THE WIFE BETWEEN US by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen
Two starred reviews and big movie news for this novel of suspense that explores the complexities of marriage and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love. “Readers who were enthralled by B.A. Paris’s BEHIND CLOSED DOORS and Gillian Flynn’s GONE GIRL will love the skewed psychology and shifting perspectives of this domestic thriller.” — Library Journal, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss
readmoreremove

css.php