Articles tagged "romance"

Library Journal’s Best Books of 2018

The year-end best-of lists are still rolling in, and now we’re proud to announce that Library Journal‘s Best Books of 2018 includes 21 Macmillan titles:

Crime Fiction
A DEATH OF NO IMPORTANCE by Mariah Fredericks

Graphic Novels
WOMAN WORLD by Aminder Dhaliwal
SABRINA by Nick Drnaso
BERLIN by Jason Lutes

Horror
THE MERRY SPINSTER: Tales of Everyday Horror by Mallory Ortberg
BABY TEETH by Zoje Stage

Pop Fiction
RUST & STARDUST by T. Greenwood

Romance
THE DUKE WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO by Kerrigan Byrne

Sci Fi/Fantasy
THE CALCULATING STARS: A Lady Astronaut Novel by Mary Robinette Kowal
BINTI: THE NIGHT MASQUERADE by Nnedi Okorafor
EXIT STRATEGY: The Murderbot Diaries Volume 4 by Martha Wells

Short Stories
EVENING IN PARADISE: More Stories by Lucia Berlin
A LUCKY MAN: Stories by Jamel Brinkley

Arts
FLASH: The Making of Weegee the Famous by Christopher Bonanos

Bio/Memoir
WHEN THEY CALL YOU A TERRORIST: A Black Lives Matter Memoir by Patrisse Khan-Cullors and asha bandele readmoreremove

NYPL Best Books of 2018

Librarians obviously have the best taste in books, so we’re super excited to share the New York Public Library’s 2018 Best Books for Adults

Top Ten
WOMAN WORLD by Aminder Dhaliwal

Edge-of-Your-Seat Reads
THE WIFE BETWEEN US by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

Escape to Another World
SEMIOSIS by Sue Burke

Fiction
BROTHER by David Chariandy
KUDOS by Rachel Cusk
THE GREAT ALONE by Kristin Hannah
GIRLS BURN BRIGHTER by Shobha Rao

For Art Lovers
SABRINA by Nick Drnaso
SHIT IS REAL by Aisha Franz
BERLIN by Jason Lutes

For History Lovers
THE ONLY HARMLESS GREAT THING by Brooke Bolander

Love Stories
TIME WAS by Ian McDonald

Memoir
ELOQUENT RAGE: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower by Brittney Cooper

Nonfiction
ONE PERSON, NO VOTE: How Voter Suppression Is Destroying Our Democracy by Carol Anderson
THE POISONED CITY: Flint’s Water and the American Urban Tragedy by Anna Clark
LOOK ALIVE OUT THERE: Essays by Sloane Crosley
THE COST OF LIVING: A Working Autobiography by Deborah Levy

Poetry
NEW POETS OF NATIVE NATIONS by Heid E. Erdrich
WADE IN THE WATER by Tracy K. Smith
EYE LEVEL by Jenny Xie

Romance Round-up!

We may officially be heading into the cold weather season, but for your #weekendreads, let’s heat things up with a romance round-up!

THE DUKE WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO by Kerrigan Byrne 
Library Journal Best Book of the Year

“A hero so lost he fears he’ll never be found and a heroine who won’t give up on him reclaim their love in a bold, lyrical tale that brings the darker side of the Victorian Age into sharp relief; another winner in a stellar series.”Library Journal, starred review

“From the novel’s incisively etched characters, including an über-alpha hero with secrets to spare, to the bone-melting sensuality that characterizes the hero and heroine’s romantic relationship, everything about this deliciously dark and dangerous historical romance is done to perfection.”Booklist, starred review

DRAGONFIRE by Donna Grant 
What goes better together than dragons and heat? Passion burns hot in the latest Dark Kings novel about a dragon king and a gypsy with a mysterious power bound by desire. readmoreremove

Welcome to Macmillan Library Marketing, Amanda!

Hello librarians!

I’m baaaack! After spending the past year in special sales, I am so excited to jump back into the amazing world of library marketing. I just couldn’t resist joining Talia and Emily’s epic team and finally sharing my love of books and libraries with you all once again. I’m happy to help with any title questions, galley requests, or general fan-girling over your latest great book find.

I can’t wait to see you at our buzzes or conferences, and if you find a book you love, I would love to chat about it! For anyone I haven’t met yet, I’m a big fan of all things genre, so I’d love to geek out with anyone who feels the same. But like any book lover, I’ll read anything that comes with a good recommendation.

Please feel free to reach out to me at amanda.rountree@macmillan.com, on the phone at 646-307-5169, or through our twitter @MacmillanLib. Let’s talk books!

–Amanda

Author Spotlight: Paula Brackston (10/16/18)

Magic x small-town intrigue x time-travel x romance = DELICIOUS

THE LITTLE SHOP OF FOUND THINGS
by Paula Brackston

New York Times bestselling author Paula Brackston brings her trademark blend of magic and romance to her Found Things series, written in the tradition of OUTLANDER. Xanthe Westlake has always been able to sense the stories that some antiques hold, but it isn’t until she’s finding stock for her and her mother’s new shop in the small English town of Marlborough that she finds one that allows her to travel back through the centuries to its time. Beginning with THE LITTLE SHOP OF FOUND THINGS, Xanthe learns more about herself and her abilities as she discovers more antiques she connects with and rights the wrongs in their pasts.

readmoreremove

#BookBday (9/25/18 Edition)

New week, new books! Happy #BookBday to:

THE THREE ESCAPES OF HANNAH ARENDT: A Tyranny of Truth by Ken Krimstein
Two starred reviews! “As Krimstein deftly weaves Arendt’s life and thought, he captures the excitement of the philosophical enterprise in both word (“THINKING HAS BECOME EROTIC. ELECTRIC, ECSTATIC”) and image: fine, wiry black lines with the occasional brush of green effectively echo Arendt’s energized thinking and the tensions of a life lived in constant escape, one step ahead of the Nazis. Both smart and entertaining; highly recommended and not just for graphic novels readers.” — Library Journal, starred review

THIS IS THE WAY THE WORLD ENDS: How Droughts and Die-offs, Heat Waves and Hurricanes Are Converging on America by Jeff Nesbit
“Journalist and former National Science Foundation executive Nesbit acknowledges that he tells ‘big, scary stories.’ His brand of stories scares more than standard tales of global warming and climate change because they are specific and immediate and foreshadow our own fate. Mostly free of technical jargon and confusing scientific explanations, Nesbit’s book should be widely read.” — Booklist, starred review

THE CHRISTMAS WISHING TREE by Emily March
A delightful Christmas novel in the New York Times bestselling Eternity Springs series from Emily March. “Lovely… Devin and Jenna’s rich and nuanced love story will satisfy series fans and new readers.” — Publishers Weekly

VENGEFUL by V.E. Schwab
Also available in audio
V. E. Schwab ends the Villains duology with a super-powered battle of genius, cruelty, and the lengths one will go for vengeance. “Schwab’s strong writing, addictive action scenes, and fully developed complexities of plot and character combine to deliver a satisfying story.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

Maximum Shelf: THE NIGHT TIGER

Today’s featured Maximum Shelf Awareness pick, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee, is the new novel from New York Times bestselling author Yangsze Choo: THE NIGHT TIGER.

In this utterly transporting story set in 1930s colonial Malaysia, an apprentice dressmaker named Ji Lin moonlights as a dancehall girl to help pay off her mother’s Mahjong debts. Across town, 11-year-old houseboy Ren races to fulfill his former master’s dying wish: find the man’s severed finger, lost years ago in an accident, and bury it with his body. Ren has 49 days to do so, or his master’s soul will wander the earth forever.

As the days tick by, a series of unexplained deaths wreak havoc on the town, along with whispers of men who turn into tigers. Ji Lin and Ren are pulled together in ways they couldn’t have imagined, as their increasingly dangerous paths lead them from lush plantations, to hospital storage rooms, to a ghostly dreamscape.

THE NIGHT TIGER is many things: a fine example of historical fiction, a work of magical realism, a ghost story, a mystery, a romance, a coming-of-age tale. Each of these is impressive, but most impressive is Choo’s ability to weave them all together in a way that feels authentic, and to use that intricate process to tell a story of colonialism and self-determination, love and death, family and tradition.” — Shelf Awareness

See the full summary, review and interview with Yangsze Choo on Shelf-Awareness.com. And enter to win an ARC! readmoreremove

Booklist’s “Happily-Ever-After Guaranteed” Romance Webinar

♫♪♫♫♪ You and Booklist, sitting in a tree… R.E.A.D.I.N.G.
First comes Talia Sherer, then come all the swoony Macmillan titles,
Then come the happy library patrons lining the aisles! ♫♪♫♫♪

We hope you were able to tune in to Booklist’s “Happily-Ever-After Guaranteed” romance webinar with Talia “the Tigress” Sherer today, but if not, you can download the slides and the title list spreadsheet.

Watch the archived webinar here.

While you’re at it, request to be whitelisted for our e-galleys on Edelweiss.

Make sure to vote early and often for LibraryReads!

Don’t forget that you can download this presentation and many others to use at your library’s next book buzz event!

#BookBday (9/18/18 Edition)

Hey hey, it’s your #BookBday!

BOOMER1 by Daniel Torday
“After his academic job search, his journalistic career, and his marriage proposal go down in flames, an angry young man moves into his mother’s basement and starts a radical movement that pits millennials against baby boomers. Stylishly written, cleverly observed, and boldly imagined.” – Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE BUS ON THURSDAY by Shirley Barrett
Also available in audio
Bridget Jones meets The Exorcist in this wickedly funny, dark novel about one woman’s post-cancer retreat to a remote Australian town and the horrors awaiting her. “Eleanor’s voice is bold, frank, and savagely funny. Her observations about the intersections of cancer culture and the rom-com ideology of a certain kind of 21st-century feminism are so keen as to draw blood.” — Kirkus Reviews

THE ANCIENT NINE by Ian K. Smith
Also available in audio
In 1988, Spenser Collins—an African American premed student and athlete from Chicago—is “punched” to join the Delphic Club, one of Harvard’s most prestigious social groups. But when Spenser and his friend uncover a hidden inner circle within the club known as the “Ancient Nine” and realize it’s related to a disappearance in the 1920s, they realize their own lives are in danger. “Those seeking an inside look at an Ivy League secret society will get their money’s worth.” — Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

Sign Up Now: “Happily-Ever-After Guaranteed” Booklist Webinar

♫♪♫♫♪ You and Booklist, sitting in a tree… R.E.A.D.I.N.G.
First comes Talia Sherer, then come all the swoony Macmillan titles,
Then come the happy library patrons lining the aisles! ♫♪♫♫♪

Listen to Talia share her favorite romances at Booklist‘s “Happily-Ever-After Guaranteed” webinar on Tuesday, September 18 at 1pm Central.

Click here to Save-the-Date / RSVP. See you there!
css.php