Articles tagged "Robin McKinley"


Hello and happy March!

We’ve almost made it to spring, but the setting in the book I want to share with you today is as frigid and wintry as they come. You may want to bundle up before reading on!

GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS by Melissa Bashardoust
Also available in audio.

This is the feminist SNOW WHITE retelling I’ve always wanted. I’ve been waiting for this book without even knowing it. If you also find yourself rolling your eyes at some of the more traditional, damsel-in-distress tales, this is the fairy tale for you.

Melissa Bashardoust’s debut novel tells the story of two young women. Sixteen-year-old Mina lives with her magician father and has no concrete memory of the mother who died when Mina was just a child. Mina longs to be loved and to be able to show love, but the glass heart inside her chest won’t allow it. When Mina and her father move to the castle, Mina decides that she will get the newly-widowed king to fall in love with her and become queen.

Lynet is the daughter of the king and has never known her mother, though she is the spitting image of the former queen. Lynet’s whole world is turned upside down when she discovers that she was formed from snow and was created to look just like her mother. Her father has certain expectations for how she lives her life, but Lynet has other plans. She wants to be less like the mother she never met and more like her beloved stepmother, Mina. But when the king ousts Mina and gives her role to Lynet instead, a rivalry for the throne is ignited between the two women.

Alternating chapters tell the stories of Mina’s past and Lynet’s present, while completely shattering the traditional fairy tale tropes. Prince Charming is nowhere to be found (and Lynet has no need for him, anyway) and Mina is a much more complicated character than your run-of-the-mill evil stepmother. Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer’s CINDER, Angela Carter’s THE BLOODY CHAMBER, or Amanda Lovelace’s THE PRINCESS SAVES HERSELF IN THIS ONE, Bashardoust’s novel is Frozen meets Robin McKinley and it is even more delightful than you could ever imagine.

And to top it off, GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS was recently named to ALA’s Amelia Bloomer List for feminist literature! readmoreremove

Teen Talk Tuesday (2/21/17 Edition)

It’s time for Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya, starting now/4pm EST)! Before you tell us about your must-read YA books, we’ve got some news & resources for you:

Stephanie Garber’s CARAVAL is the #1 pick on the Spring 2017 Kids’ Indie Next List! Also on the list? A CROWN OF WISHES by Roshani Chokshi. School Library Journal also gave a sneak peek at their must-read titles for Spring 2017, including three of our books.

There’s still time to sign up for the following events:
Booklist‘s Spring 2017 YA Announcements webinar on Tuesday, February 28
AAP Children’s & YA Tri-State Book Buzz 
on Wednesday, March 1 in NYC
School Library Journal‘s Day of Dialog on Wednesday, May 31 in NYC
If you can’t attend any of those events, it’s OK—we’ll post the titles we discussed on the blog after they happen.

WINTERSONG by S. Jae-Jones
Ages 12 to 18
Set at the turn of the 19th century, this richly imagined debut coming-of-age story spins a spellbinding tale perfect for fans of Labyrinth and THE DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST as a young woman searches for her sister who was kidnapped by the Goblin King. “There are plenty of nods to Labyrinth, but atmospherically, this first novel is most similar to another debut: Robin McKinley’s BEAUTY. …this is an exquisitely and lyrically crafted tale of longing, sibling loyalty, and the importance of women in a time when women were so often overlooked. Eerie, unsettling, and, above all, full of music.” — Booklist, starred review

NEIL GAIMAN’S MR. HERO COMPLETE COMICS VOL. 2 by James Vance, illustrated by Ted Slampyak
Also available in trade paperback. The Mr. Hero saga concludes as Jennifer Hale finally uncovers the mysterious past of the Newmatic Man! readmoreremove