Articles tagged "Reese Witherspoon"

C.J. Box says, “THE DRY is the debut of the year.”

“Luke lied. You lied. Be at the funeral.”

This is the note Federal Agent Aaron Falk receives after hearing that his childhood best friend Luke has been found dead after committing a terrible crime in Jane Harper’s first mystery, THE DRY.

When Falk reluctantly returns to his hometown amid the worst drought in a century to see if there’s more to Luke’s death than there seems to be, a long-buried mystery from Falk’s past resurfaces and he finds that small towns have always hidden big secrets.

This phenomenal debut sold to 19 countries and Reese Witherspoon quickly snapped up the movie rights. Library Journal called THE DRY one of their “Summer Promise — Debut Novels” picks, and it’s received THREE starred reviews in addition to high praise from bestselling authors:

“A stunner… It’s a small-town, big-secrets page-turner with a shocker of an ending… Recommend this one to fans of James Lee Burke and Robert Crais, who mix elements of ‘bromance’ into their hard-boiled tales.”
Booklist, starred review

“From the ominous opening paragraphs, all the more chilling for their matter-of-factness, Harper, a journalist who writes for Melbourne’s Herald Sun, spins a suspenseful tale of sound and fury as riveting as it is horrific.”
Publishers Weekly, boxed & starred review

“A chilling story set under a blistering sun, this fine debut will keep readers on edge and awake long past bedtime.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss and see what all the buzz is about! (Don’t see the green button? Get whitelisted.)

More praise for THE DRY:

“It’s extremely rare and exciting to read a debut that enthralls from the very first page and then absolutely sticks the landing. Told with heart and guts and an authentic sense of place that simply cannot be faked, THE DRY is the debut of the year.” — #1 New York Times bestselling author C.J. Box

“One of the most stunning debuts I’ve ever read. I could feel the searing heat of the Australia setting. Every word is near perfect. The story builds like a wave seeking the purchase of earth before it crashes down and wipes out everything you might have thought about this enthralling tale. Read it!” — #1 New York Times bestselling author David Baldacci

“With THE DRY, Jane Harper immediately takes her place among the elites in the mystery world. If this book doesn’t garner an Edgar (Best First Novel) or two (Best Novel), there is no justice. Terrific characters, unique and evocative setting, knockout plot construction. This book has it all.” — New York Times bestselling author John Lescroart readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (7/12/16 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday!

ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN by Wendy Walker
The must-read summer thriller of 2016 with movie rights snapped up by Reese Witherspoon is also a July 2016 Library Reads & Indie Next pick, and a Maximum Shelf Awareness selection! In a small affluent town, a teenage girl is attacked at a local party and in the hours immediately after is given a controversial drug to medically erase her memory of the violent assault. Except she can’t really forget and the person narrating the story wants her to remember what happened. But why? “Exceptional… While secret after secret about the residents of Fairview add to the suspense, Forrester’s secrets may be the most stunning of all.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review


HEARTBREAKER by Maryse Meijer
A scarily brilliant debut story collection in the vein of Lindsay Hunter and Katherine Faw Morris. “The edgy stories in Meijer’s debut collection cut like so many wild teeth: sharp, deep, and unforgiving. A dark and surprising new voice in short fiction.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

Castillo, Moriarty & Walker hit the July 2016 LibraryReads List!

FANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has THREE books on the July 2016 LibraryReads list!

Coming in at #4 is AMONG THE WICKED by Linda Castillo
In the eighth book in Castillo’s bestselling series, Kate Burkholder goes undercover in an isolated and secretive Amish community in rural, upstate New York to investigate the death of a young girl. “Ripped-from-the-headlines writing from the New York Times best-selling author…” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

Available from Minotaur Books and Macmillan Audio on July 12.

The #6 pick is TRULY MADLY GUILTY by Liane Moriarty
The highly anticipated new book from #1 New York Times bestselling author Moriarty examines marriage, sex, parenthood, and friendship via three seemingly happy families. After all, it’s just a normal weekend BBQ. What could possibly go wrong?

Available from Flatiron Books and Macmillan Audio on July 26.

Landing at #7 is ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN by Wendy Walker
The must-read summer thriller of 2016 with movie rights snapped up by Reese Witherspoon is also a July 2016 Indie Next pick! In a small affluent town, a teenage girl is attacked at a local party and in the hours immediately after is given a controversial drug to medically erase her memory of the violent assault. Except she can’t really forget and the person narrating the story wants her to remember what happened. But why? “Exceptional… While secret after secret about the residents of Fairview add to the suspense, Forrester’s secrets may be the most stunning of all.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Available from St. Martin’s Press and Macmillan Audio on July 12.

See the complete July list at LibraryReads.org.

Sneak Peek: July 2016 Indie Next List

The July 2016 Indie Next list includes four Macmillan titles!
indie next

ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN by Wendy Walker
The must-read summer thriller of 2016 with movie rights snapped up by Reese Witherspoon! In a small affluent town, a teenage girl is attacked at a local party and in the hours immediately after is given a controversial drug to medically erase her memory of the violent assault. Except she can’t really forget and the person narrating the story wants her to remember what happened. But why? “Exceptional… While secret after secret about the residents of Fairview add to the suspense, Forrester’s secrets may be the most stunning of all.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

IF I FORGET YOU by Thomas Christopher Greene
Two former lovers reconnect in this beautiful and haunting tale of great lost love. “In his powerful, emotionally moving love story, Greene candidly acknowledges life’s complexities and the many challenges that couples face as they negotiate romantic relationships and family expectations. An inspiring novel about surviving the mistakes of our youth; recommended for romantics and realists alike.”
Library Journal
readmoreremove

Maximum Shelf: ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN

MaxShelf-AllIsNotForgottenWe’ve already told you about ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN, the incredible psychological thriller by Wendy Walker that your fellow librarians (and Reese Witherspoon) can’t stop raving about, and now it’s a Maximum Shelf Awareness pick!

ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN has been compared to DEFENDING JACOB and RECONSTRUCTING AMELIA, among other psychological thrillers, and the comparisons are apt. The characters that occupy the pages are flawed and imperfect in their humanity, and all the more engaging because of it. They experience hardships and pain and try their best to make their way through both. Witnessing the ways they tell their stories to each other in the midst of all of this—and the way that Wendy Walker tells their stories to us as readers—cements Walker not only as an expert storyteller, but ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN as an excellent novel of psychological suspense. ” — Shelf Awareness

Click here to read the full Shelf Awareness summary, review and full interview with Wendy Walker. readmoreremove

The Must-Read Summer Thriller of 2016

Gone Girl. Luckiest Girl Alive. The Girl on the Train. It may not have “Girl” in the title, but Wendy Walker’s ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN is destined to be Summer 2016’s blockbuster thriller. In fact, Reese Witherspoon already snapped up the film rights and is in talks to star.

In the small, affluent town of Fairview, Connecticut, a teenage girl named Jenny Kramer is attacked at a local party and in the hours immediately after, she is given a controversial drug to medically erase her memory of the violent assault. Except she can’t really forget and the person narrating the story wants her to remember what happened. Why? You’ll have to read it to find out!

Your fellow librarians are already crazy about it:

I’m already halfway through ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN and am absolutely loving it – I’m a sucker for dark, twisty, intricately-plotted psychological thrillers, so this is right in my wheelhouse. I can tell that all of Wendy Walker’s threads are carefully placed, and I can’t wait until the finish when she weaves them all together. I’m betting we’ll be seeing this title in a LOT of beach bags over the summer.” — Gregg Winsor, Johnson County Public Library, Overland Park KS

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss & get reading already! Read & loved it? Then nominate it for LibraryReads!

Don’t see the green button? Get whitelisted. readmoreremove

css.php