Articles tagged "Rebecca Dinerstein"

Winter 2016–2017 Indie Next Picks for Book Clubs

indiebookclubThe Winter 2016–2017 Indie Next List for Reading Groups includes seven Macmillan titles!

Top Ten
BLACK MAN IN A WHITE COAT: A Doctor’s Reflections on Race and Medicine by Damon Tweedy, M.D.
GRIEF IS THE THING WITH FEATHERS by Max Porter

Extraordinary Lives
HOME IS BURNING: A Memoir by Dan Marshall
ROSALIE LIGHTNING: A Graphic Memoir by Tom Hart

Exciting New Voices
RAGE AGAINST THE DYING by Becky Masterman
THE SUNLIT NIGHT by Rebecca Dinerstein

New Works From Old Favorites
PURITY by Jonathan Franzen

First Novel Prize Longlist

The Center for Fiction recently announced the longlist for their First Novel Prize and six great Macmillan debuts made the list!

THE BEAUTIFUL BUREAUCRAT by Helen Phillips
FIND ME by Laura van den Berg
LANDFALLS by Naomi J. Williams
MAKE YOUR HOME AMONG STRANGERS by Jennine Capó Crucet
THE SUNLIT NIGHT by Rebecca Dinerstein
THE UNFORTUNATES by Sophie McManus

The First Novel Prize is awarded to the best debut novel published between January 1 and December 31, 2015. The Short List will be revealed on September 15 and the winner will be announced on December 8. See the full list of nominees here.

Happy #BookBday (6/2/15 Edition)

Tuesday brings a brand new (& belated) #BookBday for 3 debuts, a thriller featuring a female U.S. Navy helicopter pilot, and a brain surgeon’s memoir:

DO NO HARM by Henry Marsh
This gripping, brutally honest account from neurosurgeon Marsh has already received THREE starred reviews and is garnering raves from the New York Times (both the daily AND the Book Review), The Wall Street Journal, and more.

LETTERS TO THE LOST by Iona Grey
Grey’s engaging, poignant, and romantic debut treats readers to an absorbing story within a story. Her detailed narrative chronicles the lives of these intriguing characters while fluidly traveling from past to present. The author’s subtle depictions of social and moral intolerances of the past and the gentle hand of fate that guides this tale makes her novel an excellent choice for fans of Beatrice Williams, Jon Clinch, and Kristina McMorris.” — Library Journal

THE SUNLIT NIGHT by Rebecca Dinerstein
Dinerstein’s debut novel about two lives that intersect ninety-five miles above the Arctic Circle is one of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2015. “With provocative insights about the cruelty of abandonment, the concept of home, and the limits of parental and filial love, Dinerstein’s novel is a rich reading experience.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE UNFORTUNATES by Sophie McManus
A Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Spring 2015 Pick! “In her assured first novel, McManus dissects such headline topics as Wall Street corruption, income inequality, and the vagaries of class and power in contemporary America. To her great credit, McManus uncovers the humanity of a group that rarely receives our empathy even as she exposes the dark side of privilege and entitlement in a timely novel enriched with touches of Edith Wharton.” — Booklist
readmoreremove

What Are Your Patrons e-Reading?

Based on our stats, your patrons are downloading mystery, history, and magical fiction!*

Here are their top ten picks:

KILLING PATTON by Bill O’Reilly
ELEANOR & PARK by Rainbow Rowell
THE LONG WAY HOME by Louise Penny
THE PERFECT WITNESS by Iris Johanson
ENDER’S GAME by Orson Scott Card
LANDLINE by Rainbow Rowell
LILA by Marilynne Robinson
SON OF NO ONE by Sherrilyn Kenyon
STILL LIFE by Louise Penny
BEING MORTAL by Atul Gawande

What are YOU reading? Based on our latest Edelweiss e-galley download stats, librarians are reading debut fiction, mysteries, and sci-fi:

1) THE SUNLIT NIGHT by Rebecca Dinerstein (A PW Most Anticipated Book of Spring 2015!)  On Sale: June 2, 2015
2) THE BOOK OF SPECULATION by Erika Swyler  On Sale: June 23, 2015
3) THE NIGHTINGALE by Kristin Hannah  Available Now
4) THOSE GIRLS by Chevy Stevens  On Sale: July 7, 2015
5) A MURDER OF MAGPIES by Judith Flanders (A February 2015 LibraryReads pick!)  On Sale: February 24, 2015
6) A DARKER SHADE OF MAGIC by V.E. Schwab (A February 2015 LibraryReads pick!)  On Sale: February 24, 2015

Add all of these titles to your e-shelves today! And remember to nominate the books you love for LibraryReads!
readmoreremove

PW’s Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2015

Publishers Weekly recently announced their Spring 2015 TBR pile (including debuts) and 10 Macmillan titles made the cut!
FICTION

THE WHITES by Richard Price writing as Harry Brandt
On Sale: February 17
“Price (LUSH LIFE) is one whale of a storyteller by any name, as evinced by the debut of his new brand—okay, Brandt—a gripping, gritty, Greek tragedy of cops, killers, and the sometimes-blurry line between them. The author skillfully manipulates these multiple story lines for peak suspense, as his arresting characters careen toward a devastating final reckoning.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE SUNLIT NIGHT by Rebecca Dinerstein
On Sale: June 2
“With provocative insights about the cruelty of abandonment, the concept of home, and the limits of parental and filial love, Dinerstein’s novel is a rich reading experience.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review
Read PW’s profile of Rebecca Dinerstein

MAKING NICE by Matt Sumell
On Sale: February 17
“From the first page, Sumell’s exceptional novel in stories unleashes one of the most comically arresting voices this side of Sam Lipsyte’s HOMELAND. Sumell’s debut demonstrates an almost painful compassion for the sinner in most of us, making MAKING NICE even more fun than eavesdropping in a confession booth.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review
Read PW’s profile of Matt Sumell readmoreremove

css.php