Articles tagged "readers advisory"

Sign Up Now: “Library Love for LibraryReads” Webinar

LibraryReads is a crowd-sourced goldmine for collection development and readers advisory–by librarians, for librarians. Join us for this special “Library Love for LibraryReads” webinar to hear about all the great titles that should make their way to the top of your TBR piles. Listen! Read! Vote!

Tuesday, April 23rd, 2019
1:00pm Central/2:00pm Eastern

Register for the webinar here.

See you then!

Stokercon 2018 Book Buzz (& Happy #ThrillerThursday, John Hart!)

Happy #ThrillerThursday / #BookBirthday week to THE HUSH by John Hart!
Also available in audio
A March 2018 Indie Next pick! New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author Hart’s sequel to THE LAST CHILD picks up ten years later when Johnny Merrimon is living in the wilds beyond the town where a dangerous force is at play. “Hart continues to deepen his palette in this ambitious sequel, which is distinctive enough in story and tone to be read as a stand-alone. Recommended for fans of Dennis Lehane’s SHUTTER ISLAND and Tom Franklin’s CROOKED LETTER, CROOKED LETTER.” — Library Journal

Today in Providence, RI, our librarian pals Kristi Chadwick & Becky Spratford are buzzing about our books to librarians at Stokercon 2018! Here’s what they covered (in addition to our 2017 Stoker Award nominees):

ANNIHILATION by Jeff VanderMeer (movie tie-in edition)
BENEATH THE SUGAR SKY by Seanan McGuire
GRIST MILL ROAD by Christopher J. Yates
THE MERRY SPINSTER: Tales of Everyday Horror by Mallory Ortberg
GLIMPSE by Jonathan Maberry readmoreremove

BEA 2016 – Friday Events

It’s the last day of BEA! Come to all of our excellent programs and stop by the Macmillan booth (#1958-1959) for our final ​giveaways and signings.​

“Mac Snack Book Attack” — #LibrariansOnly!
9:30-10:30am
McCormick Place | Macmillan Booth #1958

A special librarian-only event! Come to the Macmillan booth (#1958) for free ARCs, a breakfast snack, and personalized reader’s advisory recommendations from library marketing manager Anne “sweet teeth” Spieth and colleagues. While supplies last!

The AAP’s Annual Librarians Book Buzz, Part II
2:00-3:20pm
McCormick Place | Room W184b

Come listen to our publishing friends as they highlight their favorite forthcoming titles!

The 8th Annual Librarian Shout ‘n Share
3:30-5:00pm
McCormick Place | Room W184b

Join librarians as they sound off on their favorite exhibit floor reads, and other upcoming works they are looking forward to sharing with their patrons at this panel co-sponsored by the AAP and Library Journal. Wilda Williams, Fiction Editor, Library Journal moderates this year’s Shout N Sharers:

  • Vicki Nesting, Assistant Director, St. Charles Parish Public Library, Hanville LA
  • Lesa Holstine, Collection Development Manager, Evansville Public Library, Evansville IN
  • Tracy Babiasz, Acquisitions & Collections Manager, Chapel Hill Public Library, Chapel Hill NC
  • Stephen Sposato, Manager, Content Curation, Chicago Public Library, Chicago IL
  • Darren Nelson, Collection Development Librarian, Sno-Isle Libraries, Tulalip WA
  • readmoreremove
css.php