Articles tagged "Rainbow Rowell"

Teen Talk Tuesday (6/20/17 Edition)

ewgcya-june2017Happy #ewgcya day, YA librarians! Great news: CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber and WONDERFUL FEELS LIKE THIS by Sara Lövestam are nominated for YALSA’s 2018 Best Fiction for Young Adults list!

Check out our latest & greatest teen titles out this month, then join us today at 4pm EST for Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya) and tell us what you’ve been reading and loving.

AFTERCARE INSTRUCTIONS by Bonnie Pipkin
Ages 12 to 18
In the tradition of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell comes a “sensitive and big-hearted”* debut novel of furious friendship, crazy love, and unexpected hope after a teen’s decision to end an unwanted pregnancy. “Genesis’s conflicted relationships with her mother, grandparents, and friends are as engrossing as her breakup with Peter, and her story packs a big emotional punch.” — *Publishers Weekly

I AM A SECRET SERVICE AGENT by Dan Emmett
Ages 8 to 18
Adapted from WITHIN ARM’S LENGTH for a young adult audience, a rare inside look at the Secret Service from an agent who protected Presidents George H. W. Bush, Bill Clinton, and George W. Bush. “Readers will admire Emmett’s discipline, commitment, physical strength, and endurance, as well as his understatement and dry humor.” — Publishers Weekly

KITARO AND THE GREAT TANUKI WAR by Shigeru Mizuki
Ages 8 & up
Kitaro faces off against a swamp monster, a paper screen come to life, and an army of mythical raccoon dogs in this graphic novel. readmoreremove

Teen Talk Tuesday (5/16/17 Edition)

ewgcya-may2017Happy #ewgcya day! We’ve got a great YA e-books sale going on right now (through June 5) and here are our new teen and OK-for-YA adult titles out this month:

DEAR READER by Mary O’Connell
Ages 12 to 18
Gilmore Girls with magical realism! In this original, poignant modern-day take on Wuthering Heights, a high school senior searches for her teacher and meets a boy who may just be Heathcliff come to life. “The use of Wuthering Heights intensifies the impact of Flannery and Miss Sweeney’s corresponding journeys; even readers who haven’t read the classic will find significance in the parallels.” — Publishers Weekly

SONGS ABOUT A GIRL by Chris Russell
Ages 12 to 18
Charlie Bloom is happiest behind her camera, taking pictures of her former classmate Olly Samson’s new band, Fire&Lights. Soon, they’re the hottest boy band in the country and Charlie becomes caught between Olly and Fire&Lights’ gorgeous but damaged frontman, Gabriel West. As the boys’ rivalry threatens to tear the band apart, Charlie stumbles on a secret about the band—and herself—hidden within the lyrics of their new #1 single. “Confronting the fickleness of fame and the damaging effects of rumors and harassment, Russell’s debut is highly relevant in an age of social media furors and the constant churn of news.” — Publishers Weekly

THE LITTLE BOOK OF LIFE HACKS: How to Make Your Life Happier, Healthier, and More Beautiful by Yumi Sakugawa
Inspired by her popular “Secret Yumiverse” tips originally posted on WonderHowTo.com, Yumi offers a wide range of practical advice and fun tips for everything from how to remove dark circles from under your eyes, make cold brew iced coffee at home, throw the perfect apartment party on a budget and more! “Great advice on everyday matters, but the graphic form is valuable only for those who favor the use of illustrations to present information.” — Library Journal

VIOLET GRENADE by Victoria Scott
Ages 12 & up
Seventeen-year-old Domino Ray lives on the streets, until a woman named Madame Karina offers her a spot inside her home for entertainers in secluded West Texas. But after suffering weeks of bullying, and unearthing the madam’s secrets, Domino decides to leave, which proves harder than she thinks. But then, Madam Karina doesn’t know about the person living inside Domino’s mind. readmoreremove

Macmillan YA E-Book Sale

Boost your digital YA collection with our e-Book sale!

Running now through June 5, more than 30 teen e-Books will be discounted 30% off (with our regular lending terms), including these acclaimed & award-winning titles:

FANGIRL by Rainbow Rowell
IF I WAS YOUR GIRL by Meredith Russo
THE WEIGHT OF FEATHERS by Anna-Marie McLemore
THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN by Roshani Chokshi
IF YOU FIND ME by Emily Murdoch

Click here to download the spreadsheet of all available titles with exact price changes.

Happy National Library Week 2017!

Happy National Library Week!

Did you know that Rainbow Rowell’s ELEANOR & PARK was named one of the Top Ten Challenged Books of 2016? It’s true! It may be a New York Times Notable Children’s Book and a Printz Honor recipient (among many other awards received), but this young adult novel was challenged for offensive language.

You can view the full list and get resources and graphics here, and read up on the state of America’s libraries here.

Tweet your love of libraries all week long with the hashtag #NationalLibraryWeek.

arthurlibrarycard

Booklist’s Best Books of 2016

Booklist revealed their Editors’ Choice picks for 2016, and they include 12 Macmillan titles:
Booklist Editors’ Choice: Adult Books, 2016 (full list)

MAD ENCHANTMENT: Claude Monet and the Painting of the Water Lilies by Ross King
King, a master at illuminating overlooked facets of art history, tells the full, wondrous, and poignant story of Monet’s three-decade struggle to paint his monumental Water Lilies at Giverny.

BLACK ELK: The Life of an American Visionary by Joe Jackson
Jackson’s exhaustively researched biography of the Sioux visionary and medicine man details his life and the landmark events that shaped it, evoking awe over Black Elk’s struggle to help his embattled people preserve their culture and traditions.

OF ARMS AND ARTISTS: The American Revolution through Painters’ Eyes by Paul Staiti
Staiti zestfully portrays five largely self-taught artists whose paintings helped forge the new American ethos in the midst of war and civic unrest: Charles Willson Peale, Benjamin West, John Trumbull, John Singleton Copley, and Gilbert Stuart.

THE HOUR OF LAND: A Personal Topography of America’s National Parks by Terry Tempest Williams
Williams, an ardent and scrupulous witness to the living world, eloquently reports on her visits to a dozen national parks, interweaving vivid history, precise and rhapsodic description, personal stories, and evocative thoughts about the future.

THE SPORT OF KINGS by C. E. Morgan
This ambitious epic of Faulknerian dimension tells multiple stories across many generations, as Morgan attempts to throw her arms around the history of southern racism with the same fervor that she tackles the region’s white family dynasties.

THE VIRGINITY OF FAMOUS MEN by Christine Sneed
Sneed investigates the dynamics of sexual power, the eroticism of fame, and the impossibility of sequestering pain in her marvelously lucid, empathic, and witty short stories. readmoreremove

Teen Talk Tuesday (11/15/16 Edition)

Happy #ewgcya day, YA librarians! Check out our latest & greatest teen titles out this month, then join us today at 4pm EST for Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya) and tell us what you’ve been reading and loving.

THE BEST POSSIBLE ANSWER by E. Katherine Kottaras
Ages 12 to 17
A contemporary YA novel about ultra-high-achiever Viviana Rabinovich-Lowe, whose quest for perfection comes to a screeching halt when her boyfriend leaks racy pictures of her to the entire school. Making matters worse, her parents are getting divorced. Through it all, Viv learns something they never covered in her AP courses: that loving yourself is more important than trying to be perfect. “A sensitive novel about accepting imperfection.” — Kirkus Reviews

WE ARE STILL TORNADOES by Michael Kun & Susan Mullen
Ages 12 to 18
In this debut romance set in 1982, best friends Scott and Cath remain pen pals throughout their freshman year of college. That is, until they start to realize that maybe friends is not all they are to each other…but can they make a relationship work off the page and in real life? “Readers aching for a combination of the ’80s and a romance like Rainbow Rowell’s ELEANOR & PARK will be stoked to find this wicked, gnarly, and totally righteous novel.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Best of 2016 E-Book Sale

‘Tis the season to stock up on bestselling and critically acclaimed titles with our Best of 2016 e-Book sale for libraries!

Running now through the end of the year (December 31), nearly 50 adult & select YA bestselling and holiday e-Books will be discounted 30% off (with our regular lending terms), including these titles:

Bestsellers/Critically Acclaimed
FURIOUSLY HAPPY by Jenny Lawson
THE NORTH WATER by Ian McGuire
SHELTER by Jung Yun
ONE WITH YOU by Sylvia Day
CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell

Holiday
CHRISTMAS BLISS by Mary Kay Andrews
THE NIGHTINGALE BEFORE CHRISTMAS by Donna Andrews
NAUGHTY OR NICE? by Sherrilyn Kenyon
CHRISTMAS EVE AT FRIDAY HARBOR by Lisa Kleypas
MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME, edited by Stephanie Perkins

Click here to download the spreadsheet of all available titles with exact price changes.

Booklist’s Best Romance Books of 2016

Booklist recently unveiled their Top 10 Romance reading lists of 2016*, including these three Macmillan titles:
Top 10 Romance Fiction (full list)

BECAUSE I’M WATCHING by Christina Dodd
Dodd pivots smartly from romance to suspense in her third sexy, scary tale set in Virtue Falls, where so-called Mad Maddie isn’t actually crazy, but vet Jacob just might be.

Top 10 Romance Fiction for Youth (full list)

CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell
First alluded to in Rowell’s FANGIRL, this Harry Potter–like fantasy follows “chosen one” Simon Snow in his last year at magic school as he falls for his infuriating, possibly evil roommate, Baz.

SUMMER DAYS AND SUMMER NIGHTS, edited by Stephanie Perkins
This collection of short stories of summer romance from a bevy of YA authors varies widely in genre and tone, and though some may at first sound formulaic, all pack a surprising depth. There’s not a false note among them.

Plus, Erica Lorraine Scheidt’s USES FOR BOYS was mentioned as a good example in the “Sex in YA: What Works, What Doesn’t, and Why It Matters” article.
readmoreremove

YA Crossover E-Book Sale

Let your adult patrons in on the wonderful world of teen fiction with our YA Crossover e-Book sale for libraries!

Running the whole month of October (1st-31st), more than 30 e-Books will be discounted 30% off (with our regular lending terms), including these acclaimed & award-winning titles:

ELEANOR & PARK by Rainbow Rowell
ALL THE RAGE by Courtney Summers
IF I WAS YOUR GIRL by Meredith Russo
AMERICAN GIRLS by Allison Umminger
THE CHOSEN ONE by Carol Lynch Williams

Click here to download the spreadsheet of all available titles with exact price changes.

Back to School E-Book Sale

Make your library’s digital shelf A+ with our Back to School e-Book sale for libraries!

Running now through September 30, more than 30 e-Books from bestselling YA & Children’s authors (Rainbow Rowell! Marissa Meyer! Leigh Bardugo! Gene Luen Yang! Jillian Tamaki!) will be discounted 30% off (with our regular lending terms).

Click here to download the spreadsheet of all available titles with exact price changes.

css.php