Articles tagged "Ragnar Jonasson"

#womencrush + #thrillerthursday (10/18/18)

Lead the way, ladies! THREE, count ’em, three female leads in today’s #womencrush + #thrillerthursday!

THE CRAFTSMAN
by Sharon Bolton

Decades ago, Florence Lovelady put away horrific child murderer Larry Grassbrook, who buried his victims alive in coffins. Grassbrook has died, and now history is repeating itself. Is a copycat killer at work, or did Lovelady, now assistant commissioner, make a mistake when she put Grassbrook behind bars?

“Award-winning master of suspense Bolton manages to transform a campfire ghost story into a riveting novel.” Booklist, starred review

ASK ME NO QUESTIONS: A Lady Dunbridge Mystery
by Shelley Noble

“This delightful series debut is a frisky combination of mystery and romance whose R-rated heroine clearly has a bright and adventurous future.” Kirkus Reviews

“Classy, clever, and fun, this is a propitious start for dashing Lady Phil.” Publishers Weekly

“Entertaining historical mystery with an enterprising protagonist.” Booklist

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (8/30/18 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday! Read Elsa Hart’s (CITY OF INK) Mystery Scene Magazine essay about her quest to replace a Chinese library book she lost before plunging into these three dark thrillers:

TRUST ME by Hank Phillippi Ryan
Also available in audio
An accused killer insists she’s innocent of a heinous murder. A grieving journalist surfaces from the wreckage of her shattered life. Their unlikely alliance leads to a dangerous cat-and-mouse game that will leave readers breathless. “This is the first stand-alone for Ryan, author of the Jane Ryland–Jake Brogan mystery series, and it’s a knockout. Truth is elusive here, as the plot twists, driven by guilt and desperation, and tension grows. First-rate psychological suspense.” — Booklist, starred review

BLACKOUT by Ragnar Jónasson
Also available in trade paperback
The third book in the Dark Iceland series from a spectacular new crime writer. “Jónasson’s exotic tundra setting, fascinating characters, and gifted storytelling make up for it. Recommended for fans of Chris Ould’s Faroes series and Camilla Läckberg’s Fjallbacka thrillers.” — Booklist readmoreremove

August 2018 All-Stars

We’re seeing stars for these forthcoming mysteries & nonfiction science titles!

THE DARKNESS by Ragnar Jónasson
“A complex, fascinating mix of Icelandic community and alienation, atmospheric tension, and timely issues (immigrant exploitation and vigilante justice), Jónasson’s latest series is another must-read for crime fans who follow the work of Arnaldur Indridason and Yrsa Sigurdardóttir.” — Booklist, starred review

“Jónasson pulls no punches as this grim tale builds to its stunning conclusion, one of the more remarkable in recent crime fiction. Fans of uncompromising plotting will be satisfied.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

GO TO MY GRAVE by Catriona McPherson
“Agatha Award-winning McPherson’s deliciously gothic country house mystery with a contemporary twist is devious and suspenseful and keeps readers guessing to the shocking end. Highly recommended.” — Library Journal, starred review

“McPherson provides a virtuoso exploration of guilt, remorse, and revenge in a haunting psychological thriller. The ending will leave you astounded.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

WILD FIRE: A Shetland Island Mystery by Ann Cleeves
“Throughout the Shetland Island series, Cleeves lovingly depicts the Scottish island life, and this volume is no exception. Fans may be saddened but certainly not disappointed by this final installment.” — Library Journal, starred review

“Intricately plotted and elegantly written, this installment is billed as Perez’s final case. Series fans will be sorry to see the last of him.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

ZERO SUM GAME by S.L. Huang
“This hard-to-put-down, action-packed sf debut is intelligent and entertaining. With Cas, Huang has created an indelible, flawed character who makes mathematics seem almost magical.” Library Journal, starred review & debut of the month

“A fast-paced, darkly humorous read with a lot of heart for fans of action and urban fantasy, as well as lovers of Wolverine and other morally ambiguous, gritty superheroes with a mysterious past.” Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Booklist’s “Crime Fiction for Mystery Month” Webinar Titles

We hope you were able to tune in to Booklist’s “Crime Fiction for Mystery Month” webinar today, but if not, here are all the thrilling titles Anne presented:

BRING ME BACK*| B.A. Paris | 9781250151339 | Out 6/19/18
THE MIDDLEMAN* | Olen Steinhauer | 9781250036179 | Out 8/7/18 (LR: 6/20)
FEARED* | Lisa Scottoline | 9781250099594 | Out 8/14/18 (LR: 6/20)
KINGDOM OF THE BLIND* | Louise Penny | 9781250066206 | Out 11/27/18 (LR: 9/20)
STAY HIDDEN* | Paul Doiron | 9781250102386 | Out 7/3/18 (LR: 5/20)
A GATHERING OF SECRETS* | Linda Castillo | 9781250121318 | Out 7/10/18 (LR: 5/20)
WILD FIRE** | Ann Cleeves | 9781250124845 | Out 9/4/18 (LR: 7/20)
SUNRISE HIGHWAY** | Peter Blauner | 9781250117410 | Out 9/4/18 (LR: 7/20)
BROKEN ICE | Matt Goldman | 9780765391315 | Out 6/12/18
THE DEAD RINGER | M.C. Beaton | 9781250157690 | Out 10/2/18 (LR: 8/20)
THE DARKNESS** | Ragnar Jonasson | 9781250171030 | Out 10/16/18 (LR: 8/20)
AN ACT OF VILLAINY | Ashley Weaver | 9781250159755 | Out 9/4/18 (LR: 7/20)
BUTTON MAN* | Andrew Gross | 9781250179982 | Out 9/18/18 (LR: 7/20)
BRIGHT YOUNG DEAD* | Jessica Fellowes | 9781250170811 | Out 10/30/18 (LR: 8/20)
readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (12/7/17 Edition)

There’s a chill in the air… and a chill down your spine!

THE VANISHING SEASON by Joanna Schaffhausen
A December 2017 Indie Next pick! In the 2016 Minotaur Books/Mystery Writers of America First Crime Novel Award winner, Ellery Hathaway is the only one who knows the real reason a person goes missing around her birthday each year in her small Massachussets town. “Powerful… [T]he complex plot and affecting characters—especially gritty survivor Ellie and her basset hound, Bump—make for some nail-bitingly tense thrills.” — Publishers Weekly

NIGHTBLIND by Ragnar Jonasson
In Jónasson’s “excellent second thriller featuring Ari Thór Arason,”* the peace of a close-knit community in an idyllically quiet fishing village in Northern Iceland is shattered by the murder of a policeman—shot at point-blank range in the dead of night in a deserted house. “Jónasson plants clues fairly before a devastatingly unexpected reveal, without sublimating characterization to plot.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

Groundhog Day Thriller Thursday!

groundhogthrillerthursgroundhogdayIt’s Groundhog Day! Punxsutawney Phil saw his shadow this morning, which means six more weeks of winter. Good thing we’ve got lots of great mysteries & thrillers to keep your pulse pounding during these cold days and nights:

BEHIND HER EYES by Sarah Pinborough
A January 2017 LibraryReads pick and a February 2017 Indie Next pick! “Pinborough, an accomplished author of horror, mysteries, dark fantasy, and psychological suspense, has drawn on all her gifts to tell her latest story, a masterpiece of suspense centered on a bad marriage. Give this intense book to patrons freely, but especially target those who are fatigued with the current spate of female-driven psychological suspense. It will be enough to shake things up for them (it even has a hashtag campaign, #WTFThatEnding).” Booklist, starred review

FEVER IN THE DARK by Ellen Hart
The 21st book in the Jane Lawless series from future-MWA Grand Master Ellen Hart! A video gone viral brings unwelcome attention to a newly married lesbian couple with dark secrets in their past. “Hart was inspired this time to write a tightly plotted, exceptionally engrossing mystery, one of the strongest in a popular series.”
Booklist

SNOWBLIND by Ragnar Jonasson
“The 2008 financial crash provides the backdrop for Jonasson’s sterling debut, a tale of past and present revenge, which combines the power of extreme climate and geography with penetrating psychological analysis. The action builds to a shattering climax.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

PILL CITY: How Two Honor Roll Students Foiled the Feds and Built a Drug Empire by Kevin Deutsch
Veteran crime reporter Deutsch goes undercover to investigate how two honor-roll high school students with $100 became the tech-entrepreneurs of the opiate trade during the Baltimore riots. “Deutsch lets the authentic and powerful voices of those involved reveal the ruthless tactics employed to dominate the illegal drug markets and the equally dramatic efforts by law enforcement to curtail and repair their damage. …[It] issues a siren call for societal changes. ” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

css.php