Articles tagged "Rachel Heng"

Happy #BookBday (7/10/18 Edition)

Literary fiction, romance, and humor—this #BookBday has it all!

IF YOU SEE ME, DON’T SAY HI by Neel Patel
A July 2018 Indie Next pick! A bravura debut story collection in the vein of Aziz Ansari and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, about love, family, success, and the experience of being brown in America today. “A melancholic pleasure with a sense of humor.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

SUICIDE CLUB by Rachel Heng
One of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts! In this exceptional, page-turning debut, set in near future New York City—where the pursuit of immortality is all-consuming—Lea must choose between her estranged father and her chance to live forever. “Fans of modern speculative fiction and readers who love stories that warn us to be careful what we wish for will be enthralled by Heng’s highly imaginative debut, which deftly asks, ‘What does it really mean to be alive?’” — Library Journal, starred review

I SEE LIFE THROUGH ROSÉ COLORED GLASSES: True Stories and Confessions by Lisa Scottoline & Francesca Serritella
Also available in audio
“Novelist Scottoline and daughter Serritella team up for the eighth in a series of entertaining mother-daughter humor books, combining entries in their ‘Chick Wit’ column for the Philadelphia Inquirer and new material. This summer beach read—which is indeed ‘like a glass of rosé, between two covers’—is sure to cheer readers spanning the generations but will be of particular appeal to mothers and daughters.” — Publishers Weekly

THE SUBWAY GIRLS by Susie Orman Schnall
From the author of THE BALANCE PROJECT comes a dual-timeline narrative featuring a 1949 Miss Subways contestant and a modern-day advertising executive whose careers and lives intersect. “Schnall nicely shows that women have always wanted to balance family and a career, and that it’s never been easy.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

LJ Best Summer & Early Fall 2018 Debuts

Library Journal‘s latest group of debut picks from Summer & Fall 2018 is actually two lists in one: “Books To Get” (books that LJ reviewers have found strong, insightful, and sure to start everyone talking) and “Books To Anticipate” (forthcoming titles that LJ sees buzz about). We say, BUY ‘EM ALL!
BOOKS TO GET

TREEBORNE by Caleb Johnson
Interviewed about three generations of family in fading Elberta, AL, Janie Treeborne starts by recalling her grandfather’s work on a now-crumbling dam expected to burst and flood their 700-acre homestead. “So vivid and real that readers won’t want [the] stories to end.” (TREEBORNE has three starred reviews)

THE GOLDEN STATE by Lydia Kiesling
Young wife and mother Daphne, whose Turkish husband is being barred from the country, flees San Francisco with toddler Honey. But living in high-desert Altavista only intensifies her dismay. “There’s so much to love about this novel.”

SEVERANCE by Ling Ma
Completed after having won the Graywolf SLS Prize for the best novel excerpt from an emerging writer, this title lampoons workaholism and apocalyptic sagas equally as Candace Chen, on contract, still obsessively posts pictures of a New York City emptied by Then Shen Fever. “A smart, searing exposé.” readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: July 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the July 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due May 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

BABY TEETH by Zoje Stage
Also available in audio
THREE starred reviews and Zoje is on the cover of Library Journal’s mystery issue!WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN meets GONE GIRL meets THE OMEN. Interested? That might be the best way to describe Zoje Stage’s highly anticipated debut novel, BABY TEETH…a twisty, delirious read that will constantly question your sympathies for the two characters as their bond continues to crumble.” — Entertainment Weekly

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

STAY HIDDEN by Paul Doiron
Also available in audio
A supposed hunting accident becomes a dangerously complicated murder investigation in this intricately-plotted new thriller featuring Maine Game Warden Mike Bowditch. “The plot is complex, and the action intense, made all the more so by forbidding terrain. The extraordinary sense of place makes this Doiron’s strongest novel yet.” — Booklist, starred review

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Stay Hidden.”*

A GATHERING OF SECRETS by Linda Castillo
Also available in audio
“In this next in the popular Amish mystery series featuring Chief of Police Kate Burkholder, a stately old barn burns to ash with 18-year-old Daniel Gingerich inside. It’s no accident, and Kate soon learns that Daniel wasn’t the sweet, self-effacing guy he appeared to be, with plenty of people having reason to want him dead. Major promotion.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

I SEE LIFE THROUGH ROSÉ COLORED GLASSES: True Stories and Confessions by Lisa Scottoline & Francesca Serritella
Also available in audio
“Novelist Scottoline and daughter Serritella team up for the eighth in a series of entertaining mother-daughter humor books, combining entries in their ‘Chick Wit’ column for the Philadelphia Inquirer and new material. This summer beach read—which is indeed ‘like a glass of rosé, between two covers’—is sure to cheer readers spanning the generations but will be of particular appeal to mothers and daughters.” — Publishers Weekly

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Rose Colored Glasses.”*

CITY OF DEVILS: The Two Men Who Ruled the Underworld of Old Shanghai by Paul French
Two starred reviews! “Drugs, gambling, vice, and banditry power China’s seaport mecca in this rollicking true crime saga. French’s two-fisted prose—‘When Boobee hops on a bar stool, lights an opium-tipped cigarette, and crosses her long legs, the sound of a dozen tensed-up male necks swinging round is like… a gunshot’—makes this deep noir history unforgettable.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss readmoreremove

The 2018 #HoltDebutSquad

New year, new talent! Our pals at Henry Holt & Co. wanna make sure you don’t miss these exciting debut novels:

THE PARKING LOT ATTENDANT by Nafkote Tamirat
Available March 13, 2018
A haunting story of fatherhood, national identity, and what it means to be an immigrant in America today, this coming-of-age story explores what makes us who we are.

THE COMEDOWN by Rebekah Frumkin
Available April 17, 2018
A dazzling epic that follows two very different families in Cleveland, where a drug deal gone wrong forces them to become irrevocably intertwined.

NUMBER ONE CHINESE RESTAURANT by Lillian Li
Available June 19, 2018
An exuberant and deeply affecting multigenerational novel about the complicated lives and loves of people working in everyone’s favorite Chinese restaurant.

SUICIDE CLUB by Rachel Heng
Available July 10, 2018
In this exceptional, page-turning debut, set in near future New York City—where the pursuit of immortality is all-consuming—Lea must choose between her estranged father and her chance to live forever. readmoreremove

css.php