Articles tagged "Publishers Weekly’s Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2016"

Happy #BookBday (11/22/16 Edition)

Happy almost-Turkey-Day #BookBday to:

THANK YOU FOR BEING LATE: An Optimist’s Guide to Thriving in the Age of Accelerations by Thomas L. Friedman
One of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2016 with two starred reviews! “Inspired by the pleasure he took in the ‘free’ moments he was granted when people he planned to meet were running late, columnist, reporter, and best-selling author Friedman began thinking about our hectic, smartphone-centric lives and the profound impact of the ‘three giant accelerations’: digital technology, globalization, and climate change. How can we adapt? Friedman offers tonic suggestions for fostering ‘moral innovation’ and a commitment to the common good in this detailed and clarion inquiry…” — Booklist, starred review

VICTORIA by Daisy Goodwin
From the New York Times bestselling author of THE AMERICAN HEIRESS and creator/writer of the new Masterpiece/PBS drama Victoria, a glorious novel of the 18-year-old girl who became a great queen. “Highly recommended for historical-fiction collections. Best-selling Goodwin always draws in fans, but expect extra buzz and lots of promotion as news of the TV series elevates demand for the book.” — Booklist

THE MAYAKOVSKY TAPES by Robert Littell
“From the reminiscences of four worldly women emerges a vivid portrait of the life and times of Russian poet Vladimir Mayakovsky. Littell’s mordent wit is perfectly suited to his melancholy tale, rich in dark imagery and razor-sharp dialogue.”
Kirkus Reviews
readmoreremove

Stars for Friedman & Jackson & Smith

Three FSG nonfiction books are raking in the starred reviews:

THANK YOU FOR BEING LATE: An Optimist’s Guide to Thriving in the Age of Accelerations by Thomas L. Friedman
One of
Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2016!

“Inspired by the pleasure he took in the ‘free’ moments he was granted when people he planned to meet were running late, columnist, reporter, and best-selling author Friedman began thinking about our hectic, smartphone-centric lives and the profound impact of the ‘three giant accelerations’: digital technology, globalization, and climate change. How can we adapt? Friedman offers tonic suggestions for fostering ‘moral innovation’ and a commitment to the common good in this detailed and clarion inquiry…” — Booklist, starred review

“To meet these and other dizzying accelerations, Friedman advises developing a ‘dynamic stability,’ and he prescribes nothing less than a redesign of our workplaces, politics, geopolitics, ethics, and communities. Drawing lessons from Mother Nature about adaptability, sustainability, and interdependence, he never underestimates the challenges ahead. However, he’s optimistic about our chances as he seeks out these strategies in action… Required reading for a generation that’s ‘going to be asked to dance in a hurricane.’” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review
readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (9/6/16 Edition)

It’s official — we’re in big book season! Happy #BookBday to:

HERE I AM by Jonathan Safran Foer
One of Publishers Weekly’s Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2016 & Buzzfeed’s 21 Incredible New Books You Need To Read This Fall with THREE starred reviews! Foer’s “intensely imagined and richly rewarding”* new novel focuses on the unraveling of a Jewish-American family in Washington DC over a 4-week span, during which time an earthquake sets off a Pan-Israel invasion. “Foer fuses these complex strands with his never-wavering hand. That he can provide such a redemptive denouement, at once poignant, inspirational, and compassionate, is the mark of a thrillingly gifted writer.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE STORY OF A BRIEF MARRIAGE by Anuk Arudpragasam
One of Buzzfeed’s 21 Incredible New Books You Need To Read This Fall! A magnificent and unflinching debut novel set over the course of one day near the end of the Sri Lankan Civil War, as a newly-married couple explores the possibility of intimacy in a place of profound trauma. “Dinesh finds beauty in the worst of situations, which contributes to making this debut deeply moving and hopeful.”
Publishers Weekly

A BOY MADE OF BLOCKS by Keith Stuart
In the tradition of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls comes a warm and tender novel in which a father and his autistic son connect over the game of Minecraft. “Stuart writes with powerful, plainspoken emotion, beautifully illuminating not only the challenges that come with an autistic child, but also the unexpected moments of grace. This is a luminous portrait of the world and the relationship that a father and son build together.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (8/25/16 Edition)

Recommend these four thrilling new mysteries to your patrons today:

THE ONE MAN by Andrew Gross
One of Publishers Weekly’s Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2016 with FOUR STARRED REVIEWS! In this riveting historical thriller with a twist, a US intelligence officer must sneak into Auschwitz and escape with a physics professor who happens to be the one man with knowledge that could end the war. “Gross has written his most heartfelt and compelling book to date, and fans of World War II fiction should add this to their reading lists.” — Associated Press

SORROW ROAD by Julia Keller
In the fifth series mystery, Bell Elkins investigates a West Virginia nursing home where Alzheimer patients are dying at alarming rates. “The setting and the tone will appeal to fans of both Sharyn McCrumb and Julia Spencer-Fleming, and the introspective protagonist and literary quality recommend it to followers of Tana French and Louise Penny. Another outstanding entry in a superb series.”
Booklist, starred review
readmoreremove

THREE Stars for ARAB OF THE FUTURE 2

Last year, Riad Sattouf‘s graphic memoir, THE ARAB OF THE FUTURE: A Childhood in the Middle East, 1978-1984, made a huge splash in the literary world—it won the L.A. Times Book Prize for Graphic Novel/Comic and was a Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2015.

Now the sequel, THE ARAB OF THE FUTURE 2: A Childhood in the Middle East, 1984-1985: A Graphic Memoir, is one of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2016 and has THREE starred reviews:

“In the second volume of an acclaimed five-part graphic memoir, originally published in France, cartoonist Sattouf captures the discomfiting and occasionally humorous details of his first year in school in a Syria that is casually anti-Semitic and not particularly kind to anyone.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Even before its concluding volume, Sattouf’s saga of struggle and survival has established itself among the most powerful memoirs the comics medium has seen.” — Booklist, starred review

“This work will undoubtedly win more accolades as the author continues the proposed five-volume series. Readers familiar with Marjane Satrapi’s PERSEPOLIS will be well rewarded when they pick up this similarly engrossing book.” — Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

css.php