Articles tagged "private investigator"

Thriller Thursday (6/15/17 Edition)

Summer’s heating up with these new mysteries:

THE FORGOTTEN GIRL by Rio Youers
Two starred reviews! “Canadian author Youers makes his U.S. debut with a paranormal thriller distinguished by subtle characterizations and emotionally evocative prose. Harvey’s compelling, moving search for Sally and the truth offers everything that fans of intelligent suspense could wish for.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE LAST PLACE YOU LOOK by Kristen Lepionka
Two starred reviews! Kinsey Millhone meets Serial in this debut about an allegedly closed case and a tenacious, troubled private investigator who doesn’t know when to quit. “This is a remarkably accomplished debut mystery, with sensitive character development and a heart-stopping denouement. Let’s hope there are more Roxane Weary novels on the way.” — Booklist, starred review

KNIFE CREEK by Paul Doiron
In this new edge-of-your-seat thriller from Edgar finalist and LibraryReads author Paul Doiron, Mike Bowditch delves into a long buried investigation to uncover a dangerous secret. “This solid eighth entry in the Mike Bowditch series, following WIDOWMAKER, is full of strong characters, great dialogue, and Doiron’s signature command of the rugged and natural Maine setting.” — Booklist

THE MENTOR by Lee Matthew Goldberg
Cape Fear meets Wonder Boys in this story of a book editor and his mentor as past secrets and a depraved manuscript dangerously entangle their lives. “Goldberg’s novel is…gripping. Like the Bret Easton Ellis novel it resembles, it succeeds as sharp and bitter satire—in this case, of the publishing industry and the sensationalism and barbarity that consumers crave.” — Kirkus Reviews readmoreremove

In the Hot Seat: Matt Goldman on GONE TO DUST

Today we turn the spotlight on Matt Goldman, whose debut novel, GONE TO DUST, features an unusual crime—a murdered woman is found covered in dust from hundreds of vacuum cleaner bags, rendering DNA evidence useless.

Library Journal‘s Books for Dudes column called it, “hard-boiled awesomeness” and Booklist said, “Offer this one to aficionados of chilly Scandinavian noir and the new generation of Philip Marlowe fans.”

Macmillan Library: Hi Matt, and thanks for joining us for a Q&A on the blog today! Before we talk about your debut mystery, GONE TO DUST, let’s start with your credentials. You began your career as a stand-up comedian and are now a playwright and Emmy Award-winning television writer for Seinfeld, Ellen, and other shows. You must do so much writing for your day job, why write a novel?

Matt Goldman: I love writing and I’m a first-degree introvert. So much of television writing is done in a roomful of writers. Not the actual script writing (usually), but conceiving characters and stories. Much of the rewriting is also done in a group. Especially in comedy. TV writing and writers have taught me so much about character, story, pace, dialogue, and series construction, I wouldn’t trade a minute of it. But for my personality, it’s exhausting trying to track all those words in the air. I love the process of book writing—I find it energizing. And it’s a chance to write my voice without concern for other writers, actors, studios, and networks.

ML: Was it harder or easier for you to write GONE TO DUST vs writing for TV? What are some of the major differences?

MG: Some of the differences I explained above. I guess I don’t look at it as hard vs. easy. They have their tradeoffs by that measurement. It’s a more whole and rewarding experience for me to write books. I’m a serial daydreamer. That serves me better as a novelist than it does in a room where I’m supposed to be paying attention.

ML: Did you have specific inspirations as you wrote GONE TO DUST? It’s lighthearted, but has a very noir feel.

MG: I started reading the mystery/crime genre relatively recently. When I read Raymond Chandler, I saw how my voice could work in telling those kinds of stories. Chandler’s voice and style are different from mine, and his skill far outweighs mine, but he did inspire me to sit down and give it a shot. readmoreremove

While Anne’s Away…

Anne is taking a well-deserved vacation to her hometown of Tucson, AZ for the next week! When she’s not enjoying pool time or preparing for her baby shower, here’s what she’ll be reading:

THE UNQUIET DEAD by Ausma Zehanat Khan
This haunting debut follows detectives Esa Khattak and Rachel Getty as they investigate the death of a man who may have been a war criminal with ties to the Srebrenica massacre. Anne is halfway done and can’t wait to finish it on the plane tomorrow!

FEAR THE DARKNESS by Becky Masterman
Masterman’s outstanding debut novel, RAGE AGAINST THE DYING, starring ex-FBI agent Brigid Quinn was set in Tucson, so it was a natural pick for Anne. (It’s also really, really good—it’s been nominated for Edgar, Anthony, and Macavity Awards!) Now as Brigid tries to rebuild her life and marriage, she helps a local couple investigate the death of their son, all while taking in her nineteen-year-old niece after her sister-in-law’s death.

BAD COUNTRY by CB McKenzie
The newest winner of the Tony Hillerman Prize, this Arizona-set debut mystery stars a Native American rodeo cowboy–turned–private investigator. Not only is the author a fellow University of Arizona alum like Anne, but he also modeled for Giorgio Armani!

ALL THE RAGE by Courtney Summers
In her hardcover debut, from the author of CRACKED UP TO BE and THIS IS NOT A TEST comes a powerful new young adult novel about an ostracized girl who must decide whether she wants to speak out against the boy who sexually assaulted her for a second time after someone else is assaulted or carry the burden of knowing more girls could get hurt if she doesn’t say something. (Talia read this gem and can’t stop talking about it! She says it’s Courtney’s best book YET!)
readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (7/31/14 Edition)

We’re wishing an early #ThrillerThursday to these mysteries coming out next week since Anne will be on vacation (reading a thriller, naturally):

CITY OF GHOSTS by Kelli Stanley
In award-winning author Stanley’s latest mystery, P.I. Miranda Corbie is searching for her long-lost mother, but along the way she must expose a Nazi spy and clear her name after being framed for murder. “It’s neonoir in a classical five-act structure, starring one of crime’s most arresting heroines.” — Library Journal, starred review on CITY OF SECRETS

DEAD LINE by Chris Ewan
In this fast-paced thriller from the acclaimed author of the Good Thief series, a highly trained hostage negotiation specialist will do anything to find out what happened to his missing fianceé. “This adrenaline-fueled, stand-alone thriller is more akin to Ewan’s SAFE HOUSE than to his Good Thief caper novels, with Daniel Trent a driven protagonist in the Jack Reacher mold. Readers will want to see more of Trent, and this page-turner, full of twists and turns, cries out for a sequel.”
Booklist, starred review

BOSTON MOB: The Rise and Fall of the New England Mob and Its Most Notorious Killer by Marc Songini
From information based on newly declassified documents and the use of underworld sources, BOSTON MOB tells the “sad, true, bloody story” (Kirkus Reviews) of psychopathic strongman Joseph “The Animal” Barboza—one of the most feared mob enforcers of all time, who killed as many as thirty people for business and pleasure.
readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (3/6/14 Edition)

Today we've got a super-sized #ThrillerThursday with mysteries to satisfy every reader, from cozies to psychological suspense and more! 

PRECIOUS THING by Colette McBeth
A March 2014 Library Reads pick! "Debut author McBeth’s GONE GIRL-style psychological thriller will be a widespread hit for fans of dark drama with questionable narrators, including S. J. Watson’s BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP (2011), Sabine Durrant’s UNDER YOUR SKIN (2013), and Karen Perry’s THE INNOCENT SLEEP (2013)." Booklist, starred review

THE BLACK-EYED BLONDE by Benjamin Black
Black's "pitch-perfect recreation" of Raymond Chandler's incomparable private eye Philip Marlowe goes "beyond mere thoughtful homage" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) when a seductive young heiress asks Marlowe to find her former lover. "Great fun for Chandlerians." — Booklist 

CITY OF DARKNESS AND LIGHT by Rhys Bowen
In the 13th entry of Bowen's New York Times bestselling historical series, Molly Murphy and her infant son are in Paris where she unexpectedly gets entangled in the murder of an Impressionist artist. "Molly is a smart, feisty heroine who admirably defends her investigation to a very skeptical Sûreté. Though placed a decade or so earlier, this breezy historical mystery will appeal to fans of Carola Dunn’s Daisy Dalrymple and Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs." — Booklist  

THE PLAYER by Brad Parks
In the latest book in Parks' award-winning series, Carter Ross investigates a suspicious disease, but it takes him down a path that leads directly into the arms of the local mob boss. "Parks, a gifted storyteller (with shades of Mark Twain, or maybe Dave Barry), shows his mastery of the comic absurd behind serious journalism in his fifth outing." — Library Journal, starred review  

WRECKED by Tricia Fields
"Fields’ third Josie Gray outing is emotionally taut, building to a breathtaking climax and portraying, in the process, the danger inherent in a Texas border town and presenting Josie, previously wary of commitment, with new challenges. More fine southwestern crime fiction by an author who clearly loves the locale." Booklist, starred review  

PROVIDENCE RAG by Bruce DeSilva
“Edgar-winner DeSilva melds moral dilemmas with a suspenseful plot in his third novel featuring Providence, R.I.–based reporter Liam Mulligan, his best yet.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Mulligan’s character, played off the vicissitudes of his job, is skillfully layered and engaging. DeSilva, who worked for decades at the AP, won an Edgar for Best First Novel for ROGUE ISLAND (2010). He knows of what he writes.” Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove
css.php