Articles tagged "police procedural"

Sign Up Now: Booklist Webinar “Falling for Mystery” 10/30, 1:00 pm Central


When the wind howls through tree branches and masked youngsters pound on your door demanding loot, it’s time to escape to the pages of a book! Get lost in these thrilling and mysterious reads from Macmillan!

Tuesday, October 30, 2018 1:00 pm
Central Daylight Time (Chicago, GMT-05:00)

Register for this SPOOK-tacular webinar here.

 

Thriller Thursday (9/27/18 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday to a couple of East-coast crimes:

BUTTON MAN by Andrew Gross
Also available in audio
Gross’s new historical thriller brings to life the birth of organized crime in 1930s New York City from the tale of the three Rabinowitz brothers, who take very different paths. “A highly satisfying story of family loyalty, persistence, courage, and crime.” — Kirkus Reviews

BURY THE LEAD by Archer Mayor
Joe Gunther and the VBI are investigating a murder and an arson case—both may be related to a potential outbreak of ebola—but the ties are tenuous, the evidence wobbly, and the motive unclear. “BURY THE LEAD is the twenty-ninth Joe Gunther novel, and, as always, the police procedure is precisely detailed, and Mayor’s Vermont is affectionately sketched, with Joe and his team abiding and ultimately prevailing.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (8/30/18 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday! Read Elsa Hart’s (CITY OF INK) Mystery Scene Magazine essay about her quest to replace a Chinese library book she lost before plunging into these three dark thrillers:

TRUST ME by Hank Phillippi Ryan
Also available in audio
An accused killer insists she’s innocent of a heinous murder. A grieving journalist surfaces from the wreckage of her shattered life. Their unlikely alliance leads to a dangerous cat-and-mouse game that will leave readers breathless. “This is the first stand-alone for Ryan, author of the Jane Ryland–Jake Brogan mystery series, and it’s a knockout. Truth is elusive here, as the plot twists, driven by guilt and desperation, and tension grows. First-rate psychological suspense.” — Booklist, starred review

BLACKOUT by Ragnar Jónasson
Also available in trade paperback
The third book in the Dark Iceland series from a spectacular new crime writer. “Jónasson’s exotic tundra setting, fascinating characters, and gifted storytelling make up for it. Recommended for fans of Chris Ould’s Faroes series and Camilla Läckberg’s Fjallbacka thrillers.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (11/16/17 Edition)

These lady detectives always close the case!

THE GHOST OF CHRISTMAS PAST by Rhys Bowen
When semi-retired private detective Molly Murphy Sullivan and her husband, Daniel, are invited for Christmas at a mansion on the Hudson, the last thing they expect is to get involved in a decade-old missing persons case. “For series and historical mystery fans, it’s a treat to return to historic New York during the holidays as the indomitable Molly investigates an unusual disappearance.” — Library Journal

A SEASON TO LIE by Emily Littlejohn
Librarian Littlejohn’s “lively sequel”* to her acclaimed debut, INHERIT THE BONES, has Colorado police officer Gemma Monroe investigating the murder of a world-famous author whose presence in town was meant to be a secret. “Readers will look forward to seeing more of this insightful and likable character. — *Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (11/9/17 Edition)

Go armchair traveling to Iceland and Virginia’s wine country with this week’s #ThrillerThursday mysteries:

THE SHADOW DISTRICT by Arnaldur Indridason
A November 2017 LibraryReads pick with two starred reviews! “The award-winning author of the ‘Inspector Erlendur’ series (INTO OBLIVION) continues his modus operandi of simultaneously covering a current and cold case in this new series set during the war years. The inspectors, past and present, are formidable characters, and the blend of police procedural with Icelandic folklore is intriguing. VERDICT While not as dark as lndridason’s previous works, this is a welcome addition from a master of the genre. ” — Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (10/26/17 Edition)

Here are entertaining new mysteries in three excellent continuing series:

DYING TO LIVE by Michael Stanley
In the sixth and “best” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) entry in the Detective Kubu mystery series, a Bushman is discovered dead near the Central Kalahari Game Reserve and the police suspect foul play, especially when the body goes missing from the morgue. “Stanley, the pseudonym of Michael Sears and Stanley Trollip, once again mixes strongly developed characters, puzzling plot twists, and a textured African setting in an international police procedural with heart and soul that will appeal to fans of Kwei Quartey and Alexander McCall Smith.” — Library Journal, starred review

HOW THE FINCH STOLE CHRISTMAS by Donna Andrews
Meg Langslow’s husband is turning his one-man show of Dickens’s A Christmas Carol into a big, splashy production, with a famed if fading actor brought in to play Scrooge. Alas, the man has enemies. “The always-busy, efficient Meg solves the murders while keeping order among family and friends; all the usual, wonderfully drawn, quirky characters are present in this satisfying, humorous entry in the long-running series.” — Booklist readmoreremove

PRAIRIE FIRES and THE SHADOW DISTRICT are November 2017 LibraryReads Picks!

FANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has two books on the November 2017 LibraryReads list!

The #9 pick is PRAIRIE FIRES: The American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder by Caroline Fraser
“The sesquicentennial observance of the birth of the author of the celebrated Little House books (65 million copies sold in 45 languages) has been the catalyst for the publication of a spate of books, now including this magisterial biography, which surely must be called definitive. Richly documented…. But it is its marriage of biography and history—the latter providing such a rich context for the life—that is one of the great strengths of this indispensable book, an unforgettable American story.” — Booklist, starred review

Available from Metropolitan Books on November 21.

Rounding out the list at #10 is THE SHADOW DISTRICT by Arnaldur Indridason
Two starred reviews! “The award-winning author of the ‘Inspector Erlendur’ series (INTO OBLIVION) continues his modus operandi of simultaneously covering a current and cold case in this new series set during the war years. The inspectors, past and present, are formidable characters, and the blend of police procedural with Icelandic folklore is intriguing. VERDICT While not as dark as lndridason’s previous works, this is a welcome addition from a master of the genre. ” — Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (9/21/17 Edition)

What’s tingling your spine this #ThrillerThursday? We’re reading:

MURDEROUS MISTRAL by Cay Rademacher
Two starred reviews! “Rademacher, short-listed for the Crime Writers’ Association International Dagger Award (for The Murderer in Ruins), has written a carefully plotted police procedural that vividly captures the landscape and scents of Provence while introducing Blanc and a small group of colleagues. VERDICT The police action and political connections will attract fans of Jeffrey Siger’s police novels set in Greece.” – Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

May Mystery Stars

It’s a #ThrillerThursday bonus! Check out these forthcoming mysteries with multiple starred reviews:

HE SAID/SHE SAID by Erin Kelly
“This first-rate psychological thriller and deft exploration of the delicate dance of marriage and the secrets people keep works on multiple levels, and the passages about the early days of Laura and Kit’s relationship—filled with the gossamer promise of new love—make what’s in store for them even more harrowing. A stunning conclusion will take more than a few days to fade from memory. Spellbinding.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“This is a sure bet for readers who like their psychological suspense heavy on character and full of twists.” — Booklist, starred review

THE DEVIL’S MUSE by Bill Loehfelm
“A rookie New Orleans cop discovers that regular rules don’t apply during Mardi Gras, when a shooting sets off a cascading series of violent events. Loehfelm doesn’t need showy murders or gory scenes to writes crime stories with grit that stay lodged in your brain and get under your skin in the best possible way.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Coughlin remains the star here—she’s still one of the most compelling figures in crime fiction—but this time, the focus is on cops working together; it’s a procedural in the best sense of the word, and it evokes Ed McBain at the top of his game. ” — Booklist, starred review
readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (5/11/17 Edition)

Creepers and cops, oh my!

BASED ON A TRUE STORY by Delphine de Vigan, translated by George Miller
Winner of Le Prix Renaudot 2015 and Le Prix Goncourt des Lycéens 2015, the international sensation of true-crime literature about a friendship gone terrifyingly toxic and the very nature of reality. “As the very title suggests, this latest work from Prix Goncourt finalist de Vigan is metafiction, or memoir as fiction, but it’s also a smart, elegant thriller that generates its chills from the very ordinariness of events as they start unfolding.” — Library Journal

SILENT RAIN by Karin Salvalaggio
Bestselling novelist Peter Granger wants to use Grace Adams’s traumatic story in his next book, regardless of her pleas not to. When Granger’s house is found burned to the ground with his and his wife’s bodies inside, Montana state detective Macy Greeley must uncover the truth behind the arson and murder. “This is the fourth in a solid series, with a female crime fighter trying to balance her professional and personal lives.” — Booklist readmoreremove

css.php