Articles tagged "podcast"

Sarah Knott Talks with the Library Company of Philadelphia

Sarah Knott, author of MOTHER IS A VERB: An Unconventional History, recently participated in the Library Company of Philadelphia’s Talking in the Library podcast series.

Click here to listen in as Sarah and series host Will Fenton discuss MOTHER IS A VERB and all things motherhood throughout history.

More on MOTHER IS A VERB

Mothering is as old as human existence. But how has this most essential experience changed over time and cultures? What is the history of maternity—the history of pregnancy, birth, the encounter with an infant? Can one capture the historical trail of mothers? How?

In MOTHER IS A VERB, historian Sarah Knott creates a genre all her own in order to craft a new kind of historical interpretation. Blending memoir and history and building from anecdote, her book brings the past and the present viscerally alive. It is at once intimate and expansive, lyrical and precise.

“Hers is a deliberate and altogether radical effort in making the unseen sensational, and the mundane anything but.”–Booklist

Nonfiction Spotlight: STAY SEXY & DON’T GET MURDERED

Murderinos, unite! STAY SEXY & DON’T GET MURDERED: The Definitive How-To Guide by My Favorite Murder podcast creators Karen Kilgariff and Georgia Hardstark is on sale now!

Winter 2019 Indies Introduce Pick + June Indie Next Pick!

[T]here is not a dud in the collection, and readers will be left feeling like they just had a kiki with two very funny, if slightly obsessed, friends. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: My Favorite Murder is consistently on iTunes’ Top 10 Comedy Podcast charts, and their huge audience will be eagerly awaiting this book.”–Booklist, starred review

Sharing never-before-heard stories ranging from their struggles with depression, eating disorders, and addiction, Karen and Georgia irreverently recount their biggest mistakes and deepest fears, reflecting on the formative life events that shaped them into two of the most followed voices in the nation.

Read an excerpt!

Macmillan’s True Crime Podcast: Case Closed

Hear ye, hear ye: podcast lovers, listen up!

Hey now! We’re podcasting! Like bosses! Case Closed, our first ever True Crime Podcast–featuring one murder per episode (from crime to trial to conviction), expertly hosted by St. Martin’s Press VP, Executive Editor, Charlie Spicer–is now available for download wherever you enjoy listening.

Season 1, adapted from CRAZY FOR YOU, explores the 2010 murder of Atlanta businessman Rusty Sneiderman. Sign up for a free trial with the code CLOSED.

Season 2 investigates the murder of Erin Corwin, who was just 19 years old when she kissed her husband Jon goodbye at the Marine base in Twentynine Palms, California, and headed to Joshua Tree National Park to scout hiking trails. It was the last time he would ever see her alive. A true story of marriage, obsession, and murder, based on the book SECRETS OF A MARINE’S WIFE by New York Times bestselling author Shanna Hogan.

New episodes release every Tuesday and are available on every podcast platform.

#LibFaves18 = Your Favorite Books of 2018

This week, librarians everywhere were tweeting their favorite 2018 reads via the hashtag #libfaves18. Here are the Macmillan titles that received the most library love!

KINGDOM OF THE BLIND: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel by Louise Penny 

readmoreremove

YA Books for Adults

If you’re an adult who reads YA, we’ve got great news!

Our friends over at Booklist published an article featuring 10 YA books that are perfect for adult readers, including SADIE by Courtney Summers and THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert. Read what they have to say below, and check out the full article here.

SADIE by Courtney Summers
“A teenager sets out to bring her sister’s killer to justice, while a true-crime podcaster visits her dead-end hometown to trace her whereabouts. Alternating between transcripts of the podcast and Sadie’s first-person account of her investigation, Summers’ novel is filled with her trademark biting commentary on sexual assault and the mistreatment of girls and women at the hands of predatory men as she slowly unspools both investigations at a measured, tantalizing pace.”

THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert
“In this unsettling debut, Albert takes familiar stories and carefully pulls them apart; the end result is a sort of deconstructed fairy tale that, despite its familiarity, gets under the skin. Highly literary, occasionally surreal, and grounded by the hero’s clipped, matter-of-fact narrative voice, it’s a dark story that readers will have trouble leaving behind.” readmoreremove

Teen Talk (9/26/2018 Edition)

Hey, YA librarians!

Check out our latest & greatest YA titles out this month, then join us on Twitter today at 2:30pm EST for Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya) and tell us what you’ve been reading & loving!

SADIE by Courtney Summers
9781250105714
Ages 13 to 18
FOUR STARRED REVIEWS!
When Sadie’s little sister, Mattie, is found dead, Sadie hits the road on a mission to find her sister’s killer. But when West McCray—a radio personality working on a segment about small, forgotten towns in America—overhears Sadie’s story at a local gas station, he becomes obsessed with finding the missing girl. He starts his own podcast as he tracks Sadie’s journey, trying to figure out what happened, hoping to find her before it’s too late.

“It’s impossible to not be drawn into this haunting thriller of a book. A heartrending must-have.” —School Library Journal, starred review

I DO NOT TRUST YOU by Laura J. Burns & Melinda Metz
9781250052308
Ages 12 to 18
I DO NOT TRUST YOU is a thrilling young adult suspense novel full of dangerous secrets and dark mythology that threaten to destroy everything seventeen-year-old Memphis holds dear. With Laura J. Burns and Melinda Metz’s signature plot twists, and uneasy, ever-changing alliances, this novel is an exciting journey that asks at every turn—what would you do to save the ones you love?

“ . . . a fast-paced, modern adventure with hints of The Da Vinci Code, packed with tidbits about world mythology and fanciful touches of the macabre.” —School Library Journal

UNSTOPPABLE MOSES by Tyler James Smith
9781250138545
Ages 12 and up
In this coming-of-age debut by Tyler James Smith, a seventeen-year-old boy has one week in the aftermath of a disastrous prank to prove to the authorities, and to himself, that he’s not a worthless jerk who belongs in jail.

“Smith’s style is reminiscent of John Green’s oeuvre. He balances the characters’ tragic stories with offbeat humor and deftly timed pop culture references.” —Booklist readmoreremove

Winter/Spring 2019 Indies Introduce Debut Picks

The American Booksellers Association’s Winter/Spring 2019 Indies Introduce Adult debut picks, honoring the top upcoming debuts (publishing between January and May 2019), include these Macmillan titles:

LONG LIVE THE TRIBE OF FATHERLESS GIRLS: A Memoir by T Kira Madden
Available March 5, 2019
Acclaimed literary essayist T Kira Madden’s raw and redemptive debut memoir is about coming of age and reckoning with desire as a queer, biracial teenager amidst the fierce contradictions of Boca Raton, Florida, a place where cult-like privilege, shocking racial disparities, rampant white-collar crime, and powerfully destructive standards of beauty hide in plain sight.

BRUTE: Poems by Emily Skaja
Available April 2, 2019
Selected by Joy Harjo as the winner of the Walt Whitman Award of the Academy of American Poets, Skaja’s debut poetry collection is a fiery, hypnotic book that confronts the dark questions and menacing silences around gender, sexuality, and violence.

CAPE MAY by Chip Cheek
Also available in audio
Available April 30, 2019
A mesmerizing debut novel that explores the social and sexual mores of 1950s America through the eyes of a newly married couple from the genteel south corrupted by sophisticated New England urbanites. readmoreremove

#BookBday (9/4/18 Edition)

Labor Day is over, so say Happy #BookBday to the big books of Fall, starting with…

DAUGHTER OF A DAUGHTER OF A QUEEN by Sarah Bird
Also available in audio
A September 2018 LibraryReads pick! This historical novel tells the compelling, hidden story of Cathy Williams, a former slave and the only woman to ever serve with the legendary Buffalo Soldiers, disguised as a man. “Bird’s fast-paced, action-packed story is a bittersweet one—grand love and legacy ultimately eluded Williams—but this fearless, often heartbreaking account sheds a welcome light on an extraordinary American warrior.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE GOLDEN STATE by Lydia Kiesling
One of Library Journal’s Best Early Fall 2018 Debuts, and Publishers Weekly’s Most Anticipated Debuts of Fall 2018 with two starred reviews! “Kiesling’s intimate, culturally perceptive debut portrays a frazzled mother and a fractious America, both verging on meltdown. But perhaps best of all is her thought-provoking portrait of a pioneer community in decline as anger and obsession fray bonds between neighbors, family, and fellow citizens.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE PIRANHAS by Roberto Saviano
Also available in audio
Award-winning author of GOMORRAH returns with a saga of a city under the rule of a criminal network, and the Neapolitan boys who create their own gang. “A well-wrought crime story that could as easily have been a documentary: truthful and sobering.” — Kirkus Reviews

This last one is technically YA, but it has such good adult crossover appeal, and we’re HUGE fans of the author…

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday: Case Closed Podcast

Happy #ThrillerThursday to two bestselling authors with returning series favorites. Plus, a new true crime podcast!

FEARED by Lisa Scottoline
Also available in audio
In the next book in the best-selling Rosato & DiNunzio thriller series, the all-female law firm is hit with a sex discrimination suit. “Series fans and newcomers alike will revel in the partners’ fierce loyalty, served up with an endearingly humorous slice of South Philly family life. A sure bet for legal-thriller fans.” — Booklist

ABANDONED by Allison Brennan
Investigative reporter Max Revere has cracked many cases, but the one investigation she’s never attempted is the mystery from her own past: why her mother abandoned her. “…an enjoyable mix of family story, romance, and thriller. Readers who enjoy strong female leads will finish this one wanting more from award-winner Brennan.” — Booklist

If you’re hooked on The Girls podcast, we’ve got another one to recommend: Case Closed, a new true crime podcast perfect for fans of Serial, Dirty John, Criminal, and other favorites.

Produced by Macmillan Podcasts & Criminal Element, and hosted by renowned true crime book editor Charlie Spicer—a 30-year veteran of St. Martin’s Press who has published more than 100 books—each season of Case Closed will track one murder from crime to trial to conviction. readmoreremove

Introducing “The Girls” Podcast

Courtney Summers’ YA thriller SADIE is already making noise:
Booklist
‘s starred review called it “captivating.”
Kirkus Reviews‘s starred review called it “A riveting tour de force.”
Our very own YA gal, Emily, called it “heartbreaking and haunting.”
And now it’s making even more noise!

Coming August 1 to a pair of headphones near you: The Girls, a “true crime” podcast based on SADIE!

Follow along with West McCray’s (fictional) investigation as he searches for Sadie Hunter, a nineteen-year-old girl who disappeared after her little sister was brutally murdered.

Click here to subscribe to the podcast and listen to a teaser, and be sure to tune in on August 1 to help West McCray #FindSadie. readmoreremove

css.php